We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this a miss”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Give this a miss”
Reviewed 24 September 2006

This hotel is in the worst location in downtown Vancouver. It is the wrong side of Main Street with drugs and homeless people a plenty. The hotel is satisfactory but it is old. The rooms are very small with " bathroom" in one corner.

The only good thing about this hotel is price. I will not stay there again.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flem3547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    179
    168
    79
    102
See reviews for
77
237
142
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

I am a photojournalist who averages 10 to 15 visits yearly to BC to cover sporting events and shoot with BC-based athletes. Because of this, I have a long list of accommodations available to me throughout the province. But this Labour Day weekend, my plans changed suddenly, and I was forced to find a hotel in Vancouver for Saturday night with virtually no notice. None of my usual spots had rooms available. So I started researching possibilities. My usual accommodations, even though they're in lovely neighbourhoods like Kits, and have hot tubs, great breakfasts and safe, comfortable, clean rooms, usually run me $60-$80 nightly. So when other B&Bs and hotels in the core area were quoting $150+ nightly, I started expanding my scope. I checked out the TripAdvisor reviews for the Patricia, and was concerned that many were negative.

But the provincial tourism agency told me that there were "some" homeless people in the area, and while I wouldn't want to hang out in that part of town, that I should be fine.

That was the worst travel advice I have ever received. When I drove from Lion's Gate into Gastown, I expected to find the hotel soon, as it was advertised to be "steps" from Gastown. Not only was it not near Gastown, it was significantly east of Chinatown - in the one area of Vancouver that concerns me, an urban-dwelling journalist who has ventured with minimal worries, late at night, through tough areas of NYC, London, LA and Bangkok. Driving through the area where the Patricia is located requires constant attention to avoid running over crackheads and tweakers who stumble unexpectedly across the street. Regrettably, I did not recognize the neighbourhood from the address. When I pulled into the lot next door to the hotel, I prayed that they had another parking facility, as the parking had been advertised as "secure" with video cameras. Unfortunately, that was not the case. In reality, it was an open lot with sketchy individuals everywhere. As best as I can tell, the only benefit of the cameras would be for the police to review crimes that had already been committed.

There is a huge difference between "homeless" individuals who may or may not be dangerous versus crack and meth addicts who are universally known as likely candidates to be thieves stealing to feed their habits.

Furthermore, when I mentioned my concern about the parking and about the spotty locks on the rooms, the front desk clerk huffed at me that "no one would break into my room." Well, given that he was in the back of the front desk area, out of sight of anyone entering the lobby or going up the elevator, I was not so confident. And I really didn't want to mention that I was concerned because I had $10K of very-portable camera gear with me.

Beyond that, my "non-smoking" room reeked of smoke. Though, in fairness, it seemed clean if a bit ratty.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Wretched neighbourhood
  • Tips/Secrets — A hostel with bunk beds is a better choice
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bikegrrl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

The price was okay...under $100/night but for the same price we could of stayed somewhere more centrally located. I don't recommend staying here if you're a single woman traveling alone. The rooms were clean but the neighborhood is not safe at night. There were drug addicts, prostitutes and drunks wandering around. It's close to Chinatown (which is nothing spectacular) but a bit of a walk to everywhere else. Luckily we had rented a car (parking available onsite). We passed the gastown hostel and regretted not staying there instead.

  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your research before you book
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Ericka98125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

the rooms were okay, and the hotel was nice and clean, but the neighborhood is one of the worst i've seen, and i've been all over seattle, southern california and new york city. People shooting up on the streets, public urination in broad daylight, a horrible neighborhood that no tourist should stay in. My car was broken into on the one and only night I was there, nothing was stolen and the damage was minor but it was still frustruating. If you stay here make sure you have an alarm system on your car or park somewhere more secure, the lot has cameras/patrols but that didn't help me. Only stay here if you can't afford anywhere else and you aren't using your own transportation, i'd advise taking taxi's to downtown proper, especially at night

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — safety
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank generalgeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

I had read all the reviews so I was well prepared. I didnt have much expectations to begin with so I was quite happy to see clean room and sheets :) BUT EVERYTHING THAT IS BEING SAID ABOUT NEIGHBORHOOD IS TRUE. The people at the front desk were all nice and helpfull. But here is what really killed me. I was there for 2 nights. On the second day I got a call early in the morning from Vancouver PD. I ran downstairs and found that someone had broken into my car. Since I already knew it was a shady neighborhood, I had taken the precaution of keeping it virtually empty. So nothing was gone but I had a broken glass. The officer said its a very common occurence on that street and in that parking lot. Apparently Canada does not have a similar law that we have here in US, where you get locked up for a certain period of time if you are caught thrice. Here is what really ticked me off. I made sure that I had parked RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE CAMERA. But that didnt help!
I had to spend close to $400 to get the car fixed. I have no complaints about the actual hotel, but better be willing to take chances with your car!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

After reading the reviews, I expected what I saw...which was beggars, homeless people and maybe some prostitutes. But, for $45-49.00 a night in Vancouver, I was Happy. Let me start by saying "I am a frequent traveler". I love paying less for more. Armed with the information from trip advisor, I was ready for the neighborhood.

The rooms are dorm or nunnary sized. But it was cleaned everyday, Parking is available for pennies or nothing at all. I can't even remember the price. public transportation was directly infront of the hotel. They also had tour companies picking up at the hotel. --With the money I saved istaying at this hotel (June 30-July 3), I shopped at Guess, BeBe's, Armani exchange, etc, and ate at some really great restaurants. For me, I broke even. If I had stayed at the Hyatt, Marriot, etc--McDonald's would have seen me for every meal.

Plus, the hotel sells all day bus tickets for $8. The normal day fare is $2 or 2.50. It has Cable TV but no remote....o.k. Friendly Staff. I saw couples at the hotel, but no children. I never felt danger while I was there. But, I am happy I left the kids at home. Besides, Vancouver is beautiful, but expensive.

I plan on returning to Vancouver and will stay at this hotel again. ...If I can get the Holiday Inn or another hotel for $100 or less, well I will stay there. Otherwise, " Patricia Here I come"!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSVPTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2006

I must admit that the location of the Budget Patricia is not the best but I found the hotel to be more then what I expected from a 'budget' hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

As for it's location, yes it is full of the homeless, drug addicts and prostitutes but in the 5 days I was there I was never accosted by anyone. I even walked into the city and back again via Gastown and felt fairly safe albeit with a friend. When I was accosted by beggars, which only happened in Gastown, I never gave them anything but instead of the verbal abuse I've received in other large cities, I was told instead to have a nice day, or enjoy your stay (obviously a politer beggar/drug user/drunk inhabits Vancouver!).

For those who complain, yes the Patricia should be a bit more upfront about it's location but remember it is a Budget hotel and what were you expecting - A harbour view at Canada Place for $80?! Get Real!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
405 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
96 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 92 in Vancouver
1,913 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#67 of 92 in Vancouver
493 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing