We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tip”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Top Tip”
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I can highly recommend the hotel. The location is excellent - walking distance from shopping and going-out area.

Rooms are not as small as I expected from previous reviews, I found the room perfectly fine and stayed in smaller rooms in boutique hotels - but they are probably smaller by North American standards.

With modern furniture, great colors, flat screen etc the place has a stylish feel and (despite being not very expensive) does not have a boutique-hotel-on the-cheap feel.

Only negative I found was that there is no air conditioning and the heating is controlled for the whole floor. When we arrived the room was somewhat cold, but then they put the heating up and it was no problem. Windows can be opened which is a plus.

Regarding noise - we had a room to the back and it was okay. However, windows are not double-glazed and I imagine rooms to the main road can be noisy.

All in all I think the place is a real find, given the price it is a top tip.

  • Liked — room design
  • Disliked — central heatinbg
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    377
    214
    62
    51
See reviews for
81
426
88
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2007

though our room was a bit small we were pleased with the cleanliness, simply modern design, and fair price. location was excellent. from the hotel you can easily walk to the bars/nightlife in yaletown and shopping on royson. would not want to spend more than a couple of nights since our space was tight, but for a quick weekend trip for a young couple that spends most of their stay out and about, la moda is a good deal. (request a room facing seymour or smithe streets to avoid a dumpster/alley view.)

  • Liked — modern decoration
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thankfuladvisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnaby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

It was a nice hotel. Rooms are nice and clean

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Probably one of my overall favorite boutique hotels to stay in! The hotel is clean. The staff is incredibly nice, helpful, friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating! The location is perfect for downtown Vancouver -- within walking distance of several theatres and a block away from the bars, restaurants, Robson, shopping and clubs of Granville Avenue. The hotel is within several city blocks of most of the major downtown attractions, including Yaletown, Gastown, the arena and Chinatown. The bus service in downtown is a bit pricey, but runs everywhere and often. Moda Hotel doesn't have WiFi, but has great free high speed internet by ethernet.

The hotel has been recently renovated and I love the new decor! The rooms are stark, modern and clean. Some might find them a little small, but this is an old building. The beds were firm and very comfortable. Even the pillows were better than average.

Previous comments have mentioned the noise from the pub that used to be downstairs. For our stay in Oct 2007, the pub had been closed for a while and club noise wasn't an issue. Unfortunately, there is A LOT of construction in Downtown Vancouver, which is fairly loud starting around 8:00 am (except Sundays) or so. Not a problem for us as it made an excellent alarm clock.... I suspect this is a problem all over downtown.

The price was among the lower of the hotels we looked at, but this hotel was by far the best value within any price range. I'll be recommending this hotel to my friends and it will definitely be our first hotel of choice when we return to Vancouver.

Can you tell that we liked this place?

  • Liked — The staff, the location, the price!
  • Disliked — Construction noise in downtown Vancouver
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank myreallastname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

The Moda is in a convenient location for a visit to Vancouver. We parked the rental car on arrival and walked or took public transportation throughout our trip. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in all dealings. We had a party of three and were accommodated in two adjoining rooms - one with a full bath and one with a half bath. That was an ideal arrangement. The rooms are very comfortable, but are small. We heard some street noise, but no more or less than one would hear in most larger cities.

We will stay at the Moda again when we return to Vancouver.

  • Liked — location and room decor
  • Disliked — small and slow elevator
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phonebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Moda Hotels is nicely renovated. I was worried that it might not be baed on older reviews, but the hotel room is great and the location is excellent. You can walk from the hotel to anywhere; Chinatown, Granville Island, Gastown etc. The staff was quite unfriendly when we wanted to check in at 12 pm instead of the announced time of 3 pm. We could however leave our luggage at hotel, although we had to ask for this as it was not offered to us. When checking out after several days we wanted to leave our luggage as well before moving on, we had to hear numerous complaints about how everyone wanted to do that and how inconvenient it was for them! Overall for the price the hotel was a good deal though. I would recommend checking the website numerous times as the price went down after I had already made a reservation. I then cancelled my initial reservation and made a new one at the better price.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzzy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Moda Hotel is very well located in the center of Vancouver, within walking distance from everything in downtown.
The hotel was recently updated inside and outside, nice building.
Rooms are very stilish (painted wall, design furniture, new and well equipped bathroom). Cleanliness ok.

Staff helpful and easy check-in. The hoted does not have a restaurant and does not provide breakfast but there are some nice places around to eat and drink. Parking a bit expensive.

The only problem is that the majority of the rooms are on a busy street so expect noise all day and night long or ask for a room in the inside part of the building.

  • Liked — Location, interior decor, price
  • Disliked — Noise from the street
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
835 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,704 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing