We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights en route to Whistler. Large, conformable room, with a very comfy bed. The hotel is perfectly located for a short break in Vancouver, almost everything is in walking distance. tourist attractions, shopping, bars and restaurants. My only crtisism was the 'mood" lighting in the room. For this read "dark" to the point of gloominess. Why oh why do hotel interior designers take out the ceiling lights in favour of lamps. Great for chilling out but if you want to read a travel guide or the newspaper, yet alone apply a bit of make-up very frustrating!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very professional staff at every level. Interesting meeting space for small group. Great location.
Beautiful junior suite. Diva is a great restaurant but limited menu. Group menu is extremely expensive, too expensive.
Thank you to all the team of this wonderful hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite is very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudetteraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Junior Suite is also a personal favourite of mine, done in a tasteful modern style. We hope you are back again soon to enjoy it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a longer vacation in Vancouver. I got this for a bargain. It's a very smart place, right opposite the main mall (Pacific Centre). There aren't too many restaurants in the immediate couple of blocks, which is one of the few drawbacks here (more so given the price of the in room nibbles). We did suffer problems with elevator while there, but these were fixed in a day. Overall a stylish place, very good for business travellers in particular.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enfant_teribl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Met before the 2014 Vancouver Sun Run. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was smallish, but clean and comfortable. Bed was a tad firm for my liking, but not like sleeping in a board!
We couldn't ask for more!!! We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MagicoftheMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Great to hear that you stayed with us and we hope you had a great time during the run! Can't beat our location for the Sun Run! We look forward to seeing you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night for business. The staff were very helpful. The bellman David was extra nice. He explained were everything was and opened by balcony door for me (I had travel brain). The location is great....2 blocks from Robson, the Sky Train to the airport is just a 1-2 min walk, the water is a 5ish min walk and Pacific Centre is across the street. The price was right. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our location to be quite handy and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here over the long weekend to celebrate his birthday. We have both stayed at this hotel 4 times before. Luckily, we happened to find a Living Social voucher, and jumped right at the chance.


It's a very charming and beautiful hotel. Although it is showing its age, it has been very well kept. We decided to upgrade to a luxury king, as its the room we're used to (Living Social comes with deluxe room, but an upgrade is available at $10/night).

Rooms
- The size of the rooms are on par with other downtown Vancouver hotels
- Bathroom is fairly large
- Clean
- Thick towels
- No slippers (something I really enjoy having at 'luxury' hotels)
- Only 1 robe (although I know we could always call down and ask for another one, it's just not worth the hassle. It's very rare for us to go to a hotel and for there to be only one robe)

Health and Fitness centre
- There's a squash court! How cool!
- Pools are well maintained. Clean and not too "chloriney" as with other pools. We've consistently seen someone checking up on it as well as someone checking on the chemicals in the water.
- Gym is one of the best hotel gyms we've gone to. Although it is not new, both my boyfriend and I are gym rats, and we both agreed it has all the equipment you would really need for a decent strength training and cardio workout. There are ellipticals, treadmills, and stair climbers. The dumbbells go up to 60lbs. There is also a flat barbell bench with plenty of plates. There is also a machine that has all your basic exercises.

Service
- This is where the hotel falls short.

One of our room cards did not work upon check-in. Not a big deal, it happens. I go downstairs and speak with front desk, Ira, and she was pleasant and professional. After we left the hotel, we came back at about 12:30 am, and the same card somehow stopped working again. Okay, fine, we understand. We called front desk from the 15th floor phone, After calling twice, no one picked up, so we decided to trek back down to the lobby. Not a fun way to end off the night, but we're understanding.

This is where it unfolds. The front desk clerk, Eric Villard (? Vallard?), was rude, uninterested, unapologetic, and was just plain disrespectful. I have never ever met someone working at a so-called "luxury" hotel, that was this disrespectful. I find this to be a great shame, as many of the other workers were professional (valets, concierge, housekeepers, etc.). We were there for a bit, and waited and waited. Another worker had to help us get his attention. Eric came out looking sleepy eyed, but whatever, we're understanding.

I told him about my card not working. I do not work in the hospitality industry, but I would think it would go something like "I apologize for the inconvenience. What is your room number? For security, I would also require a piece of ID". Nope, instead, he asks "What is your room number? I need a piece of ID". Look, first of all, if i'm paying money for a luxury hotel, I don't care if you're actually sorry about a card not working. Out of professionalism, you say you are sorry. Do not just demand ID.

So fine, he was rude, I let that slide. While he was working on the computer, I commented that it was the second time this happened. Perhaps then he'll say something right? He did not even look up once to acknowledge my comment. Just merely smirked and continued typing. Wow. Do they train their staff here?

My boyfriend I asked him what would happen if a guest does not have ID on them. He explained, quite frankly and arrogantly, that usually they would fix the card and have them go and get their ID and come right back down. He ended off his little lecture with "Come on guys, it's security."

That was the final straw for me and my boyfriend. There is a certain amount of rudeness and belittling that we can take. We spewed on that this is not what hospitality is about, and he has no right to speak to us this way. He continued to try and justify his actions (really?), but quickly apologized. HALLELUJAH, I get an (haphazard) apology from this guy.

Perhaps, maybe, if he cared and realized the possible repercussions of his actions, he would've gone out of his way to apologize. Maybe just a phone call up to make sure we were able to get in. Nope, nothing. I would highly suggest either a) he finds another career path or b) undergo professional development courses.

Maybe he thought it would be fine treating just some Living Social customers like low class scum. Maybe we looked young and he didn't care. But my boyfriend and I are working professionals, and WERE repeat guests. The amount of disrespect we received turned us off from staying at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights recently for a business trip. Although the hotel is under renovation, the service was up to par. After arriving home, my wife realized she had left one of her coats in the closet. She called the hotel and they said they would try to locate it. They did and couriered it to us the next day. I am a President's Club member and this level of attention and care is one of the reasons I always stay at a Fairmont hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiantraveler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,846 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £118 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing