We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff especially Noordin who prides himself on his customer service.”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on and off while I was in and out of Canada, all rooms stunk of urine, a cleaning issue I believe. That was a gross. The rooms were cold also as the heating doesnt always work. I was able to look passed the homeless and felt quite safe there. The service and staff and price of this place are the gems.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear culturecure,

Thank you for your feedback. We would greatly appreciate it if you could contact the hotel at your earliest convenience so that we may look into the room(s) that you occupied while staying with us. The odour that you indicated is something that we have not heard of before so we would certainly like to investigate. Regarding the heating, manipulating the dial on the radiator in the room does not influence its function which may give the impression that it is not working. However, the heating is centrally controlled and run on a timer system so as to maintain a constant and comfortable temperature for all rooms. In any event, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and that you feel that we offer rooms that are of good value for the price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Patricia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Noor is a good man who helped us with the direction and map around the hotel, places to go in Vancouver. Great customer service, reasonable price with the budget hotel, location is good as easy to find restaurant aroubd Chinatown and go to downtown. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Sylvia,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that our staff members were able to assist you during your stay, that you found our prices to be of good value and that you found us to be quite conveniently located. We hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Ok, this hotel is in a bit of a poor region of Vancouver with a few homeless people on the street. But that is why you pay such a good price! It is not unsafe and very well connected to public transport, Apart from that there is a very cozy restaurant/bar downstairs with fair prices, good food and late night eating!
Also the girl on the counter was very friendly, making sure we could get into a room although we were 4 hours early of check-in time.... Extreme value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Peetn,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy to hear that you were able to get around easily while with us and that you were able to try Pat’s Pub & BrewHouse on the lobby level of the hotel. Hopefully you gave them your room number so you could take advantage of the 20% discount that they offer hotel guests! Most of all we are thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and courteous and that we represent great value! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is cheap. That's where the positives end... you pay in location and comfort. The area of Vancouver is unlike anything i've ever seen... a great location for a zombie film on a budget, the neighbourhood must contain one of the highest densities of junkies of any city in North America. The hotel is long past it's heyday and in severe need of euthanasia. But it's cheap. You've been warned.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adsharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Adsharrison,

Thank you for pointing out that we offer an affordable option for travelers in a city that can be extremely expensive. We believe in offering low cost, basic but comfortable rooms and service that is second to none and have been doing so for the past 100 years. It is true that a hotel that has been operating for a century reflects a certain historic style that may appeal to many, but not all travelers. Based upon your comments, it appears that you fall within the latter category and we are certainly sorry to hear that. Perhaps we can suggest a more modern alternative on your next trip to Vancouver, but assure you that you will miss the friendly and courteous staff here! Take care and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

An extremely cheap hotel near the very center of Vancouver. Hotel staff very very polite and willing to help (Noor the receptionist). He took his time amidst answering phone calls and helping other guests to show us the important places on the map and a brief history about most. Rooms are small but pleasant. If you dont go down the street where the hotel is, but skip one and move through Chinatown, you wont see the homeless and drug addicts and you wont even have a feeling about what part of town you`re in. Bus stop right in front of the hotel. The pub has a good selection of wines and beers to choose from. Discount on food if you are guest of the hotel. You also pay 50% less for parking which is next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for Noor at the reception. He is the man you need.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear KeenJoh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers! We are delighted that you enjoyed the staff and your room as both the front desk and housekeeping teams work very hard to positively impact our guest's stays. We are also happy to hear that you were able to try Pat’s Pub & BrewHouse during your stay and benefit from the discount that hotel guests receive. Great! Again, thank you for sharing and we hope to see you next time you are in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was not bad, it's a budget inn so don't expect anything big, it's very cheap. The desk clerks were extremely helpful. When I got there I cancelled the rest of the weekend and changed hotels because the area was too unsafe. A lot of drug addicts and homeless people around, right outside the hotel. Rooms are small, cheap, I slept with my clothes on. I wouldn't walk outside at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Xenia S,

Thank you for your feedback. Although we are extremely happy to hear that you felt the hotel itself represents good value and that you found the desk staff to be pleasant, we are sorry that you sought out an alternative for the rest of your stay on account of the neighbourhood. True the neighbourhood is home to some of the city’s disadvantaged and true there are many church groups and no-profits that assist these individuals, the neighbourhood is not unsafe for tourists. Although the sight of poor our homeless individuals can be disconcerting for some, reviews by previous guests indicate that they had no issues whatsoever which is very much in keeping with our experiences here. In any case, we hope that you enjoyed your trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

As a friend of not so modern or even close to modern style, I liked this 100-years old hotel in the surroundings of hard everyday life. The hotel has that lingering feeling of timeless and place less atmosphere. You could be anywhere in the world when sitting in the lounge or in the bar. I loved this feeling. The staff was polite, friendly and professional in discreet manner. Ground floor front desk, brewery, bar and kitchen were in perfect harmony and combination. Live music often.
Bus stops just in front of the hotel.
Good value/money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, Front Office Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Pertti L,

Thank you making the Patricia Hotel a part of your around-the-world adventure and for taking the time to submit a review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s character, the staff and the on-site pub & brewhouse. As a person who has traveled quite a bit, you surely have a good sense of hotels that represent good value, so thank you very much for your praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Vancouver Airport
#70 of 92 in Vancouver
158 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#68 of 92 in Vancouver
504 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £35 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing