We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over after Rockie Mountaineer Train”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Tadcaster England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stop over after Rockie Mountaineer Train”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very comfortable hotel. Nothing too much trouble for the staff.Printed directions on how to get to another area of Vancouver including maps and which skytrain to get on and get off. Central place easy for the waterfront, Gastown, ChinaTown and Granville Island

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wispa9333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We do have an excellent location and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    586
    133
    35
    27
See reviews for
256
813
117
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Found easily enough, on a main street and fairly central to everything you want to see, on foot if your up for some walking. We never used public transport and longest walk was to Stanley park which was only about 30 mins I think.

Staff were helpful prior to arrival when I was after some help on directions and such. Throughout the stay they were very pleasant when required. We got a deluxe king room I think it was, on the 16th floor and this was massive, with a great bathroom. All toiletries (Molten Brown in fact) provided with dressing gown. Instead of usual kettle (available on request) you have the proper espresso type machine, which was all complimentary. No fault with the room at all, and we had a fairly nice view.

Location was great for us as we like to walk around and managed to navigate easily enough everywhere we wanted to go. Local transport is nearby if required and plenty of taxi's to hand.

Never had any food here, but gets good reviews in the local tourist type magazine, and looked nice but seemed quiet when we stayed so we opted for other places around town.

Also never used the pool facilities so can't comment here beyond confirming they exist!

Room Tip: Loved the King room, so would go for this if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family and I had a great time at the Metropolitan! We stayed for 4 nights in the suites and absolutely loved it! The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. I did feel some "snootiness" from 2 or 3 of the front desk staff but were nonetheless very helpful. The hotel is very well decorated, the rooms are clean with a "classic" style decor. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the convention center which makes the location great. The hotel also offers a decent gym and a very nice pool and hot tub which we used almost every day. Would absolutely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amgtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Be sure to try some of our desserts in Diva at the Met the next time you are here...you won't be disappointed I am sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Metropolitan for the fist time and my stay was very pleasant. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The only thing negative I have to say is, it's time to renovate your hotel. I highly recommend staying at Metropolitan Hotel, I will be back.

Room Tip: Fantastic location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There for two nights in may14,very comfortable hotel with a great pool and facilities,good view of Vancouver high rise from 17 th floor,two blocks up from the harbour and two blocks fron robson st shopping area,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We love our location and are happy that you have discovered why! We hope to see you back before summer is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights end of December until early January. The hotel itself is gorgeous. The rooms perfect. The location is prime for anyone who wants to enjoy what Vancouver has to offer. The staff are friendly and informative. The valet does an awesome job, they are both quick and efficient. I find Vancouver can sometimes be a little unfriendly and snobbish but this hotel does not give that experience or vibe at all. The restaurant is okay, a little pricy for the portion and the food was just Okay. Everything else made the stay worth it. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was there, alone, for two nights, and the hotel met all of my expectations. One of the reasons I chose it was for location: it's convenient to most downtown venues, less than a mile to Gastown, and a bit of a walk (mile or so) to Stanley Park. The Metropolitan is in good company on that block: next door is the Rosewood Hotel Georgia, across the street is the Four Seasons, and Pacific Center Mall. The staff were extremely attentive for my entire stay, even at my arrival which wasn't until 9:30 P.M. I was asked at the desk if I wanted higher or lower floors - I selected higher and was given room 1209. This was very quiet, except that I noted after rising in the morning that a garbage truck was making enough racket to be heard even at that level. Accommodation (2 queen beds) was very clean and complete, and wi-fi worked great. I ordered room service breakfast, and a very nice full breakfast was delivered exactly at the time requested - although it was expensive (I believe it was 32 CAD). I did not have a car so can't speak about the on-site parking. Was very happy overall and will likely return.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor - no matter which side you're on - if you want to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScannerGFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and that our staff ensured that we could attend to your requests. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,555 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,613 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing