We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location, great room”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, great location, great room”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I arrived early - way earlier than the 3 PM check in time, and the hotel was able to accommodate me right away, with a smile. I had a superior queen room - those are the ones on the higher levels. The room was huge and had lots of windows, as well as a balcony, and was very nicely appointed. I was a bit concerned because it was right next to the service elevator, but I never heard a thing. The only two issues I had with the room, which is why this is getting 4 stars instead of 5, were:
1. The bathroom was tiny, and the bathroom door opened inward, so there was a bit of contortion to get into the bathroom and close the door;
2. The air conditioning was loud and the way it is placed, it blows right across the top of the bed, so you constantly have cold air on your head while in bed. I 'solved' that by getting the room very cold before going to bed, then turning it off altogether, or, the next night, creating a barrier from
the unused pillows.

the bed was very comfortable (though with a bit of hard lip, but once in, I slept like a baby).

Other than those two issues, the hotel was perfect. Service was very friendly, you just can't beat the location, and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,023
    148
    32
    31
See reviews for
545
1,195
177
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

On our last visit to Vancouver we stayed at the Pan Pacific. It was nice, but I really liked the Blue better. The people were So friendly and helpful. Mathew is a dynamo and always so eager to help he really made our visit easier! Clean, quiet, surrounded by good restaurants and an easy walk anywhere. This will be the first place I check out next time we come to town!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MariettaOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It was only the 10th floor, but my room had a nice view through some buildings at the back to see a glimpse of water. Quiet, clean, spacious rooms that have been updated (although the tub in the bathroom was still old). Convenient location on Robson. Easy access to parking from the front of the hotel. Would recommend to others, especially if you're here on business or for shopping.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back to get a water glimpse. These rooms are quieter, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Blue Horizon has a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our upper floor room with views of both bays, Lions Gate Bridge and Stanley park ... sunsets were spectacular. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Staff was unfailing polite and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

It is great value for money! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel looks a little dated but you get a great view of the bay and there are great restaurants just across the road. Highly recommend the Chinese restaurant Chongqing next to the Samsonite store. There is also Breka on the corner of Bute and Robson Street which is a fantastic 24 hour bakery! Would definitely stay in Blue Horizon again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember024102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcchik
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Maybe it's because I insulted the person at check-in by commenting that the hotel wasn't my first choice, but I think I must have been given the worst room in the hotel. When I stepped out of the elevator, I was facing directly at my room door. My coworker was gicen a room with a bit of a water view, while mine faced the noisy street. I saw rooftops and parking lots. The standard room is very basic - no mini-fridge, no bottled water, no ipod docking, etc. At least it was clean and somewhat newly decorated. Despite my initial interaction, the staff were friendly (but then, when aren't they, since they live off tips?). It was cheap, though, so I guess I can't complain too much. If I wanted all the frills, I could have paid the extra and stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't face Robson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear bccik,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased you found our hotel to have friendly staff, good location, clean rooms and great value.

We wish we had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you while you were here.

Our February order for iPod docking stations / radios has recently arrived and we are busy programming the devices and placing them in our guest rooms, this will be complete by mid-May. All of our guest rooms have amenities such as fluffy bathrobes, in-room safe large enough for a lap top computer, movies on demand, Keurig coffee brewer, kettle and a mini fridge discretely located in a cupboard under the coffee station. All guestrooms have double glazed windows to neutralize the outside city sounds.

Each floor has only eight guestrooms, so no long corridors from the elevators. All of our rooms are corner rooms with a balcony and windows on two walls. While our standard rooms are on lower floors, our superior rooms offer fabulous city, water or mountain views for only a few dollars more - great value.

Our friendly Guest Service Agents are ready and willing to answer any questions or concerns and to assure our guests an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We chose the Blue Horizon on trip advisor based on price and rating. We were more than impressed with our stay. We were there for one night and our room was great. The rooms are large and had windows on one and a half walls. There was a small balcony where we could go out and see the city. It is in the best part of town and close to everything. It is not a chain hotel so we were a little skeptical but once we went through the city we realized the usual hotels were in bad parts of town. I would stay here the next time I go to Vancouver. The only downfall to this hotel was parking with a large vehicle. We had a GMC Yukon and it didn't quite fit in the parking garage. If you stay here you will be close to shopping, food and the convention center. The Bellman Oliver was awesome also! He helped us with our bags and then made sure they were stored and secure until we returned. He was very personable and so willing to help. The elevator has funny pictures of an old lady also.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 92 in Vancouver
2,194 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,554 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing