We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh.”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

When we booked this hotel on another site, we read reviews about how great the place was. Well, we get there and they hand us a key for a shoebox of a room. The shower had mold coming out of the ceiling fixture. Well, they gave us a new room no problem, which wasn't too much better.
The parking garage wasn't even in the same building. Had to park down the street in their designated garage then pack all our gear across the street because they didn't even have a loading zone.
Also, there is no room service. Not too big a deal to us, just FYI. Also, no pool, spa, hot tub, jacuzzi. Even a HoJo has a pool...
Not going back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    365
    211
    62
    49
See reviews for
76
414
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked the Moda Hotel based on the excellent price and central location. There are some fabulous looking rooms however, I believe only some of the rooms have been updated whereas the rest are rather dumpy so if this is important to you, check with the hotel! Also, make sure you review the traveler's photos so that you are prepared for what you could get. The hotel is older which means it is definitely not sound proof (bring ear plugs!), it also means there is a bit of wear and tear in some of the rooms that have not been updated (not docking points here). You can control the temperature in your room however, the furnace/fan is very loud so try to adjust the temperature when you are out of the room. The staff were accommodating and our room was clean. Not sure I would stay here again unless I was staying in an updated room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at Moda Hotel over (American) Thanks Giving holiday, 2013. This hotel is located in a great area, walking distance to everything(!), even took tram from airport (stop just a couple of blocks away). I felt safe in the hotel area and and walking through out the city. The room was great, modern, clean and more than enough space for one person. Stuff was friendly and super helpful. To top it all off a got a great price! I don't think I could have done any better, even if I paid more!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 308 in the back corner. Could hear street noise but it wasn't too loud at all. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night (Sunday night) at the Moda and paid about $65 for the night including parking and tax. For the price it was great! We were in a junior room which is small, but it gets the job done for a quick stay in the city. Great location within walking distance to Robson, Granville, the stadium/casino, etc. I would definitely stay again if traveling on a budget.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I needed a place to stay for a conference in downtown Vancouver and found a great deal online. It's an older hotel, but it's had renovations, and although the rooms aren't big or fancy, if you're looking for a clean room at a great price I don't think you'll find a better deal. There's both a sports bar, as well as a wine bar right at the hotel, and everywhere in downtown Vancouver is within walking distance, with the skytrain station is just a couple of blocks away. Vancouver can be an expensive city for hotels ...an excellent value for your money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Can't get much better than the $84 rate (+tax) we got for a room right downtown Vancouver with a king bed.
Housekeeping wasn't stellar: dust on hand towel racks, which is odd considering it's a highly visible spot, but no hand towels, plus the usual no vacuuming by the bedside nighttables. One of the nighttables was crooked, which would've taken nothing to straighten and given the room a much less budget feel. Quilt was a bit threadbare, but there were extra blankets (newer) if we needed them. Room service brought us hand towels right away when we called down to say our room didn't have any.
Other budget hotel mainstays included the radio missing any indicator to figure out what station you tuned the radio to.
Being an older hotel, the rooms were certainly not sound-proof, but most folks don't go to Vancouver for resting up! We heard doors slam, but no loud partiers.
Great pillows. In-room safe. Nice huge, homemade cupboard. Heating system that was easy to understand and heated the room immediately. Impressive for the price.

Room Tip: TIP: Another reviewer suggested getting a room on the back of the hotel for a quieter stay. I will a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank River-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My boss had booked a deal with this hotel along with flight and upon looking at the website, he thought it would be a great comfortable stay for me to be refreshed for work the next day. We were terrible mislead.

The downstairs lunch and dinner restaurants were above average and gave the impression that the hotel would be of decent quality. The lobby had a boutique New York charm.

However, once I got to my room, it was FREEZING with all the windows opened. It took over two hours with blasted heat for the room to warm up. Only half of the electric outlets and lights worked/turned on. Very inconvenient for my work situation.

The bedding seemed old, dirty and uncomfortable and everything was basically peeling or chipping. This hotel doesn't pay attention at all to details to make guests more comfortable. One of the most uncomfortable hotel stays I have ever had. The TV was also terrible quality, almost no point in even having one in the room. More suitable for students looking for a cheap stay downtown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SH_5x5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing