We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is right...IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The location is right...IF THE PRICE IS RIGHT!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt in late November 2013 to enjoy a night in downtown Vancouver to avoid the drive back home (I actually live in the city of Vancouver and have stayed at the Hyatt before).

The check in staff are professional: be assertive and ask questions: they are very helpful and are eager to please. I was aware that only 4 of the 24 suites on each floor have a nice and fairly spacious balcony (highly suggested), and I allowed for a $30 (a night) up sell for a coveted 19th floor room facing Burrard Street. The view was spectacular! (see pics).

Rooms are reasonably equipped: business style desk, coffee maker, nice boutique style washroom condiments. Room was lacking a safe. No free WiFi was available, either. Those traveling with a car (as I was), will be hit with a $30 fee. They will also rape you with an additional "resort fee", which is becoming an industry standard. I secured a basic room for $88 U.S. (weekend) plus tax. ($22), via a Priceline Express deal. It was about a 40% from their own web site, so in spite of all the additional charges and upgrades, it was all in all a fair deal.

Travelers to and from the airport will appreciate the skytrain underground connection next to the hotel (about 20 min to the airport and WAY FASTER and CHEAPER than a taxi!).

This is a very commonly used hotel for government, corporate and union business. Be prepared for people on junkets and partying away from their spouses. This is also noted as having the largest number of rooms in one single hotel tower in Vancouver.

The hotel (for business clientele) really loses points for lack of free WiFi in the rooms. (Really??)

Location is great. Lots of restaurants and entertainment within reasonable walking distance.

I will always be back under two conditions: when the price is right OR when the boss is paying!

Room Tip: Always ask and/or pay for an upgraded room with a balcony that faces Burrard Street, and as HIGH up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    1,219
    264
    80
    33
See reviews for
717
1,051
205
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had a two days stay at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver at the end of a long trip, and it was a great experience in every way. At the outset I should admit that I stayed there as the price was right, but also because I had one more stay to go at a Hyatt before moving to elite status. What a great decision that turned out to be!

From the moment we stepped in the door, the staff were so helpful and friendly, and could not have done more to assist. This applies to absolutely everyone. I can honestly stay that in many years of business travel I have not had such consistently great service in all departments of a hotel.

I wanted to particularly comment on the Club Lounge. It was well worth paying the extra for the Club Lounge as the breakfasts were excellent, and the drinks and canapés in the evening also outstanding. While the sodas were free, the wine and alcohol was $4 a serve, and an amazing bargain for the quality. A bit shout out to Ting in the Club Lounge for his extraordinary level of customer service. He made everyone equally at home, and greeted us all by name. He is such an asset to the hotel.

But it is hard to single anyone out when the service was so good on every front.

The rooms are a comfortable size, the beds were good, and the location unbeatable, with a mall attached, and three blocks from excellent shopping.

Thank you for such an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Tripper16,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you reach Hyatt Gold Passport Elite Status for the year! We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and that you found the service to be "so good on every front". We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Vancouver.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent hotel. My husband stayed here last week, and we have stayed here as a couple as well. It is in a great location, very convenient to the downtown core. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms clean. Nice, modern and an great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an adjoining room if you have family or a group friend trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Travelled on business in Early December. Stayed here for 3 nights. Had a king room on the 16th floor. Room was large. Bed was super comfortable as were the pillows. Desk area was very large and had more than enough room to spread out all my paperwork.

Check-in took seconds as did check out. Bell hops were very attentive as well. There is a small mall with a drug store attached to the hotel.

Had many meetings from Kits to Commercial and this hotel was a good place to base from.

There is a 24 hour Timmies right next door (a godsend after a late meeting!)

Join their Loyalty Program and you get your internet for free when you stay.

Room Tip: I had room 1614 which had a lovely balcony ( which i never uses) but was nice to open the door and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went for the Lululemon Half-marathon weekend. The marathon had offered some hotel specials, but I'm so glad we stayed at the Hyatt. It was a great location, walking distance to most hotspots. Close of the convention center and a bike-ride away from beautiful Stanley Park. Amazing vacation.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is simply breathtaking. I booked my room through Priceline and kudos to the Hyatt Regency for NOT sticking us into their crappiest room like some hotel chains do when you book through a 3rd party.

The Hyatt seem to only employ the most courteous staff. From Reception to the Taxi person, everyone we encountered made us feel special and welcome.

Our room was on the 10th floor and it was modern and extremely clean. We also had a view of Burrard and Georgia, so we could have probably watched the Santa Clause parade if we stuck around the next day.

Bravo, Hyatt Management for such an excellent property! We loved our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVR_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear YVR_604

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our team was able to help you feel special and welcome in our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in the heart of downtown, this is definitely you're spot. The hotel was positioned so you could see both mountains and some water, yet also downtown. The beds were very small (we had a room with two doubles and our feet were hanging off the beds).
The bathroom was clean but on the smaller side. The bar is located on the second floor and we enjoyed grabbing a drink there before dinner. Overall we were very pleased.

Just a few notes: valet is $45, Internet $15.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear TravelingTexans007,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the views from your room. We hope the next time your travels bring you to Vancouver we can welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Property: Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing