We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassandra Hotel
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Pembroke, Ont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I checked in very early in the morning (5:30 am) I was happy they would allow an early check in for a $30 extra charge as I was exhausted from travelling. However they would only accept cash for the room deposit which meant a taxi ride to an ATM. What a pain when I was so tired. The room was fine and the bed comfortable enough but there is no restaurant or even a coffee pot in the lobby. There is a coffee pot in the room but I would not use it because i was filthy. I mentioned it to front desk staff. Their suggestion was walk to 7-11 and buy coffee there!! I had to take a taxi every time I went out. The location is not great here! It is an older hotel that could really use some sprucing up. It was not an awful experience but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenrsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello darrenrsutherland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback!
I am glad to hear that you were happy about our early check in policy and our rooms. We are working to get our restaurant up and running soon. In the mean time, the Collingwood community is home to a variety of restaurants, featuring over 30 restaurants from 13 different countries!

I feel sorry that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the coffee pot in your room, our policy is to clean them after every check-out, regardless of use. Due to the fact that our coffee pots are white, they are subject to coffee stains, but we would have gladly switched your coffee pot for another and/or fix the issue any other we could. And we would not have sent you to 7/11… Starbucks has way better coffee :P

We are quite close to both Joyce Skytrain Station (7 minute walk) and the major bus route 19 (2 minute walk). Should you choose to visit Vancouver again, our staff would be more than happy to assist you in finding alternative transportation and attractions that you may enjoy.
While we are also in the process of hotel renovations, I assure you that our rooms are the top priority. We abide by the strictest standards of cleanliness and we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really do appreciate it!

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    36
    25
    30
    55
See reviews for
36
43
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moray
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights (we booked a superior room), upon check in the room was not what we expected booking a better room, it was small, no fridge and had a funny smell. We complained to reception and after viewing a few rooms we moved to another room which we were happier with. The receptionist a young girl, sorry cannot remember her name was very helpful, went out of her way to make our stay good, she was very polite and always had a smile, thank you. If reception was not has helpful i dont think we would have enjoyed our time here. The wifi charge i feel is a bit excessive for staying in vancouver expensive to pay $8 a day. Location is good to catch the sky train which we used to travel. Thank you to reception holly & john scotland :-)

Room Tip: Book a more expensive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Holly and John from Scotland!

I am very glad to hear that our front desk staff were able to make your stay here so pleasant! At Cassandra Hotel, we take pride in our team and it makes us very happy to hear that we are all doing a great job :)

I am glad to hear that you were more satisfied with your room upgrade. Our wifi is indeed a charge of $8 per day, but it is a complementary feature with our Premium rooms! Our Premium rooms are all on the top floor and they feature all the benefits of our Deluxe and Classic room with a few extras (fridge, microwave, complimentary wifi, etc)

Our location is a favourite feature for many of our guests, we are conveniently located quite close to both Joyce Skytrain Station (7 minute walk) and the major bus route 19 (2 minute walk). The Collingwood Community also features over 30 restaurants from 13 different countries!

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again!

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Cassandra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Front desk was friendly and helpful. Great location. Rooms were very clean and quite large. Better than expected for the price. Coffee was strong but nice underground parking and close to metrotown mall!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugrtii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Gugrtii,

It’s great to hear from you! I’m so happy to hear that you’ve had a pleasant stay with us. Location is one of the great things about Cassandra Hotel! It is conveniently located close to Joyce Skytrain Station, major bus routes, Metrotown Mall, and numerous restaurants and shops.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback, we really appreciate it.

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Cassandra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here one night. The entire hotel should be levelled and build from scratch. There were stains everywhere even on the lamp shades. The lights flickered as if had ghosts in the room. We opened the sink cabinet for God know what reason and it was as if something had exploded there. Carpet was filthy and we had the latest in TV technology with a 15" tube tv. If you are on the budget find some other place.

The only good part of this hotel was the front counter staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B1WIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

ACCOMODATIONS: Well the hotel looks like its dillapidated and falling apart, not well maintained. The room is clean , OK, but again the air con looks old but everything else is good. The bathroom was OK but not really clean. Bed is good, slept well during my stay.

SERVICE: Very nice staff, they are the GEM of the hotel, they should get paid more for what they do.

HOTEL: Very basic, elevator was OK but has seen better days, hallway is OK but somewhat dirty. I wold say its a very basic two star.

LOCATION: Nice location very near bus stops, very near lots of restaurants.

OVERALL: Well my stay here was OK, it would help if it was maintained properly. Supposedly they just had a renovation but I think they should get a better renovator since he did not do a good job at it. However for the price if you stay for a week, I think this hotel is overpriced but If you do stay for a month(for two beds at 1300 CAN$ which comes to 42 dollars per day), I think its OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetsuo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Tetsuo S

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our hotel staff and location! We value our team and we are very proud when we hear such positive feedback.

Our hotel is currently still undergoing renovations, so these issues you have mentioned are or have been dealt with already. Thank you for your feedback :)

Our location is something that most of our guests enjoy as it is conveniently located close to Joyce Skytrain Station, major bus routes, Metrotown Mall, and numerous restaurants and shops.

We keep our pricing very competitive with other hotels in Vancouver and surrounding area. We also have qualified discounts available, ask our friendly front desk staff for more information! If you book with us directly we will be able to provide you with more information on this subject. You can reach us at 604-430-3441 or email us at book@cassandrahotel.ca :)

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The rates are great if you book online via expedia - much cheaper than the front desk rates - and good value for the buck when in a pinch. On a previous stay we had found the place to be a bit dingy, but gave it a 2nd & then a 3rd chance, and on both the latter occasions found our room to be better than the 1st time around. Staff is friendly and accommodating, parking is secure (underground), and we were given unlimited access to the whirlpool & sauna.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Sabelle D,

It’s great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and I’m very happy to hear that you are a returning guest!
Our hotel has undergone (and still undergoing) numerous renovations, so we have upgraded a lot of our services. Our whirlpool and sauna are always a great way to relax after a long day of exploring the beautiful city of Vancouver. We are pleased that you have put it to good use.

We do have secure underground parking available, free of charge for our guests :)
We are very proud of our front desk staff here, they do an amazing job, it is great to hear such positive feedback!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We've just moved to Vancouver and were looking for renting an apartment but didn't want to be in a hurry, so we booked one-month stay.

Staff are super nice, friendly and helpful.

The room was spacious and clean despite it's a bit old. Air conditioning was perfect.

The location is perfect given that I don't like the busy humming downtown.

The price was also great. C$ 1100.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Internal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#72 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#64 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassandra Hotel

Property: Cassandra Hotel
Address: 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cassandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cassandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassandra Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing