We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget hotel and lovely staff”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #74 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great budget hotel and lovely staff”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Started a month in BC/Alberta in Vancouver and needed a cheap hotel. Read reviews and thought Patricia hotel would be ok.

Location is good and the staff were so helpful from the start. Room not massive but adequate for a few days and clean with all the facilities we needed. After a long journey from uk the bar was great and gave us a great introduction to thegood company of the Canadian people. The beer and food was good too! Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed.

Read thet the area is not good but no problem to us and the location is actually very good, being within easy walking distance to both chinatown and gastown. Even walked to Pacific Central with cases although there was always a taxi to hand and the bus route outside the hotel fine.

Thanks to the chaps on the desk for good tourist tips!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntylawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    175
    162
    77
    98
See reviews for
75
231
140
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great for a budget traveller looking for a short stay.

I booked a room here for a 4 day stay in Vancouver because of the significantly cheaper rates than almost all other hotels, and even some of the hostels.

The cab driver had warned me that the area was a little on the "shady" side in relation to the rest of the Vancouver CBD, but you can only really grasp the reality of "shady" by going there. In my four day stay I witnessed drug deals, drug use on the street, countless homeless people, prostitution and arrests all take place within a block of the hotel.

That being said the room was clean and quiet, the service was great and there was heaps of information on hand, and the location is very good in relation to the main attractions of Vancouver. Surprisingly, I was not bothered by a single person whilst walking the streets, and I felt comfortable doing so, even at night.

Not for the faint hearted, but if your on a budget you really can't go wrong

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will123ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaleden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Yes the rooms are small but they are clean and have everything you need for your stay. My last stay was for 6 nights and I was very comfortable (with only a fan and no A/C in July). The staff are very helpful and friendly. Sure the elevator is a trip but once you learn how to use it it's great fun! I have had to walk to the train at 5:30 in the morning on several ocassions (on previous trips) to get to the airport and never had a problem walking down Hastings. This last time I parked my car (very reasonable rates) at the hotel and left it there for 6 days - no problem. A little dose of reality can do us all a world of good and there are lots of good things happening in the East End - lots of hard working average people making a life for themselves and making life easier for others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

we stayed at this hotel for one night,it was in a bad area of town and it was really old and the whole place smelt like death to be honest,the rooms were small and the beds horrible

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were in Vancouver overnight to sail the next day. Other couple we travel with had another hotel booked, but we booked here since it was only for 1 night. As we got close to this hotel, we saw large numbers of people lying on the sidewalks, boarded up buildings, and even a drug buy taking place in the block next to the hotel. We felt very unsafe there, but when we talked to the desk clerk, he refused to cancel our reservation, even though it was the middle of the afternoon. We decided to check out the room. As we got to the 5th floor, the elevator did not even stop on the floor - we had to step down about 6 inches. The room was tiny, only about 18 inches on either side of a double bed and a few feet at the foot of the bed with a sink, table and 12" oscillating fan. We called and got a room elsewhere which cost us $250 but we would not stay at this hotel. We could not even get a cab to pick us up there so we just left and began to walk to another street where we hailed a cab.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Einfachs Hotel am Rande des Stadtzentrums, aber sauber und Preiswert. Das Frühstück war akzeptabel, da das Hotelpub aber unter Reneorvation war, fand unser Frühstück im dunklen statt. Einziges manko ist die Gegend wo sich das Hotel befindet. Es ist gerade am Rande des Stadtzentrums, wo sich die Bettler und Obdachlosen Szene aufhält.

Gruss Mo

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_060810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Like others our room on the 5th floor was extremely small, but had all the facilities really needed including toiletries. The staff were really helpful, and the lobby/lounge large and quiet - a refuge from the streets outside. When walking to the hotel you are best to walk along through Chinatown and turn left across the one block to the hotel. This avoids most of the vagrants, derelicts and homeless. The doorway and street scenes were the worst we have experienced anywhere in the world, and we are surprised Vancouver tolerates the situation.
Free internet was available in our 5th floor room.
The hotel is obviously quite old, and is decorated to emphasise it's heritage.
The price is very reasonable, and good value for anywhere in central Vancouver. The staff were helpful and on asked to call a cab early morning accompanied us onto the street and ensured we were getting into the correct vehicle safely.
Just a pitty about the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 90 in Vancouver
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,615 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#16 of 90 in Vancouver
1,801 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing