We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on personality and value, short on luxury and frills”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Can't remember if we did Expedia or Hotwire to get our deal at The Burrard for a major convention this week, but I booked it based on online reviews and price. Never a disappointment..

Rate: $93/night + $20/night for parking

Cleanliness: top notch. Everything was spotless. And I mean NOTHING I could say. No little hairs on the bright white sheets. Bright, shiny all-white bathroom. New carpet. New, new, new. In an old building.

Location: Within walking distance of the Vancouver Convention Center. It took me 15 min each way, and it was a pleasant walk. Won't bother with a car if I have another convention to attend there.

Service: Some of them were nice, some were just normal. Nothing spesh and nothing to complain about.

One downer: The elevator was closed, so I had to carry everything up and down the stairs. FWIW, they were fixing the elevator when I checked out.

The hotel was booked to capacity, according to the website, and the parking garage was full on a regular basis, but I never noticed any other guests except in coming and going. Never heard a peep from anyone else.

Our room's bathroom vent/fan was a real throwback. It was just a crank-out window. You can hear everything going on in the alley behind the hotel, which isn't much. I saw two guys smoking pot out there when I climbed on the toilet to see what all the giggling was about one night. Well, I thought, one can't blame them for smoking their pot when a regular sized Johnny Walker will run you $56 in Canada!!!! And I thought Utah was horrible. I stand corrected.

The design is young and fresh. I know they are going for retro, but come on people. It was Ikea with some turquoise and yellow paint like my 1948 kitchen tile. You won't find any pink bathrooms in this building. One bit of an overdo were the tasteless "postcards" of the Burrard. Sorry. I'm not sending my grammy a postcard with a photo of a half nude barely legal. girl, lounging on a motel room bed with a zoolander looking skinny dude in the background trying to look like a Mad Men version of a Brazilian pimp.

Anyway. It's true, they give you a cute assortment of freebies with the Burrard logo. They even had chapstick! Even the bathroom towels had a Burrard tag, which I haven't seen since my aunt's Holiday Inn wedding reception back in the '80s. Yes, I'm that old.

So you can believe me when I tell you that aside from some of the frippery and that annoying parking charge, I'll forego those marbled wonders further down the street so I can stay at this charming, clean, refreshing little gem

Room Tip: There is a 7 Eleven next door if you have the midnight munchies. Love their self serve nachos when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bichonandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I had two nights here and couldn't have been happier. The design was very cool considering they've taken the old crusty motel feel circe 1960 Miami and made it Northwest crunchy, funny, and fun. As a photographer I could appreciate all their printed materials which look like something out of Vanity Fair.

The The rooms are rudimentary and the bathrooms are small. If you're looking for any kind of posh this isn't for you. The bed was amazingly comfortable though!

Location is pretty good in the very gay friendly and hip neighborhood of Davie Street. We easily walked to Yaletown for dinners and Gastown for beers. Never a feeling of danger and would love to stay here again.

Last note: make sure to pay attention to all the humor within the hotel . . . photo is proof.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A great place especially for someone who wants to stay near downtown amenities. The staff was great from the moment I stepped in the door. The rooms that face the inner courtyard are so quiet that I couldn't hear the street noise at night (morning not so much). The rooms are renovated with a sense of style and are very comfortable. The only issues I had was with the bathroom. The sink is so small that you basically get water all over the floor when you splash water on your face - kind of crazy but I found it more convenient to use the bathtub for that simple task. Also, the only place to put your toiletries aside from the top of the toilet tank is a tiny shelf. It's cool, it's hip, just not very functional. Other than that it's a great place to stay and relatively reasonable for Vancouver.

Room Tip: Go for a room that faces the inner court. The hotel is only 3 stories so the point of the place is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtblam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is an old fashioned Hotel that has made an effort to bring itself up to date. The room was comfortable and clean. They supply bikes for easy touring around town. Unfortunately if you end up with a room on Burrard street you may be disturbed by frequent ambulances arriving all night. to the emergency department opposite.

Room Tip: I think this would suit younger travellers on a budget. If you sleep lightly avoid rooms on Burrard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VetDermSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Burrard is located in the center of Vancouver, a few blocks from the Train and walking distance to all tourist attractions in the City. The hotel is small, small rooms but very clean. It's a bit noisy at nite as it's just across from a major hospital. The Front Desk Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundaisy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We booked on line and our stay delivered all that was promised - quirky and humourous in many of the details, decor & branding. A great room looking out on the old hospital, got the late sun and double glazed for the noise. Handy location to the bridges, Granville island, local sunset beach and sea wall. Nearby Davies street for ethnic dining and the excellent French bakery -Chopain. Bikes were very handy to follow the seawall and go to restaurants. They need to have more bikes and fine tune the maintenance though, and have gears for the hills. Nice too see a little Cafe being added. Cheers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatboxtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I needed a place to stay overnight due to my husband's rushed trip to emergency room at St Paul's hospital. While the nearby Century Plaza Hotel was booked out, The Burrard was recommended. They had a room, reasonably priced and available. The hotel has been thoroughly renovated on the inside resembling a lovely boutique property. Room was impeccably clean and well adorned. Bed was very comfortable with the bedding super clean ! Although the bathroom was small it was well appointed with necessary toiletries. Both the evening and the dayshift front desk staff pleasant and friendly. Oh, and nice perk - free wi-fi and loaner bikes. The rooms are accessed via a central elevator or stairwell and come out to a beautiful greenspace where you can have some morning coffee. Thanks again The Burrard for being the hospitality !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgurl154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,550 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,646 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £63 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing