We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$449
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,144 results
Traveller rating
1,263
651
156
46
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,263
651
156
46
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiva restaurantluxury king roomgreat locationpacific centrecanada placesmall balconyart galleryfour seasonscomfortable bedcentral locationcanada linerobson streetvalet parkingexcellent hotelwould definitely stay here againan upgradebit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1,635 - 1,640 of 2,144 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location in the middle of downtown. The restaurant is pretty good (fine dining) but the rooms are a bit tired and the staff, although not rude, are a bit on the indifferent side. We requested two wake up calls - first one failed to come through and the second one came through early. One of the elevators was broken and took two days to fix - in the meantime it took an exceptionally long time to go up and down between the street and the rooms. I was staying at this property for a business meeting - the meeting spaces were also a little sub-par. On average I would say my stay was OK, but not great.
There is a newly renovated and expanded hotel next door (Rosewood Hotel Georgian), which is beautifully done with an exceptional restaurant (Hawksworth) - Met will need to pick up its game to compete!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dec2010Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKoskela, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear Dec2010Visitor,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in May. We aim to always not only meet, but exceed our guests' expectations, and it is very disappointing if we fall short of this goal. There is no excuse for missing and/or untimely wake up calls. We take wake up calls extremely seriously as any mistakes can have severe consequences from missed meetings to flights etc...

We did indeed unfortunately experience some challenges with one of our guest elevators in May. This has been addressed. The part needed was not stocked locally and caused a delay with repairs.

We are constantly working on upgrading our product to stay competitive in the Vancouver market place. In fact, just this week we completed renovating our 10 junior suites, which turned out fantastic.

Your comment on our staff on being on the "indifferent side" is very disappointing to hear. Our team is the most sincere and hospitable of any team I have had the pleasure working with during my hospitality career. As you can see from many other reviews, our staff and service levels are clearly our strength and I am personally disappointed that you did not experience this.

I apologize for your mediocre stay and sincerely hope you will give us another chance on your future travels to Vancouver. Please contact me directly at 604 643 7250 or kari.koskela@metropolitan.com if I can ever be of assistance.

Kari Koskela
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend at this hotel! The rooms are surprisingly spacious for a downtown hotel. Everything was very clean, modern and super-comfortable. The staff was especially hospitable and friendly. The location is perfectly centered between everywhere you want to go!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGray0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night before boarding our cruise ship to Alaska. This hotel was truly excellent. Not only is it gorgeous but the staff when out of our way to accomodate us, help us with directions, etc.

The room was very clean and was very large with a nice view.

The hotel's location is probably the best part. It is a short walk from the skyrail station, so from the airport we just rode the skyrail and then walked the short block to our hotel. Also, it was only a couple blocks away from Canada Place where we caught our cruise ship. AND it was only a few blocks from the fun GasTown area which is fun part of town with bars, restaurants and a lot of history.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for four nights , our room was of excellent size , in top order and maintained impeccably during our stay .

The hotel is extremely well situated in central downtown , five minutes walk from the very efficient Sky Train service ,close to an amazing selection of retail outlets.

The street where the hotel is situated was relatively traffic free , so no great traffic noise .

The hotel staff with no exception were amazingly friendly , polite and helpful , nothing was too much trouble .

We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and found the food to be first class and reasonably priced .

Ther is little in the way of public seating in the reception area ,this being of no concern to us , I just offer this comment .

If you stay here you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1513 with a very good outlook and was very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianpricebds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July 2011, and report as follows;

Location: excellent / near centre of town

Decor: modern /marble floors/ swish

Rooms: beautiful! / Quite large / clever design with rotruding windows/ bathrooms super.

Bar/restaurant: part of the hotel / very modern / beautiful / great for a drink before going out on the town / meet friends / restaurant looks lovely / could be pricy

Lobby: marble / classy / nice. You will feel that you have arrived at a nice hotel. Smart doorman very attentive.

Internet: yes / free in the business centre

Has pool and fitness centre but did not use

Final opinion: quiet pricy but stay here to treat yourself to a lovey hotel. Hard to get into as very popular. Book early with Expedia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews