We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unflashy but top-quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

On entering the hotel, the foyer seems small and not particularly glamorous. However, this is entirely unimportant, as the hotel seems to strive to offer the highest possible standard of service. We stayed for five nights, and were very sorry to leave. The room was well appointed and comfortable, with a passageway from the door to the main room, thus minimising external noise. The bathroom was of a generous size, with a beautiful tiled shower and separate bath. Toiletries were regularly replenished, and the towels were huge and enveloping. When we requested one or two items, they were supplied extremely promptly and courteously. Given the fact that we were staying the hotel over the New Year weekend, we expected a lot of noise and disturbance. We received none at all. The reception staff were helpful, and the concierge Natalie is particularly to be commended in making enquiries on our behalf, as well as giving extremely clear directions. There seems to be a fair amount of job sharing going on, so that doormen sometimes double up as concierge, etc., and this seems to work smoothly. We had to check out extremely early (5.30 am), and this went very smoothly; an error in which we had been charged for a bottle of water which we had not consumed was corrected with the absolute minimum of fuss. If you wish to drink tea rather than coffee, they are very happy to supply a water kettle in addition to the coffee maker. The only slight criticism is that the teabag offered has a very strange taste. All in all, we were extremely happy with our stay at the Metropolitan. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and gave the impression of wanting us to be there, and to have an enjoyable time. The hotel is centrally positioned. If we revisited Vancouver, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Fabulous hotel and great staff, so helpful and friendly (especially Cindy). The hotel is located right downtown with many attractions very close by - shopping right across the street!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed for one night as we were downtown celebrating our anniversary. The rooms are well laid out. Lots of room for luggage and comfy beds in the room. Drapes do an excellent job of blocking out light. Bathrooms are spacious, shower stalls a bit on the small side but reflect the standards when the last renovation was done (my guess 8-10 years). Rooms and fixtures are in good condition. Excellent location and staff were friendly, professional and helpful. There were some cleanliness issues that I brought to the front desk's attention and they followed up with excellent guest service immediately. The front office manager followed up the next day even. Had breakfast at Diva and it was outstanding. Definitely have smoked black cod hash with perfectly poached eggs and Hollendaise sauce! Good value and excellent service, I would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChowChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed here for a business trip; the room was pretty standard, the hotel was in a great location, staff were friendly and helpful and wifi was included. Room was clean, Bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

- great experience
- staff super friendly and super helpful (especially the Korean female receptionist, sorry forgot her name!)
- very clean
- have shower and bath
- breakfast ok

by the way, Vancouver is a great city. great times.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatespacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

As a longstanding fan of the Metropolitan Hotel, it was my first choice when I needed a place to stay 2-3 nights a week for a few months, while commuting to Vancouver for work. The staff is exceptionally helpful and welcoming, the rooms comfortable, the location unbeatable. The Diva restaurant downstairs is well worth a visit, whether or not you are staying at the hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolo604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Can't say enough about this hotel.

From the front desk, the concierge and all the staff, they are all so helpful and courteous.
We stay there at least once a year and each year it only gets better.

The downtown location is great.

Well done!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,601 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,673 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £119 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing