We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and clean, great location!”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our dog and fell in love with this place. The location was great, close to lots of cool restaurants. There are Nespresso machines in the rooms - my husband's favorite part for sure. The rooms were very clean and the staff was really friendly. There's a quirky courtyard in the middle of the hotel where we spent some time with friends, which was really cool and different. The only complaint is the parking - if you can get away with not driving at all and just using the free bikes they have for guests, do it - the parking lot is tiny and awkward.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jssplsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Burrard for the first two nights of our first anniversary trip. We'll soon return for our last night as well, and I am so glad. The Burrard is well located and nicely appointed for a renovated 50s hotel done up in mod style. The free bikes for hotel guests are an excellent perk, and we thoroughly enjoyed the nice beds, good TV, and fancy bath products in the room. The hotel is an ideal jumping off point for exploring the city. And, I would readily recommend it. I have but two tips for travelers. What the other reviewers say about the thin walls is true. I find that I can hear my neighbors in many hotels, but be prepared for this. Secondly, the hotel staff didn't have many local recommendations that I couldn't find easily on my own. So, do your research and don't rely on the front desk for the inside scoop. Burrard staff, if there were anything more that you could do for visitors, I think this would be it. Building an A List of truly local recommendations that would appeal to clients who want to explore "the authentic Vancouver" would only augment your image and please your hip visitors more than you already do.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor facing the courtyard. This worked well for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We thought this hotel was not only stylish and unique but clean and quiet as well! The location makes the whole city very accessible if you get a chance to take out the complimentary bikes they have to offer. Helpful about the bikes: they get rented early! I'm talking before 8AM so be sure to get up early enough to reserve your bikes as there are only 10 or 12 for the taking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

All round a great little hotel, location is excellent, well within walking distance to most big attractions including Stanley park, gas town, Granville island and the main city centre. The room was very clean, good hot showers, and a really comfy bed! The extras make it even better; iPod docking station, coffee machine, bottled water and wireless Internet which was really fast. The coffee shop downstairs is small but offers a good choice of drinks and some food, there's also a shop next to the hotel where you can get a wider selection of food and drink. The hip, retro feel of the hotel is very cool, when your in the courtyard you almost forget your in a city centre! Highly recommended, can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triffitt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice during our holiday a total of three nights. The first two nights in a queen size room, the second time in a king both rooms were great.
The location is great within walking distance from the Canada line and close to lots of good places to eat. Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff were great.
Only slight let down was the temperature in the room on the second visit - it was too warm and even with the window open there wasn't much breeze. We would stay here again if we were in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1FlyingKiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I was very impressed The Burrard Hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and were accommodating when I required an extra bed (the brought up a cot right away). The room was small but the atmosphere and location more than make up for it! Everything was very clean and there is a wonderful courtyard where we sat in the sun fighting our hangover in the morning. I will definitely stay here again the next time I come to Vancouver!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanneAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

These rooms and bathroom were the smallest we have ever stayed in. We had a lot of luggage so it was difficult. It was only two nights so we coped but we would not recommend longer. Apart from that it was clean, quiet and staff were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,620 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,817 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £67 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing