We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor safety, very dodgy area, close to city centre”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #74 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor safety, very dodgy area, close to city centre”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

as we walked from the underground station to the hotel in the middle of the afternoon we passed groups of homeless people, strong smells of cannibis and all sorts of other interesting people! as we got closer to the hotel we passed one women sitting on the pavement shotting up with heroin from a kinder egg cup. a nice start to the break! the reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room was basic but clean and shower was hot and powerful. we were on the 5th floor, the large sash window opened all the way - no safety on it and didnt seem to lock in anyway and there was a fire escape just outside. some floors on the hotel stunk of cannibis and sometimes when we had the window open (had to wedge it open with a book and took both us us to lift it open) the smell wafted in too. we paid $80 per night for two of us for b and b. you do get what you pay for, my only concern was the safety, seemingly anyone could walk in off the street and head straight for the lifts and staircase.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budgetpat, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Nicolad100,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and particularly for your comments regarding guest safety. As our staff work very hard to ensure that guests feel comfortable, safe and at home while staying with us, we always welcome ideas for improvement. As none of our guest rooms are located on the ground floor, they are not accessible from the exterior of the building. However, as you have pointed out, there could be a perception of insecurity for people staying in the few rooms that that are located near the building’s fire escape (also not accessible by from the ground floor). As a result of your comments, we are currently looking into ways that we can improve security for these rooms. To further discuss the comments on safety you made, it is true that in the majority of hotels, “anyone could walk in off the street and head straight for the lifts”. However, in most cases, and certainly in ours, these individuals would not be permitted beyond the hotel’s lobby. In addition to providing uninterrupted service to our guests, our front desk is staffed 24hrs which ensures that our safety policies (all visitors to the hotel must be registered with the front desk, no visitors after 10pm & that the entrance to the hotel is secured at 11pm each evening) are enforced.

Finally, we strive very hard to provide a clean environment for our guests, which includes freedom from cigarette or other smoke. In addition to informing guests at the time of check in that our rooms are non-smoking and that non-compliance will result in a financial penalty, our house-keeping staff makes a very concerted effort to monitor guest rooms on an on-going, daily basis. On the rare occasion our non-smoking policy is not abided by the offender is checked out immediately following our discovery of the offense. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by another guest’s failure to comply with our policies as it is definitely not the norm.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    175
    162
    77
    97
See reviews for
75
231
140
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I would never stay at this place again. We got there and were checked in to our room from the grumpy reception staff, the room they gave hadnt been cleaned from the previous guests, So they changed the room no problem and it was fine. genually you get what you pay for at cheap hotels but for $112.00 a night it was crap. wasnt really that clean,we heard everything from the rooms on both sides of us and above and inthe hallways. the "shower nozel" had no cradle so you had to hold it while showering, not so easy!! breakfast was not to bad and the meals at the on site pud were cheap and prety decent aswell. Its the dozens of homeless people who camp outside on the side walks day and night that is a real put off. have to walk through them all to walk into town or even get to the bus stop to bus to town. If you do stay here anyway you get free wifi, breakfast is free and if you dont mind the homeless camp its about a 10/5min walk into down town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chico, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you like to be around the pimps, prostitutes, drug use and homeless people this is the place to stay as the hotel is surrounded by them, lots and lots of them wondering on the streets. The hotel has no safe place to leave a vehicle ( the lot is open to anybody who wants acces to your vehicle) ovenight and does not have security people on inside or outside the hotel! The pub described on the website is a large bar with area for a live band and huge dance floor, the noise must be incredible, add to that thin walls between the rooms and plan to not sleep! No amount of money saved can make up for the surroundings! Plus you are forced to sign that you will not get your money back if you do not cancel in time so we were forced to pay one night lodging to not stay here. Bewhere!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller then on old cruise ships so the bathrooms are remodeled from closets!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret32201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

No complain with this hotel because it's clean( old as well) and lobby's people are really nice.

A little noisy during the night

Poor people in the area but well located and not far from downtown

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dens2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed here for over a week in June to do a bit of sightseeing and attend a conference in Vancouver Convention Centre. I had excellent service from the staff in the dealings I had with them, and the hotel itself seemed completely divorced from the outside world – an oasis of calm and normality in comparison to life on East Hastings. The room on the 4th floor was perfectly reasonable, it lacked a separate table which would be awkward for those expecting to do some work, but I could forgive that given the price considering some of my colleagues were spending maybe 5x or more per night for alternative hotels. On the ground floor at the back & side they have their associated Pat’s Pub, I sampled a fair bit of the food and they do very good burgers and fish and chips at a very good price, along with their own lager which was excellent. The only reservation I might have is if you were in a room on the 1st floor above the pub, I would hope there is decent soundproofing considering some of the live bands they host later in the evenings. The location is about 25 minutes walk from the convention centre. It’s safe to say there’s nothing quite like East Hastings Street anywhere else in the numerous cities throughout the world I’ve stayed in, I’ve never seen so many homeless and down and outs anywhere else, and there’s certainly a haunt for prostitutes on Dunlevy between East Hastings and East Cordova, so keep your eyes averted or expect to be propositioned if you’re a single guy. But in the times I walked East Hastings including carrying my laptop and rucksack on arriving and leaving I was never bothered by anyone and felt perfectly safe. Those who wish to avoid these sections of humanity could easily do so by walking down Dunlevy Avenue to East Pender Street and walk in through Chinatown which is like a different world. It’s amazing how the character of an area can change in such a short distance. Given the value represented by this hotel, I can definitely recommend it and would have no hesitation in staying there again when I next go to Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KJH_LS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed there during the Olympics and again for game 7 of the Playoffs...Quick walk to town without spending a fortune. The Pat Pub was a real surprise, food was amazing (try the sheperds pie)! The rooms, small, clean and quaint and the staff were so hospitable. Specialty coffee machine in the lobby a bonus!

Room Tip: For the couple extra bucks get the King Bed Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idolovebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in East Hastings. The hotel has a large table in the lobby you can read at or take your food there to enjoy. Reception is very pleasent, good peoplem . The room was adequate for us, we had to carry ons 1 is large enough for this room. Shower was hot and strong. Place was clean. In vancover you sacrifice the area your in for a low priced room $50. We checked around and and it would be hard to find a room for less than a $100 per night. We spent the savings on bus tickets, food and drinks. There is pub there with an entrance to the left of the front desk. Food was good. Best deal in town is to buy the all day bus, sea bus and tram pass. $9. You can go any where, the markets were great. We headed to grouse mt sky ride but we didnt want to spend $80 for a ride up the hill, went back to the Market had lunch. The hot spot for us that love bars and a place to watch the games is on DENMAN STREET AND DAVIE STREET. China town is only 2 blocks from the hotel and it was worth the 4 visits i made. Keefer bar is a place to have a $8 drink in the evening. Some people will be intimitated by the area. Just relax and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Casino is close maybe $5 away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pvdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 90 in Vancouver
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
1,611 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
1,794 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing