We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suite, wish they had a pool or breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very nice hotel, with a nice decor and comfortable (but small) beds, but for the cost, it would be nice if they had a pool or breakfast. Also, for two adults and 4 kids, the two double beds were very small.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Dan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your suggestions with regards to the bed size. Complimentary breakfast is not offered at the hotel, however we do have a Bed and Breakfast packages that you could book which entitles breakfast for two at the Edge Social grille & Lounge. Please feel free to give us a call to book this package if you are interested for your next stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Vancouver.

Sincerely

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

As previously stated, Yaletown in the 1980's was where people who couldn't afford to live in skid Row went. But now it is the place to check out for shopping and dining. Vancouver's West End is that crazy uninhibited Auntie every family has, cool to visit, but a little too unpredictable to live with. So if you want to be around both, check out the Chateau Granville. It's also a stop for the Big Bus tour.
One capital sin while we were there. Overall the housekeeping staff were great, except for the one day when we came back to our room at 4:30 PM and the room wasn't clean. What made it even more annoying was the fact the plastic sigh asking for the room to be made up was hung up at 9:00 AM.
One can't argue with the prices either. When the rooms are clean, they are an exceptional deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KramJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are commended for our great location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions, shopping and transportation. It’s great to hear you had time to explore our city. We hope you enjoyed your hop on hop off bus tour of Vancouver!

We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. Your comments are important to us as it helps us understand where we can improve our guest experience.
We apologize for the oversight from our housekeeping department. This is not a usual occurrence at the hotel and we have followed up with our executive housekeeper to investigate further. Our housekeeping team is usually remarkable at offering our guests with clean comfortable suites.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed on the 14th floor is not a gurantee that thee is less noice, as it seems all street noice is,just coming right into your room... Apart from that the stay was comfortable, with clean room and very spacious bathroom. Airco is on the loud side, so we turned it off. There is direct access from the underground parking to the rooms (no free parking however..). Downside is that there are only elevators for all 15 floors, so at peak times there is some wait...

Room Tip: Maybe getting a lower floor so you can to it by the stairs, maybe more quiet staying at back rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Dimitri,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our comfortable spacious suites and wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer.
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that you experienced noise during your stay with us. We have recently replaced all windows to double-pained which should eliminate any noise issues in the future. Please do feel free to request on your next stay, for a room at the back side of the hotel which is quieter as they do not face Granville Street.
We thank you for your feedback about the air conditioner. We have passed your comments over to our maintenance team.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed one night during a trip to Vancouver with my girlfriend. The hotel was clean and nice, while the staff was very professional and polite. The air conditioning unit went out while there, so I called the front desk for help. Some one was there to fix the issue within five minutes. We went to dinner, and when we returned the unit had been replaced and the room was nice and cool. We were also given a voucher for a free breakfast for two due to the inconvenience. Location was great, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ryan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our spacious suites and amenities of the hotel.

It is gratifying to read feedback such as yours. We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. It brings us great satisfaction to see how well our team has delivered our hotel promise, with excellent guest service.

We are happy to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations by handling the issues you experienced with the air conditioner with care and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.

We will pass on your positive comments to the team in Front office.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend back at the hotel soon!

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A couple of my college buddies and I stayed here during a weekend trip to Vancouver about a year ago. This hotel is reasonably priced and I would recommend this as a great place for anyone on a college budget stay while in Vancouver. The hotel is right on Granville Street and most places of interest are within walking distance...near transit routes as well. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful.

I would stay here again during my next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jeff,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. It’s great to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff and comfortable spacious suites.
We are commended for our great location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions, shopping and transportation. It’s great to hear you had time to explore our city. We are happy to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations and you had a great college reunion. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and my 5 year old and I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and found it to be pretty ok 2 years ago. But we noticed it seemed pretty sketchy.

This time around it was horribly busy, elevators were always hard to get onto from the amount of people staying there. A lot of homeless people and party go-ers in this area. Definitely not a hotel for families. First of all driving into that dingy alley to go into the parkade was so creepy. Parking stalls were fully packed and had to park in the tiniest corner. I had such a horrible feeling about staying at the hotel this time around. And there was a reason for that.

First off the hotel staff were so unpleasantly rude and never smiled at all. The room was clean. But our HUGE concern was the theft that happened in our vehicle that occurred in that creepy parkade. We had gone to check out and the lobby was fully packed so my husband decided to drop off our luggage in the vehicle. And then we checked out. They mentioned it was ok to leave the vehicle in the parkade to run and get some breakfast quick but only to come back and find our luggages STOLEN from our trunk. We were so livid we spoke with the hotel staff and he had no empathy for us and passed us onto the manager without any apologies, nothing!!! like he wasn't surprised, and it seemed like happens all the time. The Manager never showed any concern and just mentioned he would take a look around the alleys or stairway to see if it was left behind somewhere but came back only 5 mins later saying he found nothing, obviously!!! How disconcerting. He mentioned there were no cameras installed in that parking level, how convenient! To me this hotel seems suspicious. And has no customer service skills!!!! I have always liked and enjoyed staying at Best Western but will NEVER return to this dingy, rude serviced hotel ever again. Save your money and stay somewhere where you are taken care of and treated like a loyal customer. If you want your belongings taken from then you should stay at this hotel. It's very unsafe and I would steer clear from it and will warn others about this nightmare we had to face. Poor Management!!!! Horrible hotel period!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre.

I feel disheartened about the unfortunate incident that your family had to experience during the final moments of your stay with us. We take situations like these seriously and we have investigated with our team and documented the incident that took place. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on how our team should have handled the situation.
We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. Your comments are important to us as it helps us understand where we can improve our guest experience.

This is an unusual occurrence in our property and it has actually been two and a half years since a car was broken into in the parking lot. This type of activity is rare as the lot is gated and requires a payment in order to enter the parkade. We hope you understand that this unfortunate incident was a random act.

Please feel free to contact myself if you wish to further discuss the incident.
We thank you for your feedback and we again apologize that we could not meet your expectations on your stay with us.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent here a couple of night while visiting Vancouver.

The hotel is very conveniently located at the center of downtown Vancouver, within 10 minutes walk to main attractions, shopping and the subway. Davie st is just around the block. The Hop On-Hop Off buses have stops very close by (both companies). The hotel also has parking, which is very convenient.

Check in was very quick and simple. Staff was (on several occasions) always friendly and helpful, and service quick and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank watergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff, comfortable spacious suites and wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer.

We are commended for our great location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions, shopping and transportation. It’s great to hear you had time to explore our city. We hope you enjoyed your hop on hop off bus tour of Vancouver!

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,759 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
874 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chateau Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chateau Granville

Address: 1100 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £47 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chateau Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre has 118 spacious suites. Each suite comes with a private balcony where guests can enjoy the views of Vancouver's enchanting city lights. Guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi and a wide selection of digital and HD channels. You will have the pleasure of enjoying our onsite state-of-the -art fitness centre during your stay with us. The hotel has recently undergone several upgrades in all bedrooms. We are constantly upgrading the amenities we offer to our guests, as we continue to extend excellent hospitality! The Hotel conveniently located in downtown Vancouver, puts guests' moments away from the city's best neighbourhoods including the trendy Yaletown district and the famous shopping on Robson Street. Located only 3 blocks from the Canada Line Subway system, it provides a quick, direct access to Vancouver's International Airport. Our conference centre has 5,500 square feet of state-of-the-art function space and 4 exceptional meeting rooms with audio visual, natural daylight and complimentary Wi-Fi. We work to reduce the emission of carbon by making environmental initiatives throughout the hotel every day! Being green has become a part of our key values. Our participation in various green programs has helped us to limit the impact on the environment. The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, adjoining the hotel offers a great variety of dining options from which to choose. Its luxurious ambiance is perfect for your next gathering and offers a refreshing environment to fit any frame of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chateau Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing