We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pat or The Patricia Hotel-Vancouver's jazz and blues hotel”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 10 July 2014

OK the Pat isn't perfect, but it is cool and affordable. The neighborhood can be intimidating due to the 'street life', but it is safe. The staff is friendly and super helpful. Sometimes the coffee machine doesn't work so stroll across the street to the Vietnamese Sandwich Shop or down the street to the variety store where coffee is cheap and owners are nice. I like the 5th floor rooms with downtown and harbor view-awesome. The Pub has good food and good jams-the jazz jam is hot.
Great musicians like Jelly Roll Morton and Ada Bricktop Smith played the 'Pat' and late at night the old music comes out of the walls and some guests swear the old players' ghosts wander the halls.
Walk to Gastown or China Town in a few minutes or catch a bus to Stanley Park or the North Shore.
If there is a problem with your room tell the staff and they will help you out. Check out the Chapel Gallery next door. Try the Fire House Theater only 10 minutes away or one of the hip restaurants nearby. Join one of the jams in the Pub or just listen and enjoy.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor facing west have great views, but cost a little more. Budget rooms are among the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff was very understanding, although the area was sktechy. Immediatlety upon check in I asked about the refund policy. We got to our room which was the basic room with a full sized bed. It was very small, right when you walk in there is the bed and hardly any room to turn. It felt exteremly claustrophobic. We check out as soon within the hour... Though the price was unbeatable, it is not ideal for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Keep in mind the price is due to location and age of the building. It is getting repairs & redecoration. But the age of the building is part of its charm. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. No a/c, but the windows open and a fan is provided. In this market, its tough to find a hotel at this price with private bathrooms.

What makes the hotel is the service. When we checked in, the elevator was under repair. Although the repairs to due to be completed shortly, Noor (desk manager on duty) offered to check our backs and buy us a round of drinks at the pub next door. He also arranged for a significant discount on dinner there. Noor also helped us with directions, restaurant tips and cab arrangements. Other staffers were equally accommodating. The tone set by the staff carried through to the other guests....everybody was very friendly. This was a perfect stop over for a night or so while waiting to embark on our cruise. It's a $35 cab ride from the airport, less than $10 from Pacific Station. $7 cab ride to the cruise terminal at Canada Place. I would stay here again.

side note...the pub next door has good service at the dinner hour, but be mindful of the live music options. The jazz playing at dinner was awesome. The skinhead band playing later, not so much. Bonus... You CANNOT hear the bands from the hotel rooms,

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a view of the port. You can see Canada Place from the hotel very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twangthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and myself booked 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel looks very old and is in need of refurbishing. The reception coffee machine does not work.The area was very rough did not feel safe walking back to the hotel in the evening, should have done more research on our behalf. The shower was not functioning so we reported it to the reception attendant and were told that it would be fixed. when returning in the evening the shower was still not functioning went down to complain and was told that the handyman was not working that day. we were offered an upgrade but we didn't bother as it was our last night. To top it all we asked for a wake up call for 4.30 am so that we could catch a train for Seattle, it was a good thing that we set my mobile phone alarm because wake up call was not done either. I do not recommend this hotel at all, if you do decide to go please check out the area before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Other reviewers comment on the seedy area. Yes, east hastings is probably the grittiest area in all of Canada. but safety is definately not an issue up here. Historic hotel is not the nicest in the world, but the rooms are mostly clean where it counts, and for the price its a great find in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGoldy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

the hotel:
it isnt in the best part of town, there are homeless people and prostitutes hanging around but they probably will not bother you. we felt safe during our stay there. it is near chinatown, and near interesting locations and bus stops, so traveling is convenient. the hotel is within walkable distance to good food such as the Vietnamese restaurant just opposite the street and oyster express and this hasting warehouse where all food goes for $4.99. the room is small but very clean, shower area is a little cramp and will make a watery mess, but it isnt really a complaint just something to take note of. there are 2 different wifi, one at the lobby and one for the room, both working perfectly when we were there. also maybe the walls a bit thin.

service:
front desk is open 24hrs. we were attended by Noor, who provided splendid services and made our stay very memorable. on a complimentary town map he drew out routes and marked out interesting areas, gave very useful tips such as making reservation at Observatory restaurant for a free lift up Grouse mountain instead of paying the same amount to get up the place, printed out directions on how to get to Cypress Falls, and offered us bikes to get around the place. valuable local perspective delivered with charm and wit!

my boyfriend and i both agreed that it would be so lovely to have such an exceptional individual like Noor in every city. thank you very much, we really did appreciate your services <3

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yinghui t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From an initial look of the hotel's exterior and surrounding neighborhood, it appears like this hotel would be a place to avoid. However, the key word is "appears".

The hotel is on Hastings street, which seems dangerous due to all the homeless people and drug addicts that are close by. However, every single time I walked down Hastings street, no one bothered me- they all kept to themselves. I am a 6 ft 2 in (~187cm) male, but I also saw many short, elderly females walking down the street without any problems. If you don't interact with the drug addicts, they won't pay any attention to you.

The price of the hotel is amazing, considering it is about a 1km walk to downtown and there are many buses that can take you there as well, with bus stops right outside of the hotel. A hotel downtown would cost at least twice what the Patricia Hotel costs. You won't find a bigger bargain anywhere else.

In terms of room quality, the living space was small, but provided everything that was necessary. There was no air conditioner though, so if you happen to visit on a rare hot Vancouver day, you may not want to stay here. Also, the keys to the hotel doors are actually metal keys with a giant keychain, not like the typical plastic cards at other hotels. Don't lose it or I bet you'll have to pay a hefty fine!

In short, this hotel is great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,891 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#71 of 92 in Vancouver
527 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing