We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Vancouver”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hubby and I have been to Vancouver before and I have always wanted to stay in this hotel because I've heard good things about it, we were not disappointed. Firstly I booked through booking.com, I booked a king room which is on the upper levels. I got an amazing price for 5 nights, couldn't be happier. I was in contact with Dee via email in the lead up to our visit just to make sure they knew our flight could be delayed. Dee was wonderful and very helpful, an asset to the company. Our room was on the 26th floor, room 2601. A large room and well appointed. The only thing I found wanting was the small supply of teabags and no real milk, just coffee whitener, but there is a London drug store down the road a few metres to buy those things. The bed and pillows were great, which is hard to get in some hotels. The view from our room was also wonderful, especially at night. The only other thing I would say about the room is that the bathroom was quite small, but that's not a huge issue for us. Everything was spotless. The hotel is within walking distance of the harbour and many good restaurants. Shopping is also great in this area. The free shuttle to Capilano suspension bridge stops out the front of the hotel and from memory that is about every 20 minutes or so. Also the hop on hop off bus stops out the front too and it's about $40 per person for a 24 hour period, well worth the ride. Anyway we found this a great place to base ourselves for our visit.
Would I stay there again? Absolutely!!!!!
Have stayed in a couple of Vancouver hotels before, this is our favorite!
If management are reading this, your hotel is a gem, but maybe speak to your reception staff about being more approachable, it didn't sour our experience but they could be a little friendlier.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie_rose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Aussie-rose64,

Thank you for your great feedback on our gem of a hotel. We are delighted that you finally were able to stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your pillows, my wife loves them too – I bought her four.

A warm welcome is important to all our guests and your comments remind us of the importance of a smile. We appreciate your recognition of Dee and shared your kind words with her.

We look forward seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a modern (almost hip) hotel in a great location. Yet, it was quiet in our 5th floor room which was also very roomy. We would definitely stay there when we visit Vancouver again. And, having a Keurig coffee maker was an added plus.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back, away from the elevator on the fifth floor. A quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyliketraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our second stay here in last few years. Super comfortable king bed in large room on 29th floor, so not much street noise. Good bathroom, nice towels and robes, shower not powerfull, but quite adequate. Good quiet fridge, good views over city. Nice staff. Great location with huge choice of dining in 5 minutes walk, Earls, Milestones, Chinese (try Hon's), Korean, Mongolian BBQ, Indian, Greek, many more. Hop on/off trolley stops outside hotel. Only downside is noisy aircon, but overall would strongly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoeAtiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What a great find.Stayed here for 6 nights mid July and this hotel exceeded all our expectations.Large well equipped room,great beds,fab coffee machine and exceptional views over the harbour.Located on Robson St,loads of great shops and restaurants nearby.Staff friendly and professional,with a special mention about Matthew who goes the extra mile.Onsite Abode restaurant serve great breakfast options,reasonably priced.Stayed on the 28th floor,well worth the extra money.A great all rounder.

Room Tip: Upgrade and ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights early August. The view was just wonderful and worth every penny. However, I was disappointed at the lack of seating on the balcony to be able to enjoy the view in comfort with a beverage of choice. The layout of the room felt like there was much wasted space but the bed was comfortable, the pillows were not, luckily I am seasoned enough to bring my own mini memory foam pillow so a comfortable nights sleep was definitely had. The staff were extremely pleasant and I cannot complain at all. Great location. Free wifi. Real mini fridge with enough room to store your own things, coffee pod machine and kettle. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. They allowed us to leave our luggage there for 3 days at no charge, while we did a quick trip to Vancouver Island even though we were not returning to stay this hotel upon return. If I ever found myself back in Vancouver, this would be my hotel of choice, you really can't beat the view of the bay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Human13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

On our 25th Anniversary Trip and first time to Vancouver we chose the Blue Horizon Hotel. We could not have been more pleased. Our room was ready when we arrived and the staff was prompt and very helpful. Our room on the 29th floor was comfortable and spacious with killer views of the city and mountains. The beds let you sleep like a baby. After a day of sight seeing, one of our favorite things to do was open the curtains and sliding patio door, pull the chairs around, pour a cocktail, and enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. The hotels location is perfect and great for walking to many of the cities attractions. Connected to the hotel lobby is the restaurant Abode. The restaurant had good food, good service and great tables for people watching. Most of the attraction companies around Vancouver had stops in front of the hotel. This was a great added value. There is also a lap pool and hot tub on the second floor which we used after a full day of walking.The only negative might be the small lobby, which was cool and neat. Anyway, Who sleeps in the lobby? Thanks to the Blue Horizon for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Go high for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Located at Robson Street where all the hype is happening, this hotel is all value for money.
It is cheap compared to other hotels in Downtown Vancouver, but the service is still great.
I received a free room upgrade because the room that I originally booked was not available. Many restaurants are located nearby, too, making it easy to find food and stroll around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripl3thr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
2,300 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,616 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £104 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing