We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here in February. I had requested a room on a upper floor. When I arrived I was offered a room on the 3rd floor, or a smoking room on the 6th.
Anyways, room was ok, nothing special. But not what I had thought it would be.
It felt kind of like in a dungeon with walls outside the window.
A little dissapointing for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and I was very impressed. The room was small, but nicely organized and the bathroom was great. The king size bed was really comfy and the staff was great. The location was awesome because you can basically walk to all the nice areas of downtown Vancouver. The gym and the pool were a plus as well. My only "complaint" was the Diva dining experience as it is pricey for what they offer. But there are thousands of restaurants options within walking distance. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReezieTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Room is clean, good size with a very comfortable bed.
Staff is polite and friendly. Check out was extremely efficient.
Hotel overall looks a bit tired and in need of a renovation.
Location is fantastic. Right in the middle of downtown with shopping centres, vancouver art gallary and great restaurants and avis nearby.
Although internet is free, the wifi coverage was weak in the rooms. The signal from four seasons hotel across the road was almost just as strong. I had troubles re-logging in sometimes after dropping out. So programs like Skype was difficult to use.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrispytang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I do not throw around superlatives loosely, but I cannot help doing so in this instance. My wife and I were directed to his hotel by virtue of a Living Social voucher; the location could not have been better, the hotel being situated in the center of a great city near everything, restaurants, shopping, sightseeing. Apart from the hotel staff being most courteous and helpful in their recommendations, the wait staff in Diva being meticulous in their service, the rooms being clean, spacious, quiet, and promptly maintained, my wife and I have never slept better in any hotel anywhere. If we could have taken home the mattress, pillows, and comforter, we would have. Would we recommend this hotel to friends and acquaintances? You betcha. PCL517Maryland

Room Tip: Try a Luxury King if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PCL517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Perfect stay in Vancouver. Everything was fantastic at the hotel from check in to check out. All the staff interactions were beyond great, the food in Diva was excellent and the rooms and bed were perfect! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Luxury King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamDL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was our first stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. We took advantage of the "Night on the Town" rate because we were there to see a show at the Vancouver Centre for Performing Arts. This property was about a 6 minute walk to the venue, so it seemed like a great choice. It was also handy to slip off to Pacific Centre Mall without having to drag my husband along.

Anyway, for the most part we were pretty impressed with the property and the location. One downside was that I forgot to inform my husband that he should ask if we could get an updated room (I was waiting in the car while he checked in). We ended up with a room with an old TV, and overall the decor and fixtures weren't as modern as expected. However, we did have a little balcony and a decent view from the 11th floor. Only 1 elevator was working and it was slow, and the parking garage was somewhat tight (but complimentary with our rate), but otherwise a pretty solid 4 out of 5 experience!

Given the right rate, we will probably stay at the Metropolitan again. But, next time we'll hopefully at least score a flat screen TV!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on a higher floor. Check out their special rates to see what the best fit is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I love this hotel.. Although not as grand as some other Vancouver hotels, I always find this hotel comfortable, and affordable compared to alot of other hotels in the city..The location is fantastic,being walking distance or a short cab ride to anywhere you want to go. The staff is amazingly friendly,helpful and curtious.. I have been to the city 3 times and have always stayed there..

Room Tip: Upgrade....it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriCarMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £118 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing