We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older hotel”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were in vancouver for a wedding and shopping,we stayed in a 2 queen bed room on the 25th floor, the room had a balcony and good views of the city and some ocean views, the bathroom was a typical hotel bathroom, firm mattresses and soft pillows. the decor (striped carpets!) was a little odd but not too off putting.

The staff were excellent and made extra effort to ensure our comfort and enjoyment in the hotel
The hotel is not far (only a few blocks... About 5) from skytrain and close to trendy shopping and the heart of downtown vancouver

Parking was extra 16$ and plentiful, but the ceilings were extremely low and the spaces were awkward often having narrow two way areas with blind corners that made us really anxious,i would not reccomend the parking toany one with 4 wheel drive we were driving a regular truck andbarely made the height requirements

over all I would stay here again without a vehicle

Room Tip: the higher floors offer great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albodo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived after an overnight flight from Honolulu to this downtown Vancouver hotel.
It was recommended by our travel agent, and she gave it high marks. They allowed us to check in on our arrival at the hotel (due to availability of our room) and upgraded us to a suite. The hotel has beautiful rooms (all corners with views of the city scape and the water surrounding VanC)
Our friends meeting us there were given a room close to ours and they were very happy with their accomodations also. The trip frrom the hotel to the port for our Alaska trip was an easy ride via cab, which the front desk ordered for us.
The service and the stay were 5 stars all the way.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, but a higher floor gives better views of the water. All rooms and sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Tha staff was very friendly. The room was great. The location is ideal. They charged a bit too much for parking, but I guess this is expected, being in the center of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent hotel with gorgeous views from every room. They're all corner rooms! Wonderful service, comfortable king-size beds, updated baths, modern restaurant, convenient to shopping, dining and all city sites -- and all at a reasonable price. Centrally located right in the heart of Robson Street, it's a short walk to Canada Place and the Vancouver Art Gallery and -- just a little farther -- English Bay, Stanley Park and Granville Island. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Vancouver!

Room Tip: They're all corner rooms! There are no bad views. The higher the floor, the better the view, of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Great location on Robson street in the middle of lots of shopping. Within easy walking distance to the water. We walked down to the water, and then rented bikes to ride around Stanely Park, which was really fun. We were also able to walk to Gastwon for dinner (a little longer, maybe 20 mins walk).

We arrived early, and were able to check in right away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice, and large. Price was reasonable compared to other options we looked at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnBinMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One night only, but great experience. The hotel is perfectly located on Robson Street, with great shopping & restaurants right on your door step. The hotel was well priced, compared to a lot of the others in the area. Easy accessibility from train stations & within walking distance to a lot of the downtown attractions. We were on the 26th floor, so had an amazing view of Downtown Vancouver. The room was extremely spacious & comfortable. Our housekeeping staff was beyond friendly & helpful. Breakfast was not included, but we had a very tasty breakfast in the restaurant downstairs (a-la carte menu). Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanjaWielsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Blue horizon is a great hotel, wonderful views, in the middle of the city, close to everything and much cheaper than a lot of the hotels in Vancouver. The rooms are really big as well.
We had arrived early from a flight and they checked us in immediately. Andrea at the front desk was very helpful and she upgraded our room as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippeeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 92 in Vancouver
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £95 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is a boutique style hotel located on Robson Street, the hub of shopping and dining. LIVE like a local and experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture and the friendly community of the West End. ENJOY the proximity to Stanley Park, English Bay, BC Place, Rogers Arena, Convention Centre and Cruise Terminal and Davie Village. ALL are guest rooms are corner rooms with accessible balconies, many with million-dollar views of English bay, the mountains and the city of Vancouver. OUR amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, in-room safe, IPod docking station, charging station, cozy bath robes and much more. OUR 31st floor banquet facilities have the same million-dollar views. Our lobby restaurant ABODE offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. THE Blue Horizon has been awarded a 4-green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. THIS rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing