We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lot to like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a lot to like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'll start by saying this is a large, tourist/business type hotel in a great spot in a wonderful city. There are pros and cons to wearing these types of hats, but I think they mostly get it right.
Stayed here a week with the family, in adjoining rooms. The wife and I in the king, which included a balcony looking down on the main intersection of Georgia/Burrard. The kids in the connected room with two full beds. Worked out great. The rooms are simple, clean, well appointed. Beds and pillows comfy. WE arrived on Canada day, so the entire downtown just bustling with people. The official parade started right at our intersection, so was able to watch from the balcony, nice! I will warn you, rooms that face this intersection will hear every police car, ambulance and firetruck passing by. We heard them every single night.
We only ate one meal here, and that was the day we arrived. It was late, kids were tired. The food was fine, nothing to get worked up about. Speaking of food, there's a Starbucks in the lobby, 24 hour Timmy Hortons and McDonalds just across the hotel driveway. We walked to every ethnic type of food easily from the hotel. There are also a couple different markets nearby to stock up on in room eats. Each room has a fridge, which made it easy to keep breakfast stuff and drinks accessible.
There is a nice pool and workout area on the 4'th floor. Simple rectangular pool, and decent sized hot tub. Always plenty of towels. Nice treadmills and ellipticals.
We had some excellent service, and it's worth noting, because these interactions with the staff can definitely impact ones stay. On arrival, our bellman, Moon, not only showed us all the amenities of our rooms, but once we got started talking about our plans, we pulled a map, and he gave us some names and locations of restos and markets to visit. Christine at the front desk, took care of everything on check in and check out. Polite courteous efficient accurate. Spot on. And I must mention Vanessa at the concierge desk. Absolutely wonderful. Helped us out with daily plans, reservations, maps, scheduling etc. Her expertise really helped us out. One evening on our way out to dinner, we stopped by and asked her a question, and true to her word, she had a whole travel plan covering all the details waiting in our room, slipped under the door. We were all set for our next days adventure.
So overall a very nice stay. Some little quirks, but nothing that would keep us from returning. And all the staff we met were just lovely

Room Tip: South East corner of hotel gets the most street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: allows you to be more responsible, but no negative impact on your stay
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigdada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,803
    1,202
    257
    79
    33
See reviews for
708
1,040
200
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt while we explored Vancouver before a cruise from their port. This is a stylish, quiet and classy hotel. The staff, particularly John from the bell staff were really helpful and did much for us while we there. The rooms are lovely and location of this fine hotel, just four blocks from Canada Place (the port) was just wonderful. There are several nice restaurants on site including the really nice Mosaic bar and grill and even a Tim Horton's and MacDonald's in the attached mall. The surrounding area around the hotel is interesting and safe for an evening stroll. There is also an ATM in the mall where we got our Canadian currency for just a $2,00 fee, Really happy with them and would definitely stay here the next time we're in BC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver. Overall, I had a good stay. I did have to change rooms due to an issue with the a/c (and windows didn't open), but I found the hotel to be very accommodating when I needed to change. The second room (with a balcony) was much larger, although it could be a bit noisy for those who need a very quiet room to sleep. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, and I didn't experience noise from other rooms - and I'm very sensitive to noise.

The location was very good, as others have mentioned. Walkable to the waterfront in 10-15 minutes, Robson St. for shopping and restaurants within a couple of blocks. Starbucks in the lobby was very convenient. I also enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant - the food anyway. There was a convention going on during the early part of my stay, which made the restaurants and public areas very chaotic. I think this hotel also gets a lot of pre- and post-cruise business, so again, the lobby can get very busy.

Room service was fast, and the food was good and served warm. The concierge was able to arrange a tour to Whistler. Overall, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Were I to return to Vancouver, I would consider this property again for a good price. I personally prefer a quieter hotel, but for convenience and a good price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Hyatt is fairly new and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The front desk was halpful in finding the perfect room, and staff were helpful in helping us find activities in this beautiful city. The location is great for Canada Place and down town.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
We loved the balcony over looking the city; it was the perfect place for a late night drink and snack.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

While we generally prefer a place with a bit more character than a large chain, we were very happy with our experience at the Hyatt Regency. The concierge was a bit rushed when speaking with us, but housekeeping made up for this by going above and beyond to provide us with what we needed. The hotel is in a great location, and we loved the view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Great service by Janice, who checked us in. She saw that we had kids with us and then changed our room to a corner room where we had more space. It was a fabulous room with great space! Thank-you, Janice!
This hotel is in a great downtown location. The big bus "hop on hop off" bus stops at this location which was great. Beds were comfortable, love the toiletries. We had a cot brought in for 1 of the kids...it was comfortable and worked great. Would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Corner, higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sllarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,083 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

In a word? WOW. This hotel experience was above and beyond. The room was amazing (more information below) and the service was beyond five-star quality. The food and experiences, both room service and restaurants, were fantastic. Next time in Vancouver? We will be back!

Traveling quite a bit makes for high standards. This Hyatt does not disappoint. If I had to make one negative comment, against the dozens of positive ones, I would caution to allow for a lot of time for the elevators. The elevators are automated, which should provide for more efficiency, but the waits were quite long, both ascending and descending.

Thank you specifically to Michelle at the front desk. Her level of service was fantastic. Also, a special thank you to management for the upgrade. We purchased a suite for the stay and received a much-appreciated - and enjoyed ! - executive suite.

Also, our original visit was for a two-night stay, with a third night at ANOTHER major chain. After the amazing service and upgrade in the type of suite received, we requested, and booked one additional night, so we stayed at Hyatt Vancouver all of our holiday weekend. What a treat!

If you do have a suite experience (pun intended) here, go outside of a typical hotel stay and use the wonderful bathtub for a luxurious evening bath. Also, order room service to enjoy the amazing views and full dining room table and in-room seating areas.

One other point to mention. Typically, I purchase executive/concierge club access during a stay of this type. Since I am Platinum level, the club access was not included in the room. When we checked in, we were advised against purchasing the $75/night upgrade for the club level. Since we already received an amazing upgrade in the suite, we were glad the Hyatt service again steered us in the right direction. Thank you! They could have just charged the $75/night charge but advised against it for this visit. We did NOT purchase club level, and because of the amazing suite we did have, did not miss club access for a second during our stay. Normally, we do purchase club access, so this was the exception.

TIP: Splurge and purchase a suite here. The experience makes Vancouver a wonderful visit. Our suite, Room 3308, was amazing, and we were glad we booked a suite instead of a standard guest room.

Again, a special thank you to Hyatt for making the suite experience so amazing. Although I am only a Platinum-level guest, I was made to feel like the most special VIP. This visit is why another major hotel chain will no longer receive my room reservations. Even with status at the other chain, I have never been treated in this way during a hotel visit.

Thank you to ALL of the staff - front desk, bell desk, housekeeping, room service, and management - for making a three-day stay an amazing, much-talked-about experience!

Room Tip: Again, splurge on a suite. Book a suite instead of a standard room when reserving a room here. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear LV_Lee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay - I am absolutely thrilled with your compliments and we have shared your review with all of our team here at the hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you are planning on making Hyatt your hotel chain of choice, and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Vancouver.

Warm Regards,
Brandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Property: Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing