We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 stay”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I was spoilt for choice when trying to find somewhere to stay in Vancouver for 2 nights. Decided to book The Burrard, mainly for its cost and good ratings on here (trip advisor). I arrived at the hotel fairly early before check-in time but didn't have to wait long for my room. The receptionist who checked me in was efficient and friendly. Explained how to access the free wifi and told me i can take the elevator up to the floor. The room itself, was perfect for me. I was in a Queen + room, and had a good size desk and a relatively small bathroom (didn't bother me). All fixtures and fittings were modern and clean. I found it brilliant how the bike hire was free, as well as the use of the computer down in the lobby to print off boarding passes etc. The only 1 thing which i could fault was how my room overlooked Burrard Street and was quite noisy, although the comfortable bed made up for that and slept right through it all. The location is brilliant, short walk to restaurants/diners/cafes/fast food places. Its about a 15min walk to the closest sky train station (Yaletown- Roundhouse). If you are looking for a value for money, great facilities and funky place to stay. The Burrard is the place for you.

Room Tip: The back rooms (away from Burrard Street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

We think you're a 10 too! Thanks for your rad review.

Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Exceptional hotel. This will be our first choice hotel on a return visit to Vancouver. Low rise hotel with wonderful inner courtyard full of interesting plants. Not sure how many of the rooms overlook the courtyard but we had one and were completely satisfied. Room was in pristine condition with many extras including a large flat screen television and free wifi. Highly recommend this hotel and so central too. Unable to rate swimming pool or restaurant as we did not use but sure both would have same rating

Room Tip: ask for overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Exceptional review & thanks for taking the time to write to us. We think our space is pretty neat too, with a courtyard unlike anything else in Vancouver, and it is music to our ears to hear your kind words. While we appreciate the nod to our pool, we must admit we are short one pool. We also must admit our restaurant is more of a Cafe and currently closed for renovation, opening August 2012 with a fresh new vibe more fitting for this hotel. Check back soon and we look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed at the Newly Renovated The Burrard Hotel twice during tha past nine months and must admit my experience both times has been top notch.

The employees are very well groomed, crisp, sharp, friendly but very professional.

Rooms are nicely decorated, show well and very cozy, comfortable and very clean.

The location is also ideal for shopping, dining, entertainment, tourist attractions, hospital etc...

Well Done Burrard....I will be staying there again in Late July.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerutti1881cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I hate to say negative things about this quirky, inept hotel because I feel like I'm picking on a child, but I feel people should be warned. This is without a doubt the worst hotel room I've ever stayed in throughout the world. Between the claustrophobic rooms and lack of basic amenities, I found little to make my stay acceptable. Should you choose to stay at the Burrard, you'll feel as if you're in an old, tired hotel with pretty colors, but that's just because you are. The weather was rainy during my entire stay, so humidity was a constant 90-100%. That's no fault of The Burrard. What is their fault is the lack of any air conditioning whatsoever, so I had no way to dehumidify or cool my room to a comfortable level. They were quick to point out that they did indeed have a "cooling unit" in my room! I was equally quick to report that this cooling unit is not an air conditioner, but an evaporative cooler (aka swamp cooler). For those who aren't familiar, they work on the principal of cooling something through the evaporation of water and are largely considered a "poor man's" air conditioner. They do not work at all in high humidity, so it was of absolutely no use during my stay. Instead of relaxing in my room, I was treated to the most damp and dank nights I can remember. One last note: if you look at their website, notice how hard they hide the hotel itself and divert your eyes with unnecessary models. This should tell you something.

tl;dr Crap hotel with poor value and pretty colors. 2/10 -- Would not recommend.

Room Tip: No rooms have A/C, but they all enjoy plenty of 6:00AM traffic noise due to the poor windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmaster_general
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed at The Burrard at the beginning of June 12 for 4 nights. We were looking for something slightly different than the usual high rise corporate offering. We really liked The Burrard which is indeed something different. We loved the quirky retro features and our request for a room on the top floor at the back when booking via Expedia had been granted. The room was clean and comfortable. The location excellent and the price very reasonable. On site parking was a bonus, we would definitley stay again. Only slight criticisms would be the noise from the renovations going on onsite at the time and perhaps the provision of a few more coffee pods. However these issues weren't sufficient to spoil our stay and overall the stay was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I love the style of this hotel but the free stuff is the best part. No charge for wifi, bike rentals or Nespresso! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockey3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Answer...you get a crappy hotel with cool paint colors. But it's still pretty crappy...and that was our experience at the Burrard.

It was one of the worst rooms I've ever had at any hotel regardless of price or star rating. The room was really small, dark and extremely damp. There were little fruit flies in the room probably due to the humidity. The bathroom sink was so small that we resorted to brushing our teeth in the shower, and the only place to put any toiletries was a 3 inch wide shelf directly over the toilet. It was only big enough to put a bottle lotion, which fell into the toilet the first time we opened the toilet lid.

The courtyard looks lush and beautiful, but it's only an island over the parking garage. From our room on the second floor, the parking spaces were just a few feet from our only window. Echoes from the garage - and exhaust fumes - came right through the window. There was a portable Air Conditioning unit in our room, which helped to circulate the air and drown out the noises from the garage, but it took up a lot of valuable space in the cramped quarters.

Finally, we were 99% sure that a porn was being filmed in the room next to ours. That could be a selling point for some, and I have to admit that they were very quiet about their business...so we weren't really disturbed by it. The small room was packed with equipment and several people who took breaks in the hallway. No valid proof that it was a porn film, but we were pretty sure and this hotel seems like a good location for that level of entertainment.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the garage are a must, and the rooms facing out over Burrard street are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Ouch, your words sting!! Truth be told, we think our rooms are pretty darn nice. Big comfy beds, huge HD flatscreens, mini fridges and espresso machines in every room, free WIFI and calling anywhere in North America, prime downtown location…not too shabby, if you ask us. That said, we apologize for the experience you had. Seriously.

Rest assured, there hasn’t been an adult film shot at the Burrard since the late eighties (kidding). The film in question was actually shot by our good friend Carrie Wheeler (www.CarrieWheelerEntertainment.com) and the trailer can be seen at www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsFTszZvW8w. Given the unique retro vibe of our hotel, we’re often the scene of fashion shoots, art house films and the impromptu jam space of various bands touring through town.

Again, we’re sorry that our scene wasn’t your scene. We’re not everyone’s scene, but we are the scene for a certain scene that likes to make a scene. XO

Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,647 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £62 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing