We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic location, classic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've been fortunate to stay at the all met locations and this Vancouver location doesn't disappoint. In fact. It's quite phenomenal. Really loved the service, the rooms, the amenities. This is one of the very few hotel groups offering heated floors in the bathroom.

Very modern touches. I think one of the best aspects of the met is location location location and all three do this extremely well

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank SonicSpringBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are fantastic! Everyone was super polite and helpful. The concierge was very knowledgeable and eager to assist. When we called the front desk requesting everything from a kettle to an additional bed, someone appeared at our door almost immediately. The facilities were lovely -- nice décor, everything was very clean, the indoor pool was a good temperature (I normally find hotel pools rather chilly), the fitness room was well-equipped (although a bit cramped) and had a tv. Our king room was fairly spacious and the dual-sink bathroom was large with a bath and a separate shower. There was also a good-sized closet, an iron/ ironing board, and a mini-fridge. We didn't eat in the Diva restaurant, as it was closed due to a function on the night we considered dining there. We went instead to The Flying Pig (in Yaletown) on our first night, and to The Coast (on Alberni, just off Burrard) on our second night. Both restaurants were fabulous! There's a ton of great places to eat within a short cab ride (or walk) from the hotel. There are also nearby night clubs and bars/pubs, such as The Caprice (for the younger crowd) and The Roxy (mixed-ages) a few blocks away, on Granville Street. And many other choices in surrounding areas, such as Gastown. We went to the Brooklyn bar/night club in Gastown. It was a really cool place -- great for hanging out and drinking (a bit too loud for talking), but nobody was dancing (other than the four go-go dancers) when we left just after midnight, even though the dj was playing some great tunes. If you're a shopper, Pacific Centre shopping mall is almost directly across the street from the hotel. We spent a whole day there and ate at the food court a couple of times. There's a great ready-made sushi place, but don't try the coffee place (the café upstairs by the entrance is much better).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForTheWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your great reviews, these are much appreciated and we hope you get a chance to try out some of the treats that Diva at the Met is known for... it is a very popular restaurant icon that should not be missed. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is in a central location and is handy for walking to Canada Place, the steam clock and the hop on - off bus stops. The room was spotless and very modern with a large bathroom. The service was great and we would stop here again if we return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here multiple times when visiting our regional office in Vancouver. Convenient to area restaurants and other hotels; i.e. Four Seasons, Fairmont, etc. I liked this place better even than the high-end chains because it had character and charm. Great room and bathroom; had nice amenities like high-end shampoos and loved the nice sewing kits.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank koko214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow what a beautiful hotel, close to everything, you can walk to most places. Right across the street from the Pacific centre, BC place, theatres and etc. We were on the 16th floor, beautiful room king size bed, great view. Used the health club nice pool and hot tub, very clean. Great service all around. Had dinner at Diva the restaurant one of the bests meals we have had for a long time. The lamb dish was amazing. We loved this place looking forward to coming back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time exploring the city. Diva at the Met does have some terrific meals and I always recommend leaving a little room for our desserts as well. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here on a recent visit to Vancouver. I chose the hotel because it was adjacent to the Pacific Shopping Centre and I wasn't disappointed by the hotel or the location. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights. The hotel itself was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms were large with a small balcony. There was free Wi-Fi, which was great for keeping in touch with home. The hotel also has a restaurant/bar which is modern & beautiful but a little on the expensive side. They served food from there open kitchen which looked spotless.
The hotel is also within easy reach of the Canada line to the airport (€10 per couple) .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnePower63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I , together with a group of married couples from Argentina spent a few days at the Metropolitan on our way to Vancouver island and Alaska.
The hotel is big and nice and clean. The rooms are quite good and the beds are comfortable.
The first night we got there late and we were too tired to go out to dinner, so we ordered room service, they have a special menu after 10pm which was OK, kind of small though. They only had Merlot wine which I don't like and the only other possibility was to go down and choose from the wine list at the restaurant, which I didn't.
We never had breakfast at the hotel.
We had pizza for lunch once at the restaurant, it was excellent, and the service was very good too.
It was very convenient to restaurants and shopping, right across from a nice shopping center and the sky train. It was also walking distance from the wáter front.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,599 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,673 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £118 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing