We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly 4 Stars-- Good stay, just not quite at top level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nearly 4 Stars-- Good stay, just not quite at top level”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was a tough one for me-- the way I review is based on the hotel class. So a cheap roadside motel could hypothetically get a better review than a "5*" luxury resort, if one did what it was supposed to do perfectly, and the other failed.

The Hyatt Regency doesn't seem to know which class it falls into. Like all Hyatt properties I've experienced, it was a good stay, perfectly clean room with wonderful customer service.

But it prices and positions itself as a luxury property, and it doesn't quite meet those standards. So my review probably would be that it gets a 4 if you can find a great rate, but it's probably realistically an average 'luxury' property.

What were my complaints? Pretty shallow things, but if I'm paying this much, I expect better. The rooms are very noisy/walls are very thin-- we heard noise from rooms above and next door. There are huge gaps under the front door, so any noise in the corridor comes through clearly. The shower is rubbish-- no water pressure, and it's from directly above which always gets soap in my eyes. You have to phone to request clean sheets and towels (rather than put the card on the bed as in most places). Bath products are the Portico line, same as in their low-end properties, which I hate because they are super drying to the skin.

Again, these are all really shallow. We enjoyed our stay, and liked the location. But I don't know if I would come back, especially at the same price. (not to mention the extortionate parking prices!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    1,219
    264
    80
    33
See reviews for
717
1,051
205
1,062
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My family recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver for a night prior to flying to London. We very much enjoyed our stay, despite the poor weather. Quality was very consistent for what you would expect from a HR. we had 2 rooms and much appreciated the adjoining rooms. The restaurant in the hotel was very nice and the wait staff was excellent. We got a great recommendation for a nearby restaurant (Italian Kitchen) that was excellent. Of course, it is always nice to have a Starbucks in the hotel and the local convenience of Tim Horton's adjacent. We are hoping to come up this winter and see a hockey game and maybe get a little skiing in.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoPeg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear GeoPeg14,

Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a chance to enjoy the Mosaic Grille in the hotel. We hope that when you return this winter, we can welcome you back again!

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Perfectly placed for getting around and the concierge staff in particular were very helpful with suggestions and tips.
This is a well run big chain hotel and generally meets the standards expected. If you can get a deal that includes breakfast in your room rate then its very worthwhile as the breakfast buffet is very good, sets you up for the day (cutting out lunch expense) and is otherwise quite expensive to buy separately.
Our High floor Corner Balcony View Room was modern, spacious and the views of the city and harbour were pretty good - albeit semi obstructed by other buildings. Only complaint was that our room fridge was not working and clearly had not been for some time. We mentioned this but nothing happened during our 4 night stay - slightly annoying for a hotel of this quality.
Only other comment was that the waiting staff in the bar were not very good - drinks were slow to appear and attitude was a bit offhand. A shame when other staff at breakfast and at reception were so much more friendly/keen to help.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver for 2 days after our cruise. The hotel was conveniently located to the cruise ship port in the down town area and was easily walk able to shopping, restaurants and parks. Our room was clean, but lacked a certain warmth. While our room had modern furnishings, the furniture just didn't seem to fit well with the room. As for the service, housekeeping was superior, Joy in the Regency Club was very warm and friendly and the rest of the staff was pleasant. Overall, there was nothing magical about the property and it met our expectations and needs. Hence the average rating which in my estimation given my experience with various Hyatt properties is fair. We'd be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Most wonderful experience... We were greeted with warm smiles and a happy attitudes by the check-in staff! When I shared that we were there to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary we were upgraded to the 21st floor with a balcony, chilled champagne, fresh strawberries and chocolate! The best I've ever been treated in a hotel!

The room was very clean, smelled good and had a fantastic view. Loved the fixtures in the bathroom - very modern.

The staff was extremly helpful when it came to giving us directions to local attractions. Being in the location it is, the Hyatt is perfect for parking your car and walking - most things we wanted to see were close.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room - facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mapmaker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear mapmaker59,

Congratulations on your 30th Anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose to spend it with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and that we helped to make your Anniversary special. We hope that the next time you visit Vancouver, we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I recently spent a total of 6 nights at the Hyatt Regency. The location of the hotel is excellent and so many fine places in the superb city of Vancouver are readily accesssible either by walking, or via train, bus or taxi. The hotel is very clean and the rooms spacious and well appointed. There is no hemmed-in feeling about the hotel. The staff are uniformly polite, professional and helpful. Only disappointment was the lounge bar which closes rather early, and abruptly, at 11.30pm, and the fact that, during part of our stay, there was a "convention" of rather extreme characters, some of whose behaviour was distasteful and unnecessary. I realise that this is not the fault of the hotel, but maybe some bookings could be monitored a little better in future. Apart from this negative aspect, I should recommend the hotel to potential customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcatMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Hyatt Vancouver was a great hotel! The room and view were beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and I loved the fact that I can have Starbucks in the morning (located right in the lobby) and a nice glass of chardonnay in the bar (located right about Starbucks). Best of both worlds!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Property: Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing