We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located and good hotel”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is close (walking) to all major places, free bikes to use and friendly staff. Great restaurants nearby: Banana Leaf and Stepho's.
Ou room was on the 3rd floor, a bit small, but well equipped. However: very hot! Windows open and ac/fan (very loud) on full speed didn't help. When mentioning to the staff, we were told that they were testing new equipment. It will be better, I hope!

All in all: good stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you look at the homepage of the Burrad, you would think that the hotel might be something stylish and special. But once you get there, you will find out that the best thing about this place is their marketing. The hotel is nothing special, the photos and people online look much cooler as the place in reality is. I was very excited about their free bikes, but at the end it turned out that they only have very few bikes (like 6 or 7) for all the guests, so we were not able to get the bikes as we wanted (very strict first come first serve strategy). Even at 7:30am other guests got all of them and since there is no reservation options, we had to change our whole plan for the day... Overall, I just felt very disappointed. But maybe my expactations were just to high looking at Burrard's homepage. Also the Downtown area is not very exciting compared to other places in town. It's more of a familiy and tourist destination...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suseldrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write to us. We are sad to hear that you didn't find our space special and that you did not get a bike. We do have 12 and they are very popular. We would love to see that frown turned upside down and hope you come back to let us show you a great time.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great hotel- good location-easy walk to the city centre, clean, comfortable room with complimentary water bottles and a cooler to refill them downstairs. The staff were a real positive for this hotel- friendly and helpful. We borrowed the bikes for a great ride around the waterfront and through the park, the city is well set up for cyclists. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Burrard :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your awesome review and we are pretty fond of you too. Can't wait to see you again.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I loved the decor in this hotel, that and the location, were why I decided to book two rooms there for our stay in Vancouver. The front desk was very helpful and the room and bathroom were clean. I will echo other reviewers that our room was fairly hot, even with the windows cracked and the portable fan/ac running. We could definitely hear street noise, but that is to be expected when you are staying in a large city with the windows open. The courtyard was very nice and the parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staff was very good, desk and housekeeping. Room was clean but it was hot even with two fans going, air conditioning would be highly recommended. Travelled with 2 young children location was great, felt safe with them walking to cafes. We were able to get in and out of the small parking area very well. Not knowing Vancouver location is great to take in Stanley Park, Gastown, Grainville Island and Kisipini Beach and the harbor.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the Burrard for 3 nights in July. First, the good items. The location is excellent. It is close to the downtown areas and local transportation. The front desk staff were friendly. Now for the not-so-good items: The weather was very hot with no air conditioning. There was a portable swamp cooler, but we had to keep running from the bathroom to the cooler with cups of water to refill. It took a bit of time every day. Also, swamp coolers don't work very well when it is humid. So, even though it was on and operational, it didn't do much good.

Because it was so hot, we slept with the windows open to try to get a breeze. Instead, we got the sirens all night since the motel is across from the hospital. I didn't sleep well any night that we were there.

Housekeeping was spotty. We would leave early in the morning, leave the notice that we were gone and arrive back late in the afternoon and still not have the room made. There was a nice coffee pot/espresso, but very little coffee, no creamer, no sweetener other than sugar.

Overall, if you can visit Vancouver when the weather isn't hot, this could be a fun hotel. Otherwise, find something with air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write to us and we are glad you found some goodness in spite of a few issues. We are sorry to report we do not have air conditioning. It is just not something this old building can configure. We are upgrading to Dyson fans throughout which are much better. We will also try reaching out to good ol' Mother Nature herself to ask that Vancouver stay cooler in the summer, but in the mean time, we will speak to our Housekeeping Department to ensure every guest gets new coffee, sugar and creamer each day. That is a must and we apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location & good amenities. The service team was nice & helpful. All the nice downtown spots were close & within walking distance. The courtyard feel was extremely nice too.

The room sizes were a bit small for a family & we did not get a great night sleep the first day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saurabh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £66 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing