We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in Vancouver”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place in Vancouver”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great Hotel in downtown Vancouver. The staff very pleasant and booked us into our room at 11am when we arrived early. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Rooms have a kettle, fridge, aircond and balcony. They refresh toiletries everyday and will even change your sheets everyday if that what you would like. Our room was very quiet but I did request a room away for the elevators when I booked. The lap pool is a good size and is on the same level as the gym. The gym is small but is adequate. A tour Hop on Hop off Bus stops right ourside the Hotel. There is a restaurant downstairs with reasonable food and there is a SafeWay grocery shop about 4 blocks away( a ten minute walk) the staff will give you instructions if you ask. We found out that you can travel around Vancouver all day for $9 with a travel pass using the public transport. We bought a $9 day ticket at the train station and we were able to use the ferry, train and bus service all day. It was a fantastic way to see Vancouver. We caught the ferry over to North Vancouver, once there we caught the bus to the Skyway of Grouse Mountain, Cleaveman Dam. Back to the Marina for lunch(great shops and markets). Caught the ferry back to Vancouver and then caught the bus to Horseshoe Bay and back to the City again, checked out Stanley Park and all for $9.....
I would highly recommend travellers to stay at this wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Other travellers have suggested requesting a room away from the elevators which I did and we had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldCoastJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    994
    144
    29
    30
See reviews for
517
1,155
170
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Lovely room. Big corner room (think they all are). Staff were really friendly, and helpful, when I was having problems with my lost luggage. Views from the 28th floor balcony were really nice, and the bed was HUGE, and amazingly comfortable. Room was spotless too. Only one negative point...the hotel does say it's 100% Non-Smoking, but most would assume, it would be ok to smoke on the balcony, this is not the case. On arrival, I was told that smoking on the balcony was not allowed, and a $250 cleaning charge would be added if I did. That's all ok, but I wish they would make this clear on their website. I picked that hotel especially because they had balconies. Was still very pleased with the place though! Oh and the internet was free! I really think all hotels should have free wi-fi in this day and age!!!

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night prior to cruise departure and were very pleased with the room size, comfort of the bed, and overall cleanliness. The front desk staff was both friendly at check-in and helpful in recommending a restaurant for a late night meal. What was described as a "just installed" Wi-fi worked fine. Our only complaint was that the room was a bit warm and our adjustment of the thermostat didn't seem to help. Great views on higher floors, and good overall location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for four nights (two separate stays of two nights) as part of a longer Canadian touring holiday. The hotel's location, as highlighted by other reviewers, is very good for exploring the city either on foot or by tour bus. The hotel provides plenty of onformation leaflets in the lobby and the staff are extremely approachable and helpful (don't be afraid to ask!). Rooms are well equipped and clean and those on the higher floors have stunning views of the city. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but there are several coffee shops nearby (we brought our coffee and bagels back to the room). As vegetarians, we struggled to find suitable restaurants for dinner close by. On our first night we decided to eat in the bistro in the hotel only to find out it closed around eight o' clock which does seem a tad early. The ice cream shop over the road is highly recommended! All in all, this is a very good base for stays in Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddlesbroughJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenvale,Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Very nice hotel from appearances,nice and quiet,but did not ,and would not attempt to,offer any milk,even long life,for very weary travelers!
Heating way to high,but hope we have now lowered it.
Generous size room,not cheap.
Lucky they have free wifi,or there would be further dissension

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoppingmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great location, good price, perfectly clean rooms, comfy bed, terrific views - but what makes Blue Horizon really great is the staff. Everyone, from the front desk to the manager, was really friendly and helpful. As first-time visitors to Vancouver, we particularly appreciated their recommendations for local restaurants, and their flexibility with a late check-out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Thought it is a very good hotel. The room was massive with 2 queen beds, which were very comfortable, a balcony with nice views and a good sized bathroom. Everything was very clean.
Check in/out was fast and efficient. All staff encountered (reception, cleaning, door man) were very friendly.
The location is great. Great for shopping and you can walk to everywhere from there. Loads of restaurants around. The hop on/hop off sightseeing bus stops right in front of the hotel. The skytrain stop for the airport is a 10-15 minute walk away.
It is not that cheap (most hotels in Vancouver aren't), but I got a deal on hotels.com. Would definitely stay there again when in Vancouver and I could get a deal again. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing