We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Perth Western Australia
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

There really was nothing good about this hotel, and I'm not generally one to write reviews or negative reviews for that matter. The hotel staff were rude and unaccommodating, the lobby was tiny, walls were PAPER THIN, very noisy, The beds were super uncomfortable, rooms tiny....was just a terrible stay. We had been travelling throughout Canada and the US, and this was the ONLY BAD hotel we stayed at. There are MUCH nicer places for LESS! Do not stay here if you are expecting a lot. You wont even get a good nights sleep, you can hear the TV through the room next door.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyliae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not memorable. Regretfully, we were not aware of your discomfort during your occupancy with us otherwise we would have done everything to make your stay more memorable for you. We do get very positive feedback especially for our friendly service as we try our best to service our guests and make sure they are comfortable. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    373
    213
    62
    50
See reviews for
78
422
87
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I've stayed at the Moda hotel for a few nights in April on a business, and I can say it was great stay for the value. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds. I liked how they decorated rooms and the lobby. Front desk staff - very helpful and professional. Considering that hotel does not have it's own parking, but they offer the discounted rate at the parking across the street, was also a good deal. I was satisified to learn that the internet access was free. All in all, I had a great stay, and I would stay at the Moda again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I am usually not one to write negative reviews, but I felt I could not with good conscious let fellow travelers stay here without being warned. The parking garage for this hotel is across the street, in a building currently under construction. Upon arrival, the front desk told us to empty our car of all valuables, good advice for anyone. It seems they were aware there had been a rash of break ins, but were not doing anything about it except to give a general warning and disclaimer they would not be liable. That night three cars belonging to hotel guests were broken into. Apparently the building security guard didn't hear any of the three alarms go off, or was too lazy to do anything about it. None of the hotel staff seemed surprised, and one told me that this happens quite frequently. And trust me, it is not easy to get a window replaced through an American insurance company while your in Canada.
As to the hotel itself, it was very forgettable. The rooms are pretty small, the beds not very comfortable, and generally disappointing. I thought this would be a nice alternative to a chain hotel, as the pictures and descriptions made it look like a stylish, modern boutique hotel. Instead it was slightly dingy, pretty uncomfortable, and very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
We first like to thank you for choosing Moda Hotel Vancouver for your stay. It is unfortunate that you had this unpleasant incident during your stay with us. Parkade we use for our guests is across the street from us and we inform every guests to take precaution such as not to leave any valuables in their cars. Although we have security patrolling the parkade, these unfortunate incidents do happen as in any other big city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for seeing all of Vancouver - we only used public transportation to get to and from the airport (which was quite easy). We faced the street and found it a bit noisy at bar time, which was really the only drawback of the hotel. The room was very clean, bright, modern, and comfortable. We would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laut0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Thank you for choosing Moda Hotel during your stay in Vancouver. We are very happy that your stay with us was comfortable and you enjoyed our modern rooms, great wine bar and our great location, and most importantly our friendly and professional service. We hope to welcome you back to Moda Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

The hotel is in a great spot, close and convenient to much Vancouver has to offer while being just sufficiently removed from the worst excesses of Granville Street. It is particularly handy for the Orpheum Theatre, airport connexions by the Skytrain are nearby and public transport is almost to the door. The in-house restaurants are fabulous and Uva really knows how to brew good coffee (which is sadly lacking in North America) as well as serving knock-out "arancini'.

The aircon worked effectively although we didn't need it much in October, but if you intend to book at Moda, try to avoid room 421 which has what must be the most sloping floor ever in a hotel. When I mentioned this to the staff, they looked blank and claimed it had never been reported before. I can only assume they have always allocated the room to people with one leg five centimetres longer than the other

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S. West Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

The front desk staff were outstanding, genuinely helpful and warm -- a happy medium between the forced friendliness you get at some chain hotels and the uncomfortable intimacy of some B&Bs.

It was our first time in Vancouver, and our impression of the entertainment district downtown was a little gritty. Not dangerous or unpleasant, just gritty. The Moda and its adjoining restaurant, wine bar, espresso bar (delicious breakfast!), sports bar and wine shop are a classy contrast.

That said, the hotel is not shiny and perfect. It's an old building that has been beautifully renovated but still suffers from persnickety heating, electrical and plumbing issues, as evidenced by the many workmen with whom we shared elevator rides and the apologetic explanation, on check-in, of how to work around the (minor) heat and lighting quirks of our room. The Moda is more of a grande dame than a Botox bombshell, and I like that.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peripatetic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed at the Moda as I was in Vancouver to see the hockey. The location was fantastic, close to shops restaurants and night clubs. A new bar called the Red Card just opened downstairs, it was great! The staff were a lot of fun!
The rooms were lovely, very clean, not large, but enough space for a 2 night stay.
The only slightly disappointing thing was the noise at night. Our room was directly above the bar, you couldn’t hear people on the street, or even talking from the bar, just the constant background music. It seemed a little strange to me that the hotels own bar had the music up so loud the guests upstairs could hear it. I was in the bar for some time and I didn’t think the atmosphere would have been any different if the music was a little lower, but as a guest of the hotel I would have definitely appreciated it.
That being said I used the ear plugs provided and had a great night sleep anyway, both nights.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeringoWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
819 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,679 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing