We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff excellent advice -you can't buy this kind of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff excellent advice -you can't buy this kind of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Trip advisor lead me to this hotel and they were not wrong. Single women travelling to a new city 5 nights to be honest the neighbourhood was scary to start with but the staff were so helpful and reassured me I was safe and they were right. Noor Din was amazing a guide so knowledgeable on everything Van. Got to meet heaps of lovely permanent residents and share some wonderful evenings at the jazz and blues nights. If you want somewhere very clean and close to everything then the Pat is for you - congratulations on a job well done with some challenging elements in your neighbourhood.

Room Tip: The wifi is great in the lobby but not the rooms. Don't forget to ask for a hair dryer at the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    175
    161
    75
    93
See reviews for
74
227
141
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was built many years back, but it has been kept up. It is clean and remodeled. The staff are very nice. The rooms are small, but completely functional; they are self contained and have everything you need, except a fridge or microwave. Unless you're planning to spend the day in them, they are absolutely fine. The price is unbeatable for this city.

But wait, the location is like something out of an ad for donations for a third world country. There are homeless people EVERYWHERE. Half of them are stoned or mentally ill. Watch for needles as you walk along the street. I also experienced a complete lack of harassment from any of them. After the first night, I wasn't frightened to walk around there any longer, but wow it is really difficult to observe what's happening on the street. Definitely not a place to stay with children or for those who easily feel unsafe in unfamiliar territory.

Room Tip: Room 529 has a view of the harbor and is at the end of the hall so less people walk past the room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kweega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Out stay at “Budget Inn Patricia Hotel” became comfortable because of helpful staff and especially Noor Din – whose detailed directions and helpful suggestion have saved our money in Vancouver City. He is very informative, friendly – I would say him “Google of Vancouver”. We always had seen him helping guests with patience and smile. We are extremely happy with the services provided with smile in rush hours! Motel has its own pub and restaurant where you can listen different kind of music every evening. The motel location is such that you can easily find Chinese/Indian Restaurants, Chinatown, downtown, Bus Stop (Outside of motel), Shopping mall, etc. I would highly recommend my family and friends to stay at this motel during their visit at Vancouver.

Room Tip: Talk to Front Desk about your need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is an older hotel, but is well kept. The budget rooms are indeed compact and face the ventilator shaft, but are comfortable.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is perhaps the seediest in town, but the street people are docile; no one even attempts to panhandle money. Buses run up and down Hastings ( the west end is up scale business properties ) and will take you to Canada Place and sky train stations. Short walk to the Central Train Station for Amtrak/VIA Rail Canada. Chinatown a block or two away.There is a nice pub downstairs that serves good food ( although, I am no fan of "poutine" which I tried for the first time here ) and has great beer on tap ( discount when showing hotel key ). Everything is very clean and I did not find any trace of strange odors mentioned by some people. It was quiet and the price can't be beaten in this expensive city. I was only looking for basic lodging and this fit the bill. Only complaint is that the internet was down when I visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A trip back in time! Ole worlde style of hotel. Comfortable. Helpful staff. Best of all, great value in an overpriced city!! The neighbourhood was a real education for me but the taxi driver assured me that travellers get left alone. It did feel quite safe walking around there despite the proliferation of drugged out human "flotsam" (as they say, there but for the grace of god, go I).

Room Tip: Higher up for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The thing that stood out the most during our stay at the Budget Inn Patricia was the quality service! One man especially, his name is Noor, made a great impression. He was helping guests out non-stop while behind the front counter, displaying diligence, patience, and a smile. After leaving the hotel we realized I had left my ipod in our room. When we returned and informed Noor on the problem, he let us go back and search the room, no questions asked. After we searched and couldn't find it in the room, Noor personally sought it out by contacting the cleaning staff and locating the ipod's location. Throughout the entire process Noor was also helping other guests who were checking in, checking out, needing a cab, and needing their bags to be taken up to their room. Noor helped everyone with the same positive and comforting attitude. We are extremely grateful for the time Noor took to help us, even with his heavy work load! Thank you, Noor!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graydon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there two nights in a budget room. The room is very very small. The washroom is too tiny. Scary neighborhood in the front road of the hotel. But the hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. If anyone consider only money, then the budget room is very cheap.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kmkj_kmkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing