We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I found a good deal through bing.com/travel, ended up booking through Expedia. I knew I would pay around 20 a night for parking, so wasn't surprised by that additional cost. However, I did not expect to be charged an additional 20 for our third guest. This made it not much of a deal in comparison to other hotels in the area.

The room was small but clean. The staff was also nice and helpful. They did seem very worried about our car being broken into, though nothing ended up happening.

The location is great though. So if that's all your looking for then by all means go for it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Perfect location, very central to experience the delights of Vancouver. The hotel actually upgraded us to a suite which was huge. It was directly above the sports bar below but didn't cause any interruption of sleep. Nice staff but the breakfast waitress was so interested in talking to us that we almost didn't get our breakfast in time to leave for the airport! The hotel is lovely and retains some character that is nice when there are so many high rises in the rest of Vancouver they also have a liquor store, sports bar, wine bar and restaurant all attached so you don;t have to go far to get a feed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soozsuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you want to experience downtown Vancouver, this hotel is at a perfect location for it. It is a block away from Granville Street, tons of food around, shops, and the mall is a few blocks away. The hotel is clean, the rooms are small. If you leave the window open, it does get loud with all the downtown nightlife noise. But overall, clean hotel, which they have a mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Moda hotel was a little tired looking. Had a lot of trouble with the air conditioning which they did try to fix but we still couldn't get it below 23deg. We were able to walk to and from the underground which was good. There was no noise heard from our room. The staff at the Hotel were lovely and were quick to offer their assistance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great location in downtown Vancouver, close to buzzing Granville Street, Vancouver Art Gallery and a short walk to the waterfront. The hotel has a long history, and the standard room we stayed in on the fourth floor could do with some updates - decor looked a bit drab. Rooms were a bit noisy with the windows open. However, staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is reasonably priced for its location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had had lunch here on a previous trip and it was very good. The location is great and it's an easy walk to just about anywhere, easy to get to on the skytrain from the airport. On a recent trip, I stayed one night on business and wouldn't stay for business again. The wireless internet was up and down, and the room was just OK - a little too red for my liking. I would stay for a personal trip, when I wasn't planning to spend much time in the room but it wasn't the best for spending time in the room between meetings trying to work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booking through expedia I got a terrific deal on a deluxe room on the 3rd floor, where I spent four nights. Having not heard of this place before, I would now book again without hesitation. It's centrally located in downtown Van, a couple of blocks from both SkyTrain lines and an easy walk to all downtown neighbourhoods & attractions. There's a full grocer down the block & lots of restaurants close-by. They've got a PC for guest use which is nice for folks like me who travel without a stack of devices. There are two or three restaurants on the main floor, none of which I tried, but each looked pretty good.

Tastefully decorated, most everything was in good shape. I was a bit surprised to see the disconnected window A/C taking up space in the corner, but this was no big deal (and frankly I'm not sure where else they'd store 80-odd units throughout the winter months). The mattress was pleasantly firm, and the bathroom was super-clean and more spacious than I envisioned. While both Seymour & Smithe streets are pretty busy with vehicular traffic, I had no problems sleeping. There are two single-pane windows -so it's not whisper quiet- but I was never bothered with noise from the street.

I'll be staying again the next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
875 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#56 of 92 in Vancouver
420 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £64 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing