We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience, clean and classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was my first trip to Vanc. so I didn't know what to expect, and just thought to pay extra and stay downtown. I booked through Hotwire and just chose the best available star rating (4) and lowest price downtown, which turned out to be Hyatt. I'm glad I did because the hotel is great and lives up to the past reviews. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and there was no wait for check-in. From Hotwire I was assigned a room with 2 double beds, but I called ahead and requested a king and they were able to accommodate.

The rooms are fairly quiet, very safe/clean/new looking, and have big windows to enjoy the views. I was traveling with my pregnant wife who said that the mattress was too stiff for her, but I thought it was OK (though I can sleep on anything). The hotel does not own a parking garage so you have to pay to get day passes (it is $36 CAD for 24 hours with in-out privileges). There is a Starbucks in the lobby, a McDonald's next door, and many shopping/eating options within a 5 min walk. They have a pool, jacuzzi, and gym on the 4th floor which are nice after a long drive from Seattle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttttttttttttt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night but were very impressed. This hotel is much better than other Hyatt Regencies we stayed, more on par with a Park Hyatt, so we were pleasantly surprised. They missed turn turn service otherwise would be all 5s! Noise was not a problem at all since we were on a high floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prawda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel in a balcony view room. I'm not sure the balcony is worth the added cost given that the view is quite obstructed and you hopefully won't spend much time in the room in any event. The location is ideal - easy walking distance to Canada Place, Stanley Park, Robson Street, Gastown, Yaletown, and the water taxi to Granville Island. The bus to Grouse Mountain and Capilano stops right at the hotel. The breakfast buffet is delicious and all the staff we dealt with were very helpful and freindly. The only negative is that the rooms lack sufficent soundproofing - you will hear your neighbours and the noise from outside. Bring ear plugs for sleeping. If not for that issue, I would rate it five stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 22nd floor with a mountain view. Do not take a room on the 28th floor unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastCoast888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt regency last week and it is a beautiful, elegant hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver. We got a standard room on the 23rd floor, and even the standard rooms have very stylish decor and amenities. The concierge was very helpful, and we had breakfast at their restaurant, which was delicious. Everyone from the reception to the bell-clerks are welcoming, helpful and cheerful. We also happened to be there for Canada Day celebrations, and were able to view the parade from out hotel room. All in all, a memorable stay and we will surely return here.

Room Tip: We got a room facing Burrard Street and the views were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I recently visited Vancouver for the first time and the Hyatt was one of two hotels we stayed at while there. We were pleased with our choice. It is located in the heart of downtown Vancouver with easy access to all types of public transportation and many restaurants. The hotel was very attractive and bright. Our room was on the eighth floor and had a rather boring view of other buildings. The room itself was clean, rather well-maintained and a nice size for the two of us. The mattress was too soft for us and we found the sheets to be scratchy. We had breakfast included in our rate which was very nice. The buffet is very good, but expensive (if we were paying for it). The staff we encountered were professional and friendly. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning our room each day and replenishing it.

We enjoyed our visit to Vancouver but felt the city had two major negatives. We were surprised by the large number of homeless, especially young homeless everywhere we went. We couldn’t walk but a few feet and there was someone begging. It was disturbing. We found the restaurant prices to be ridiculously high and yet none we visited was more than half full.

Just a note - we have been AAA members for many years and usually request the AAA discount rate when a hotel offers it when booking a room which we did at this hotel. Upon check in we were asked for our AAA card, which fortunately my husband had. We have never been asked for it before.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent four nights here and had an excellent stay! The rooms are modern, clean, efficient and comfortable. We had a Balcony room - and it was wonderful to be able to sit outside in the morning with a cup of coffee.

The hotel is smart, and the staff is helpful and friendly. We found it convenient to everything we wanted - I was attending a conference at the Convention Center and loved the ease of access.

We had room service, and also at at Grain. We loved it!! (I wrote a separate review of the restaurant).

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a Balcony room! They are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Was at the Hyatt for 4 nights for work related trip. Everything was as expected, bed was comfy, room very clean, I didn't have much of a view, but that was ok as you can get enough and more views once you are out of the hotel. Love the Hyatt service that allows you to order in free basic amenities (toothpaste, slippers, shaving cream, razors, etc ++++) for free...it saves a ton of hassle when packing and shopping around when you land. Closet space was excellent as was the bathroom size. The way the room was organized was also very good, the bathroom area was separated, so almost gave the sense of a one bedroom apartment than the usual hotel room feel.

Hotel is centrally located as can be, close to the main shopping area and high end shopping area. Lots of touristy shops, higher end restaurants etc and just 10+/- mins to the quay. I could walk almost everywhere. The starbucks in the lobby is also a plus point.

There's also a public transport, bus bay just 25 feet away from the hotel, its connected to a smallish mall with coffee shops, and some other shops. The Chinese restaurant next door is a good alternate to hotel food.

Only and minor issue was that I could hear some outside noise, I am a light sleeper, so that may have something to do with it as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear JR R,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our convenient, central location. I am happy you were able to make use of our "Hyatt Has It" program to request amenities to use during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.

Warm Regards,
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,333 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £128 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing