We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay hotel but shocking area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay hotel but shocking area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We booked this hotel because of it's cheaper price than further into the city centre, although it was still in a close location. When we arrived we realised why it was cheaper. East Hastings Street is nutorious for druggies and prostitutes. It's very sad to see and quite scary when you're two females on your own after dark. Although the locals said that the people won't harm you, it's quite intimidating and not very nice to see. The hotel itself was clean and breakfast was included in the price.

We would strongly recommend not visiting Vancouver with a car here. We took our car back early as we were worried that despite being in the hotel car park, drunks and druggies would hang out there at night.

All in all, if we were to visit Vancouver again, we'd choose to stay further out at a decent hotel and get the skytrain in or the bus. The public transport and taxi are very reasonable. Although budget Patricia in itself is okay, the area really lets it down and I hope that the people of Vancouver will start doing something about the very sad problem they have down Hastings Street.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top at the back.. we had a view of the harbour which was nice (obscured by the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    175
    161
    75
    93
See reviews for
74
227
141
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Excellent stay in downtown area. This hotel is clean and safe and offers very good friendly service with the friendly staff speaking many languages. Also it has its own pub which served very good food and nice homemade beer. Yes, there are some homeless people around this part of town but this is just the same now for all major cities around the world.

It was very easy to catch the bus or a taxi from the hotel to downtown Robson St or elsewhere. Great value and great service! I will be back for sure. Thank you to the lovely staff at Patricia Hotel for a very safe and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Dave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I found the Patricia Hotel's strongest asset at the Front Desk. Noor, the Front Desk Clerk, is their Jewel in the Crown! I saw him give advice to German backpackers on inexpensive things to do around town, helped Japanese tourists on how to handle a credit card problem, volunteered to call the taxi company to arrange a pickup, all while processing reservations for 3 rooms. I had a few minutes to speak with him when the others were gone. He shows great pride in what he does and it shows.

Although, as others have mentioned, this hotel is not in a good part of town, it is a great value. I was only spending one night in Vancouver and didn't want to pay $160-300 for such a little time. I had a double bed, inside room with no window for $59.99/night plus tax as a single. A continental breakfast was included in that price. With your room key, you could get discounts on food in the pub on the premises and that same key allowed you to listen to live music without a cover charge.Even as a single woman, I had no problem staying there, would stay there again and would recommend it to others looking for a value hotel.

Room Tip: Least expensive rooms are inner rooms with no window (but drapes help).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

i've stayed in the cheapest rooms 3 times- the inner rooms with no outside windows. the advantage is cost and you don't hear the street noise. the negative is that the rooms are tiny- single bed, no desk or counterspace or sitting area, dim lighting. the carpet was very dirty, the twin bed was comfortable and the fan helped. the halls can be noisy and you can hear noise from upstairs rooms.
best thing about the hotel is the front desk people- all of them are friendly and very eager to help and meet any request that you have.
the breaskfast (summer only?) was very good- toast, muffins, granola, yogurt and fruit, juice, cold cereals, etc.
parking for $5-6 a night was convenient.
the area east of the hotel looks scary, especially at night, but i walked there daily and was never bothered by the huge number of homeless/drug-addicted people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I really liked the hotel. The price was good, the amenities were decent, and the concierges were attentive and thoughtful. That being said, the hotel was in a horrible part of town. We got into Vancouver at 10:30pm and walked there from the train station. Walking up E Hastings was really sketchy. The area smelled bad and there were great numbers of homeless, prostitutes, and drug users/dealers on the streets. This was my first time to Vancouver, but that area of town really gave the city a bad feeling in my book. We stayed there for our entire trip, but made a point to be back in the hotel before sundown. I would not recommend the place if you are traveling by yourself. The way to get around the sketchy street is to walk up a few blocks, so you don't spend too long on Hastings. Still, even though the price was excellent, I don't think I'll be staying there next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b00kw0rm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear b00kw0rm88,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about our hotel and the city. Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and staff as we do try very hard to assist guests in any way we can to ensure a pleasant stay. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our neighbourhood. For many guests, our fantastic prices, exceptional customer service and attention to detail outweigh the issues that are prevalent in our neighbourhood, but for some they do not. Although we are not happy about it, we understand. It is too bad to hear that you will likely stay elsewhere despite all our great attributes, we are happy to hear that you will revisit our fantastic city in the future.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the Patricia, with two young kids, in the quad room on a hot August weekend. The price was unbeatable, especially as it included a basic breakfast (cereal and toast). The front desk staff were all wonderful -- consistently kind and knowledgable about Vancouver.

Our only real criticism of the hotel was the lack of air conditioning and the safety issues about opening the windows. The quad room is on the 4th floor, very high above the street, and the windows are large, lowish and without bars. With small and lively kids we didn't feel we could safely open them. It was an exceptionally hot weekend in Vancouver, and though we had a fan, without the windows open it tended just to blow the hot air around. We didn't sleep much. Air conditioning would have helped enormously. We do understand it is an old building but it might be worth considering what could be done in the family rooms -- window bars, or smaller higher up windows that open perhaps?

In terms of the area, and its suitability, to be honest we didn't find it a big problem. The hotel staff do warn about where not to walk and how to circumnavigate the worst blocks (those are a couple of blocks away from the hotel in fact). And actually it's really pretty tame compared to parts of London and New York -- not that the drug deals aren't happening, but it didn't have an air of violence or of menace. Quite the reverse, in fact. People were exceptionally courteous. The one time we walked through the area with the kids (by mistake), there were shouts from the homeless guys to those ahead of 'Kids on the block!'.

All in all, I'd recommend this if you're on a tight budget and don't plan to spend large amounts of time at your hotel. I'd be wary about the location only if I were there as a single female. Otherwise being so close to China Town and Gastown makes up for th couple of bad blocks on East Hastings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I feel like saying the people who reviewed this badly 'expected something different' as the review below says is sort of ridiculous. I read all of the reviews and nothing could have quite managed to prepare me to 'expect' our stay here. The area was like something out of a zombie movie, very depressing but most of all just quite shocking. We did appear to be at a much quieter end of this bad street, with the more busy end closer to town, but that did not mean that there weren't drug addicts and hookers on pretty much every corner. The view outside our window involved a corner with a rotation of around 12 different hookers, who appeared to begin standing there at around 2pm, as well as a step outside an apartment block where people would sit to inject themselves or smoke.
That being said, as the reviews say, we were never approached by any of these people, as they would do in Vancouver city center. We did come to see them as harmless to only themselves.
We also found a better 'back-way' on Pender street which took you through China Town and then you were able to enter GasTown and the city center that way.
The room was fairly dire, the bathroom was a kind of renovated cupboard next to our beds with a folding door that did not seal in the steam, noise or smell of the tiny bathroom. There were exposed pipes and cracked paint. The sink was in the main room.
Overall, I am kind of glad we stayed here, it certainly meant we spent as much time out of the hotel and in actual Vancouver as possible. My main problem with the hotel was the security, I had read that the front desk warn against opening the door to knocks in the night and this made me realize how east it was for people to just wander the hallways, guests or not.
All of these problems can often be pushed aside my noting that it is indeed a Budget hotel- and therefore you get what you pay for- I cannot help but disagree, Hotels in much nicer areas with much nicer amenities seemed to be not that much more expensive.
Probably wont be returning.

Room Tip: One not facing the 'crack step'?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear elfin91,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the hotel and of the neighbourhood in which we find ourselves. You are correct in your assessment that we are at the far end of a street that is home to many of the city’s disadvantaged. We agree that it is indeed quite sad to see and also with your statement that they are harmless to only themselves. We are hopeful that the city will find a more sustainable, longterm care plan for these individuals, but in the meantime, tourists can avoid them by walking 1 block south to Chinatown or 2 blocks north to Gastown.

With regards to your comments about your room, I must point out that we are proud to be celebrating our 100th birthday very soon have taken great care to preserve the original architectural style of the building in many of our common areas and some guest rooms. For example, most hotel rooms did not have bathrooms at that time, rather they contained their own vanity and shared a bathroom down the hall. Of course many of our room styles are more modern with large, separate bathrooms, but plenty of them still have an in-room vanity combined with a more recent toilet/shower addition. Another example of our historic architectural style is exposed piping which was preserved during past renovations as a result of conscious decisions. While some may not like this architectural style, others may deem it an absolute shame to conceal. As such photos of our common areas and all guest rooms are readily available for viewing on our website so that people may see the vast array of room types and styles that we have available. Booking tip – if you are not a fan of 100 year old style, it may be best to book our King or Quad room which reflect a more modern style.

Finally, you may be right- if you compare our most spacious room with the smallest or most basic elsewhere, or if you compare our regular prices against sale prices elsewhere, you may not see much of a difference. However, we are consistently the most economical accommodation choice in the city and the customer service guests receive here will never be beat.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing