We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Location!”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Marianna, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Location!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Upon pulling into the parking lot, the first thing you see are homeless, junkies, and prostitutes. Parking costs $6 per night. The hotel is out of another time. Old switchboard telephone and piano decorate the lobby. The elevator is scary. And the entire building looks like it may fall apart. The view from the room was a narrow alley with other rooms' windows facing toward you. You could look out your window and see a man and woman having sex. The rooms were very clean, but small. The bathroom was tiny tiny! THE RESTAURANT WAS DISGUSTING. Everything fried tasted like it was fried in months old grease. The "fresh" burger tasted like it was about a week past it's expiration date. Everything else, except for the salad, tasted like frozen food warmed up. Take heed these warnings and the others posted on the net. If you have a low budget, the room is passable, if you want family friendly or romantic, do not stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becorath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi there Becorath,
Thank you for making an especially positive note about your room’s cleanliness. Our housekeepers are quite diligent so it is nice when they are acknowledged by our guests. We are sorry if you were surprised by the size of your room or its view. We try our best to clearly inform potential guests about the size and orientation of the Budget Room by giving specific room measurements online (105-130 sq ft) and describing that the Budget Room looks onto the building’s lightwell which means it has no view. We are also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food you ordered at the pub as this is not in line with the feedback we typically receive. I assure you that our burgers are handmade on a daily basis and our frier oil is changed at least twice per week, more frequently if necessary. We also have a wide selection of house-made, non-fried items like soups, salads, humous and pita, spinach and artichoke dip, edamame, grilled salmon burgers and sandwiches to name a few. Ultimately, it’s our goal to make sure our guests leave happy and the pub definitely operates the same way. Hopefully you brought your concerns to the attention of one of the staff members on duty as I am sure they would have loved the opportunity to ensure that you were happy with your order in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    175
    166
    78
    99
See reviews for
75
234
141
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Wanted an inexpensive hotel that was still relatively close to the cruise ship terminal. Patricia Inn Hotel works. While the area--and its residents--can be a bit off putting for some, it wasn't an issue for me. Yes, there are some transients. Understandable with a mission centre right around the corner. Yes, there are some eccentric characters. If they said hello or smiled, I said hello and smiled back. No one approached me. No one hassled me. I never felt unsafe. Would I walk around alone at night after dark? No. But that's just good common sense and a rule I use everywhere I travel. Area is Strathcona and Chinatown is right there as well. Police station a block away. Bus stop almost outside the door takes you anywhere you need to go. Room was small, but had everything I needed. For $70 for the night, can't go wrong. Bonus is having a pub on site (great food and live music some nights) and free continental breakfast. The staff are AMAZING!! Very friendly. Very helpful. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! In fact, I'll be staying again post cruise. Would I recommend? Absolutely, but with a caveat. If you are used to five-star accommodations and are at all hesitant about location, this might not be for you. If you want a clean room in a smaller hotel with very personable staff and good food right on site, check them out!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sporty_Girl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First of all, I was a little worried about the location of this hotel in Vancouers east side! It wasn't long after check in ( which was about 5 hours early, and the hotel staff accommodated us in less than 10 minutes), that we realized that despite this hotels location everything was supberb! The front end staff, Lindsay and Noor treated us like they were owners of this hotel and not staff. They were so helpful directing us to wherever we wanted to go, and kind and friendly as well. I am a retired airline employee, and have stayed at many 5 star hotels in my lifetime, and personally I can't recall anyone being so accommodating as the staff here. We ate at Pats Pub, and the service and food were equally great. If there were a Hilton across the street, and the rates were the same, I would choose to stay here simply because of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. The service we received was second to none and we were amazed at the welcoming happy staff.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor, and it was quiet, cool, very clean, and handy to eht elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I and my family with 8 years old son came to Vancouver just for 2 days. The hotel is nice and clean and complimentary breakfast was included. The wifi is included and was working well. From the moment we came to hotel, we were welcomed by friendly staff with smiles. The checking process was very quick and staff was very helpful with directions and what best attractions to see in Vancouver. The staff was exceptional, especially a fellow by the name Noor who was in this hotel for 30 years and knows in and outs of Vancouver. He explained how economically save money and do all attractions by yourself. I would not suggest hop on/hop off bus, because you find everything yourself. Transportation in Vancouver expensive, so buy day pass for adult is $ 9.75 and child $ 7.50 you will save money. You can buy passes in Vancouver airport at 7 eleven store domestic terminal lower level. The only thing is not pleasant is an area, due to homeless people around walking, but they harmless and they do not bother you. I would recommend this hotel, because the staff make you feel like at home.

Alex V. San Francisco, CA

Room Tip: Higher floor would be suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was an old hotel, it doesn't have air condition in the room, but it was clean, quiet with wifi and good deal, it have continental breakfast, the staff were nice and friendly, expecialy NOOR, he served good, when we need help, he help us, it's convenient to take the bus going somewhere, there were a lot of homeless people around the hotel, but no worry about them, they won't bother you,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muoi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't even stay one night, we were supposed to stay for three. The staff are friendly and lovely but it doesn't compensate for the tired cramped rooms. The toilet/shower was basically in a closet within the room, with piano doors that didn't close properly so you had zero privacy. There was no air con in the room.
The area it's situated in is horrible. It's on the outskirts of downtown and you have to walk through throngs of homeless/druggies to get to and from downtown. We left and booked another hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear sasa1986,

Thank you for recognizing our staff as we know they work very hard to go above and beyond for our guests. From your description of the room you reserved, you chose one of our Budget or Basic rooms, which are the smallest and cheapest of what we have to offer. These rooms are comparable in size and price to hostel accommodations and as such, tend to appeal to backpackers and other ‘no frills’ travellers. For more spacious rooms with more amenities, we have a wide selection ranging from queen rooms with heritage-style clawfoot tubs to rooms with two beds, large bathrooms and mini fridges. Essentially, our rooms have been designed to range in size and price so as to fit any budget. I am sure if you had shared your concerns with staff, they would have been happy to show you some of our larger rooms – subject to availability of course. I am sorry that you were surprised by our lack of A/C as this is certainly not something we advertise as one our room amenities. Although really hot days are uncommon, when they do occur Vancouver cools quite nicely in the evening on account of being surrounded by water so we have opted to utilize fans rather than A/C. Finally, we respectfully disagree with your assessment of our neighbourhood. We are within walking distance of the city centre, cruise ship terminal and convention centre and are within steps of Chinatown, Gastown, sports arenas and concert venues. This makes us a great choice for experienced travellers looking for a budget friendly alternative to Vancouver’s expensive accommodation choices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#56 of 92 in Vancouver
392 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
95 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
485 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 92 in Vancouver
1,860 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing