We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Blue Horizon for 2 nights prior to a cruise -on 4 July 2014. The location was great and we loved Vancouver-shopped, went to Granville Island, cycled Stanley Park etc-all within walking distance of the hotel. From our initial reservation query with Dee, to the gentleman at check-in, and the team at reception and in the restaruant-all wer superb. Special mention of the young man on portering duties on Sundays (Mathew?)-exceptional-he went out of his way to help everyone at such busy times-always with a big smile and kind word. We would not hesitate to recommend the Blue Horizon team-well done and thank you all.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Robbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    1,008
    147
    32
    31
See reviews for
533
1,173
174
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

In point form.... but read the comment below if using parking

Good Points:
-great views from upper floors
-clean
-friendly staff
-fantastic location
-decent wifi

Negatives:
-Parking is a rip-off: They charge you MORE than if you were a non-guest parking there for the day. AND even though they charge the full $17.50 amount for the last day, its only valid until 3pm. If I was parking as a non-guest, I would only have to pay $10.50 (and that's not even the early bird rate) and it would be valid UNTIL 6pm. This was a major headache for us on our last day (was there on business).
-Seemed like not all elevators were functional
-no information in the room about the restaurant/room service (even though I saw other guests getting room service) - not sure how that works.
-Loud, even on the high floors - but the view does make it worthwhile!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms. Bathrooms are dated and lower floors are noisy from street noise. Ask for a room away from the ice machine. That was the noisest. Otherwise, the room is really nice and clean. Bed is comfy and clean. excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellisha n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here overnight in two rooms before embarking on our cruise. What a great location! Shops and dining nearby. Short walk to Stanley Park, although so much public transit, you could use that if you want. We had to wait a bit to have both rooms next to each other but the views from the one room were spectacular. The staff was nice and helpful except for the guy working cabs out front. He incorrectly told us that we could pay for the taxis with credit cards and those don't work in the terminals. We had ordered a van inside but it didn't come and he seemed flustered so we took two cabs. I didn't have enough cash on me to pay and the rest were far behind. Luckily my youngest had a $10 squirreled away. The rooms were very clean. Bathtub is very outdated but the rest of the room is very spacious. Balcony not too big but very nice. Beds seemed very comfy. Rooms are spacious. Only having a few rooms per floor made it so quiet also. This is a great place and when we get back to Vancouver, we will look to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom3boyssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice locally owned hotel on Robson St. Room very spacious, clean, coffee in room (powdered cream though), nice flat screen TV. Would have given higher rating if breakfast was included. Almost all hotels now have at least continental breakfast. Did have very nice, reasonably priced restaurant next door though. Easy walking distance to shops, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Located on Robson St with restaurants and shops close by makes staying here an easy choice. Stayed here 2 nights. Room was one of the largest we've ever had. Quick and easy check in. Rooms very clean. Bus stop nearly outside ( we travelled to English bay and also Gastown) Overall we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved this hotel. It is in an excellent location with shopping and restaurants nearby. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean and modern. The room was HUGE. There was a mini frig. and coffeepot in the room. It was very quiet which I love being a light sleeper. I never heard anyone near or in the hallways. This is a pick-up spot for pacific coach lines if you are going to Victoria, a hop on/off pick up, and a pick up for Capilano Bridge (which moves a lot as you walk). The pick up for the bridge is free. We arrived at 1:00AM Vancouver time which was 4 AM for us. I loved that the front desk was quick and effecient in getting us checked in. We also ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 90 in Vancouver
2,159 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,478 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,381 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing