We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience as part of a dream holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wonderful hotel, recommended by a local who we lived next to. Really made to feel special, breakfast room service relaxing, as well as the swimming pool whilst watching all the office workers, than an evening at Diva, all within an amazing city

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We are glad to know that our facilities and services helped to make your trip a most memorable one! We hope to see you back here soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great downtown location with very good beds and outstanding service. Although slightly dated, the hotel is well maintained, clean and in good working order. The rooms are larger than most and well laid out. The room was quiet, allowing us to enjoy the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 949Chrissy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope you have a chance to try out our Appy Hour in Diva at the Met the next time you are here. There are some great foods at great prices!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Good:
-Great location; near Gastown, Robson St, waterfront, Pacific Centre, the Bay
-very comfortable bed & pillows
-nice bed linens

not so good:
-only one working elevator
-rooms need updating; old furniture, TV stand, old bath fixtures

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Close to everything,waterfront, Stanely Park, shopping. art gallery, etc. Easy 15 minute walk to Rogers Arena and BC Place. Staff very attentive and pleasant. Rooms very nice and clean. Large marble bathroom with usuable fridge and large in room safe. nice pool and whirlpool. Restaurant Diva, although somewhat pricey has excellent cuisine well worth the price. A total pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Excellent to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us! You will have to try out our new bar menu during Appy Hour. All of our appetizers go on sale for 50% off between 4-6 pm on weekdays!. It is a great deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was superb for our 2 night stay after arriving in Vancouver. Great deal through our travel company. The best room we had during our Canadian adventure -deluxe- with the most comfortable bed ever! Large room and lovely marble bathroom, very clean. Staff were all very welcoming. Fantastic location, close to skytrain from the airport, which was so easy, and very quiet. Didn't use the pool or restaurant so can't comment there. Would certainly return. Thank you Met.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A wonderful start to our holiday in Canada. Good value for money and service. Central location to skytrain for the airport . Directly opposite pan pacific shopping mall. Thankyou for our complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. Large spacious room which was immaculate and very quiet. Elegant spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath tub. Added touches of complimentary molton brown products and even a card placed on your pillow to advise us of the outlook of the weather for the next day! Great pool and jacuzzi.... although was a little too hot for our liking. Business facilities for email, and printing free. We dined at the Met restaurant which was very delicious for breakfast. The most impressive thing for us is the impeccable level of service we got from the Conscierges Doug and Oliver who went above and beyond to help us plan our trip across Canada. They are a true asset to the hotel, Always friendly, offering to help with bookings and gave good advice on restaurants to dine at. This is what made the difference. Compared to all our hotels we stayed at, including Fairmont, this is what made the metropolitan a class of its own.

Room Tip: The higher the better for view and to avoid street noise. Level of 9 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMay1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a chance to explore our hotel, facilities and dine in Diva! Oliver has been with the hotel for many many years and knows the best places to go in the city. We are looking forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Overall, I found your hotel to be clean and the reception staff very efficient and check-in and out was quick and hassle free. Wi-Fi coverage was good, and worked well. I was very happy about the rooms and design and layout, availability of power plugs, TV functionality, shower, convenience items first rate and my first impressions was that I thought it was a better designed hotel than most. I did not have the opportunity to make use of the spa or gym or office facilities. However, my associate, who was also staying at the hotel advised me that the gym facilities were not wiped down and surprised me by making the statement that he was very concerned about the possibility of staphylococcus infections as the equipment looked so unclean, so I can only conclude the conditions were less than acceptable.

The hotel is an older one and is showing its age and renovations are needed for the hallway decorations and furniture and elevators in particular.

I had two very critical issues that were quite significant that I wish to bring to the hotel management’s attention. First, the elevator was out of service during the almost three days we were there and, we were advised, it was not going to be back in service until the weekend as a part was on-order. Now, as there were only two elevators in the building and with one not working, we found we (and other guests) were waiting up to half an hour to get an elevator; or rather the elevator. This is not acceptable, the part could have been flown in from wherever it was in the world overnight. I can understand a day or two or even three but to have the elevator (and a single one at that and over 18 stories to deal with) out for that long simply won’t cut it. We were there for a conference, it should have been working. As the lower 3 floors, which housed the business center, the gym facilities, etc., were also locked off, it was essentially impossible for the attendees to move between floors without planning a significant chunk of time as a contingency.

Secondly, I will related that on the first evening, sitting in the DIVA lounge my associate and I were enjoying appetizers and a drink when we were joined by a mouse running across the nice shiny floor and hiding under the table adjacent to us. It then stayed for a while taking in the atmosphere, before enthusiastically running towards the kitchen, where it disappeared into a corner to join the worker there. We did advise the staff of the unwanted guest however they did not appear overly concerned. We did not return to eat or drink in that restaurant for the remainder of our stay. I am not expecting to stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockmotordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Rockmotordad,
Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations. Notes such as yours allow us to frame up constructive feedback and enable us to better serve our guests.

I am terribly disappointed that your visit was less than acceptable and that you have left with a poor impression of us. Clearly, this is not what you or we had envisioned for this trip. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of our team here at the Metropolitan Vancouver. We will have focal discussions regarding your visit with each of the team that you had encountered in a sincere effort to learn about how we can be better in the future. Our efforts are usually extremely well received by our guests from product to service experiences. Obviously in your case we fell far from our mark.

Currently, we do clean all of our health club equipment on a scheduled bi-weekly basis with a bleach and water solution. We are looking at our standards and will be implementing a more preventative weekly cleaning and sanitizing of the equipment. Once again, we do apologize for the elevator and we thank you for your feedback regarding the service. The elevator company was unfortunately having a difficult time locating the exact part required to get our elevator up and running. Hindsight dictates that we should have been more proactive and allowed stair access through your conference period. We also sincerely regret the problem you and your guest experienced in our lounge and thank you for bringing it to our attention, as we were not aware of this. Rest assured, we have contacted an outside company to eradicate any potential issues they may find.

I am so pleased to hear that you had positive experiences through the reception staff and your check-in / out was smooth. We are also pleased to hear your positive thoughts on the functionality, design and layout of our rooms.

Please rest assured that we will work diligently at improving our product and guest experience. Hopefully at some point in the future, you'll give us another opportunity to try us again. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Joe Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,846 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £117 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing