We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in Vancouver, great service!”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Vancouver, great service!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This former motor inn has been given a funky, witty remodel - making it a hip place to stay in downtown Vancouver. Close to bars, shopping and tourist sites - as well as the bus up to Whistler! Front desk team were also extremely helpful with great suggestions for getting places and things to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to be away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    663
    166
    55
    34
See reviews for
236
681
245
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Burrard at the end of January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The service was great -- we came in on a rainy afternoon (I think all afternoons in January are rainy there) and once we got our bags settled, we were ready to hit the street but had no umbrellas. Fortunately, the Burrard had a bucketful of them just waiting to be used! YAY!

Our room was very clean and comfortable; it was small, but didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was spotless. My only complaint about the bathroom -- there wasn't any good place to keep your toothbrush and other necessaries. My favorite feature of the room -- the ionizer! Not only did it do it's ionizing thing, it also created white noise that very effectively drowned out the street noise (our room was right on the street), making for a great night's sleep. And speaking of sleep... the bed was a comfortable queen, but the highlight of our sleep time was the really great blankets! They looked like army blankets and were twin sized, but they were soft and lightweight and cotton. Awesome!! We wanted to take them home.

The Burrard's location is good -- easy walking to most downtown attractions, dining and shopping. Free wifi in the room is a BIG plus! I didn't take advantage of the free in-room espresso, but my husband did and was very pleased. They also provide bottled water and encourage guests to refill from the water cooler in the lobby. The weather was wet the whole time we were there so we didn't take advantage of their free bikes or get to enjoy the interior garden/patio area, but I imagine that these amenities are wonderful in the summer.

Some reviewers have complained about the Burrard's mid-century aesthetic, but we found the decor to be modern without being cold and without the kitsch factor. I'd say they did a great job on their recent renovation, creating an attractive and fun atmosphere without going overboard.

I'd definitely recommend the Burrard to anyone looking for an affordable and convenient hotel in downtown Vancouver. Thanks, Burrard, for a great stay!! If we get back to Vancouver, I expect we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have to say that The Burrard is a breath of fresh air. Although I don't travel for business I can appreciate that this would be perfect for short term stays whether business or pleasure. The rooms are spotless. As most people now travel with a laptop and or a smartphone you are well supported with free WiFi, cordless phone with free calling in North America, Shaw cable connected to 42" TV. Add a room safe that is plenty large for anything you might need to put in it.Oh I can't forget the Nespresso machine! Brilliant! How about a small fridge with paper cups,lids and sleeves, real cream, sugar, stir sticks, bottled water. I saw an ironing board and iron. Bathroom had a hair dryer and all the amenities needed. The inner courtyard was very calming and we need these things in todays world. But all this is nothing if you don't have the human touch to pull it altogether. This is where they shine. Service! I was on a stressful trip with my elderly mother for a visit to St. Pauls. Their highly personal service eased my mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This small hotel gives you everything you need. Staff are friendly and efficient, good parking, very reasonable rates and clean, comfortable rooms. There is a small coffee shop attached to the hotel, and since it is in downtown Vancouver there is no end to dining or night life within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happypeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I decided to come here given the great reviews and the price, as I was planning to save the best for my week in Whistler.

The hotel was as I expected, but in many positive ways surprising. My room looked just like the pictures, and was quite decent sized (Queen +). Spotless clean and very comfortable bed. And a more attentive look into the furniture and bathroom fixtures showed that they invested in real good quality products, which is much more than I can say of hip "minimalist" hotels. I especially liked the bathroom, which was small, but quite functional (at last a real towel rack), had a strong and quickly warm shower, and really good bathroom products. Did I mention the Nespresso coffee maker and 2 bottles of water that you can refill? and a very convenient Blenz Coffee downstairs?

Location can't be better: walking distance to the little boat that takes you to Granville Island, walkable to anywhere downtown, ample public transport nearby and next door to the Whistler Bus stop.

One thing I really liked is that it's up to you to turn on and choose the temperature of both the a/c and heater. In the cold Vancouver nights, I had everything off and slept greatly with just the comforter. And since sleep quality has to be the main feature of a hotel, here is their weak spot. Though I slept well, and I was there on a weekend, it was clear that they have a soundproofing issue. My room was sort of in the corner of the 2 main streets (Burrard and Helmcken), and you could hear all traffic noise and people well into the wee hours. I would usually recommend the other sides of the courtyard, but I noticed that there is a construction site exactly beside the hotel.

If your idea of a good hotel must include bell boys, cooked breakfasts and bathrobes, than there are quite a few other good options in Vancouver. If you are looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the city, with a very comfortable room and great value for money, than you've found your spot. I would certainly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I booked a queen room for myself while attending a conference. I paid about $90 which is excellent price for downtown. I looked out onto palm trees! How cool is that?? The bathrooms were spotless and even had chap stick! The bed was super comfy and there was a cool looking coffee machine (didn't use as I don't drink coffee but the water was great). The room was nice and quiet and I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2elvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing