We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro relaxation”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retro relaxation”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome!! Sooooo clean, and the best little touches throughout the hotel. Yummy espresso in the rooms, magical pillows, and quiet rooms despite being across the street from a hospital. The staff even helped us jump start our car at the peak of check out time. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    698
    171
    57
    34
See reviews for
249
709
254
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is very new, rooms are large, and the rates are reasonable for Vancouver. Location is good downtown, but try to get a room away from the street as car noise can keep you up. Also, St. Paul's Hospital is across the street, so it can get noisy if the ambulances are busy. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Burrard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. James at front desk super helpful with directions, laundromat, food ideas, bike paths. Room was good considering about $75/nt. Wifi fast/strong/free. Best surprise was free bike hire and wonderful bike path around Stanley park. Have stayed at 2 other more premium hotels in Van previously but the burrard beats them both easily. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djshaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Location is great, regardless of your reason for visiting. I've stayed here many times. I think it's fun, funky, and a reasonable price. The parking price is also fair compared with other Vancouver prices. I can't say enough good things about this, but I always like to make sure I also let people know things they might not appreciate. The AC is an in-unit cooler that doesn't work amazing. It's also a mote-style setup, so some room's window face the corridors. That's not the case in all rooms. Again, this is by far the best "affordable" hotel I've stayed at in Vancouver. Comfy beds and very nice (small) bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kausala, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for a week, was travelling as couple, stayed for a week. Just an awesome location and comfortable bed for a budget cost.

The style of the hotel is pure coolness. Not tacky but stylish. Awesome retro feeling!
The rooms were really clean and bed's comfortable.The rooms are not really big, but hey - for the cost - they are perfect! Free water bottles and espresso are a treat! Allso the bike rental is a nice thing to have.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. Got a lot of info from em about the surroundings, restaurants etc.

Enjoyed our stay alot and will surely book again when going back to Vancouver.

Regards from Finland!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Finally! A cool hotel without tacky floral bedding! As a designer, this place is totally my style. My son and I stayed in late November 2013 for two nights, and we loved our room, the courtyard, and the Nespresso espressos. The weather was a balmy 8 degrees (when coming from an Alberta deepfreeze!), and we enjoyed walking around beautiful Vancouver! Staff were friendly and our room was clean. Lovely to stay in a stylish place for a change!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the look of this hotel which is why we booked it! It's very retro and cool. We arrived 4 hours before check in time and got into our room straight away which was great! All correspondence with the hotel was fast and informative! The front desk staff were friendly! Free bottles of water and free espresso in the room was a nice treat ! Bike hire is free too but we only stayed for one night before flying out the following day so we couldn't really use this! Will stay here again before we fly back home :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,168 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
694 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
3,754 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing