We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Vancouver”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a motel which has an excellent location, adjacent to the. Sheraton Wall Centre and St Paul's Hospital. Very, very clean and quiet, affordable and comfortable! Just 1 night's stay, but terrific location, secured gated parking, free bottled water and fresh cream in the mini fridge for the free coffee! Large TV, very satisfied for the short duration stay.

Room Tip: Find the coupon online for the free parking, value @$20 for the free parking to be included in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redvelvet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a great time! Our second stay at the Burrard, just PERFECT for the downtown experience! What great staff, so California chic!!! Easy access to all of downtown, AMAZING beds, I want to take it home, adorable decor, clean and comfortable! Nothing beats the coffee snack shop below! Why take a taxi or a limo when you can turn your weekend into a mini vacation! Stay at the Burrard, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here on 13 to 15 October 2013 as part of a round-the-world trip.

It was the design - the 'layout' - of The Burrard that I liked best. All the rooms open out onto an old-fashioned, unroofed, 'coaching-house', atrium which is planted with a mature tropical garden. It's lovely - especially in the heart of a busy, metropolitan city like Vancouver.

The rooms are a good size, with all the facilities you'd expect, and the hotel seems to have been refurbished recently so that it's bright, colourful and airy. It even has a sense of humour - be sure to look at the floor-indicators outside the lifts!

It's in an excellent location, too. A 15-minute walk down breezy Burrard Street brings you right to the harbour, Canada Place and the ferries to North Vanvouver. 15 minutes along Davie Street takes you through the 'bohemian', cafe-and-restaurant, gay area of the city to beautiful English Bay. Or you could walk south to the tiny aquabus and Granville Island.

(Or you could take a number 6 bus Downtown or to English Bay - they run regularly and frequently.)

This was my first visit to Vancouver. It's a beautiful city and The Burrard is a terrific place to stay - for value, location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

First off: Anybody who complains about the elevator or parking garage being too small is an idiot! Those are transitory spaces!!! Who cares? Seriously people.

Loved this place. Read the reviews, location looked good, booked it. Turned out to be the best part of my rainy trip! Yes it's clearly a remodeled old motel, but it certainly feels like a swank, comfy, chic hotel. Rooms are small but comfortable, well appointed, super comfy bedding, and shiny clean. The staff was great and guided me around the city all weekend, umbrellas and bikes are free for guests. And the location is perfect, in walking distance to everything.

Definitely will be booking this place when I return in the spring!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We seriously love you. Thanks for taking the time to write to us and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our many FREE amenities.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We decided to go to Vancouver from the Seattle area for Thanksgiving weekend. After much on line searching, we liked the looks of the Burrard.. first, they have a great website... but then... who knows for sure till you get there, right?? Well, it was EVERYTHING we hoped for. Clean delightful. great staff and right on the bus line so we could get everywhere in the city! It was the center of what was a great weekend for us!

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the back so we weren't right across the street from St Pauls hospital.. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySEverett_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great big and not too firm bed; excellent coffee machine that produced instant whipped brew; free bicycle with helmet and lock to cruise the city in style; massive open courtyard with a tropical jungle at its centre; huge flatscreen hung on the wall to free up desk space; hassle-free wireless internet; friendly, accommodating staff dedicated to making my stay memorable; funky cafe (Betty's) with a tasty menu. What else do you need?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBrian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We only need you! Thanks for your review and we can't wait to have you back.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel more than a week, the location is awesome, the property is clean, but there is no laundry, no gym and no restaurant, I have been booked by my company. It is not a nice fit for long stayers.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kiko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £65 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing