We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, big rooms, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, big rooms, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Located in the centre of the main commercial street in Vancouver, the Blue Horizon is convenient to many attractions. An avid walker, I enjoy the easy access to the waterside and Stanley Park. The hotel has rather small elevators and narrow corridors, but more than makes up for that with the spacious rooms. I've stayed there several times and every room I've been in has nice views, including balconies. The rooms are nicely furnished and kept very clean.

Meeting rooms on the top floor have spectacular views and are well equipped, though the last one we used never got warm on an early spring day, even though we had pushed the thermostat up as high as it would go,

Staff are very responsive to any request for help I've ever made. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeRuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    981
    139
    29
    30
See reviews for
511
1,135
165
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I found this hotel and my family was delighted! The room was spacious with two comfortable queen beds, Keurig coffee maker and mini fridge. It was very clean and comfortable. I couldn't believe how affordable this beautiful hotel was! It was a better deal than hotels in Washington during our spring break, which worked out great because restaurants are a bit pricier in Vancouver. We were right on Robson street and enjoyed walking up and down the street anytime of day. There was an abundance of great restaurants and shopping right around the hotel. It was hustle/bustle, but we felt perfectly safe and comfortable. Everyone is so polite and nice! Park your car in the hotel's parking garage and walk! It was great.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor, included a balcony! What a view of the city! Very quiet room and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HoneyBubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked this hotel for my recent trip on the basis of all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. I'm usually skeptical of a place (hotel/restaurant/etc.) that gets tons of positive reviews, but not in this case.

Excellent location: I didn't have a car, so 'walkability' was key for me. It's on Robson Street, which is the main downtown drag. Tons of shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, drugstore, etc. all up and down the street, right outside the hotel doors. I was able to walk to all the major sights that I wanted to see -- Gastown, Chinatown, Vancouver Art Museum, Coal Harbor, Stanley Park. The free shuttle to Capilano Suspension Bridge stopped right at the hotel. *HINT: I bought tickets for the Bridge online and printed it out ahead of time. If you wait to buy at the Bridge, you have to stand in line with all the people on the bus with you. Link: http://www.capbridge.com/. I took the earliest shuttle (910am) and it was pretty packed.

Huge rooms: I booked a room with a queen-size bed online ($103 per night) and was upgraded to a room with 2 queens for free when I checked in. It was a corner room on the 4th floor, facing the street, with a balcony. I was concerned about street noise, but I couldn't hear a peep. The room was huge, with a desk, Keurig coffeemaker, dresser, big closet with tons of space. Beds were comfy, with lots of pillows. The A/C fan is a wee bit loud (but not out of character for a hotel); but I prefer to have that "white noise" to help me sleep. There was, however, a note on the air vent that said there was no heat available, (?) even though there was a "heat" option on the wall unit. I didn't test it out, since it was warm/sunny during my stay, but for a place that gets pretty cold weather, that seemed odd. *NOTE: The bathroom was disproportionately tiny compared to the room. As a previous reviewer mentioned, you could sit on the toilet, lean on the counter and turn on the shower all at the same time. Not a dealbreaker, but just something worth mentioning.

Abode Restaurant: I had breakfast and dinner at the in-house restaurant. A wee bit pricey ($11 for the two egg/bacon/toast/potatoes breakfast), but good quality. Coffee, lattes, juice, etc. I got a $5 off voucher for dinner at check-in, which was nice. There are tons of restaurants nearby, but the convenience of eating in was a nice option.

Staff: Everyone -- front desk, restaurant staff -- were all very polite and helpful. They have maps of town, but you have to ask; they don't just hand them out and they're not sitting out on the counter. They also have free same-day luggage storage, which was helpful since my flight didn't leave until later in the day. Taxis are easy to find outside, and there's also a bus stop just outside the hotel doors.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Two of the non-corner rooms (at least on my floor -- the 4th) were directly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillehammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

All I can say is that this place which claimed to have wheelchair friendly rooms lied to my face. The bathroom is very small and half of it is taken up by the toilet. You can literally wash a hand in the sink, a foot in the tub, and go poo at the same time. Service was lack luster and the manager's apology for their misrepresentation and the stress of trying to find another hotel room was insincere. I say go to the Fairmont Hotel and spend the extra money. The service there is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Tony B.

We have read your review with concern.

“Handicap (Wheelchair) Accessible” covers many different levels and components and we do recommend that guests contact the hotel prior to arrival with any special requests as we wish all of our guests enjoy a comfortable stay with us.

If you had included information that a wheelchair accessible room was needed when you made your reservation on-line, we would have contacted you prior to your arrival to clarify that while the hotel public areas are wheelchair accessible, and our guest rooms are large, our guest room bathrooms are small will not easily accommodate a wheelchair. We can provide assistive devices to those guests who require a raised toilet seat or a shower bench. A number of our bathtubs have grab bars, and some rooms are equipped hearing assistive emergency devices. When we know in advance we can specifically assign these rooms.

At check in, when we found that our bathroom did not suit your needs, we promptly made calls to help find a suitable alternative hotel for your stay.

We regret any inconvenience you experienced. We do hope that you enjoyed Vancouver and will return to our beautiful city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Blue Horizon Hotel and we are still impressed with the property and staff. The staff member who assisted us with our phone reservation was courteous and accurate. The front desk staff quickly got us checked in and during our 4 night stay the maid staff was prompt and efficient in preparing our room.
The hotel itself has had a facelift. The lobby and rooms have been refurbished. The bed linens and bathroom towels were thick and soft. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, there was adequate seating, the room was very clean, and all electrical appliances worked. On top of this being a really great hotel was the fact that the rates made this hotel a value and we like the location in the West End. Parking was only $16 a night (which is a steal compared to many large, downtown hotels in US cities). We'll be returning to the Blue Horizon.

Room Tip: All rooms are corner rooms. Coffee shop off of lobby was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdw993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved our stay. The upgrade to a superior king on a high floor was a treat. Ours was a beautiful, comfortable and quiet room. We found the location just perfect for our travels in the city.The staff are terrific, helpful and friendly .
Bed great, pillows for me a poor choice - either too high or too mushy.
We loved that the cafe is right there ( coffee great) egg dishes perfect, service friendly yet needs professional input.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheribee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ive been returning to the blue Horizon for ten years now. Its a great location on Robson street and within walking distance to just about anything downtown Van. The price is right for the location and cleanliness, and the friendly service has just kept bringing me back when Im looking for something on a budget. The layout seems to allow for a decent view from most balcony's, airy and fresh on the higher floors. The beds are comfortable and room is always very clean. Skip the hotel restaurant and walk down the street where you'll find just about any cuisine your heart desires! The parking is extra but this is to be expected in the dT core, also at the price of the room you can afford the parking. A great hotel with consistently good service, the updated rooms have a lovely contemporary feel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turquoisePearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing