We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and always a pleasure to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

upon your arrival you met by very friendly and professional staff under the leadership of their conch years Oliver Ng. Our suite was excellent and we enjoy the hyper allergenic floor they have in the hotel. Everything can or room was perfect and is extremely clean and comfortable. the bedding is of the highest quality in the bed was extremely comfortable. We run the 14th floor so there is no issue with street noise and obviously no issue with noise from the other rooms. Parking is extremely easy as all you do is drive into the driveway and they look after the rest. They have some incredible deals which makes it economic to stay at this excellent hotel opposed to some of the others in downtown Vancouver. I have been staying here for years and have never been disappointed in the hotel rooms, the service and the location is excellent.I travel the world and I believe this is one of the best hotels anywhere!

Room Tip: higher the floor the better! if you want to splurge I would highly recommend upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dad-jicase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

WOW! Love your review!! Thank you so much for always staying with us. Do let us know if there is anything that we can improve upon, as we are always striving to do better. Thanks so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here about a week ago. I love the location since it's just a few blocks away from the water. Unfortunately, the deluxe rooms are quite dated and loud and the carpets are thin. The safe doesn't work and the A/C doesn't get cold enough. Everything about the room is dated, like from the 70s or something. Bathrooms are standard. It's probably my fault because I didn't pay attention to the deluxe room photos but was impressed by the suite room photos. You can hear everything even from the 16th floor where we were: sirens, cars, birds from the harbor, even people chatting loudly on the street. They rated themselves as four star hotel but I beg to disagree. Maybe the suites are, but the deluxe rooms (at least where we stayed on the 16th floor) are definitely not - it's more like a motel or 2 stars at best. See attached photos. Luckily, I didn't pay 100% of the price because I used my reward points but I still had to pay an extra $138 for 2 nights (on top of the points) since my points weren't enough. At the door, it is posted that they charge $400 a night. That's a bit much for a 2-star accommodation. When I asked to be transferred to a more quiet room, I was told that they are fully booked and only the suites are available for an upgrade of extra $100 a night. No thank you. I probably will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nenita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Location, rooms & facilities all are very good. Close to lots of lovely restaurants & bars & just a few minutes to all transport & Canada place. All staff more than helpful. Rooms very comfortable & pool, gym & hot tub very good. We didn't try restaurant but it does look nice.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kathrine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, but a little sad you never tried Diva at the Met... it is an icon in the city... but that will have to wait for your next visit I guess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location near good restaurants, sightseeing and the gallery. Typical Vancouver prices (ie higher than we're used to) but everything costs more there. Comfortable bed, well appointed room. We were there in a heat wave and found our room's air conditioning cold, and hard to control - ended up leaving balcony door open a lot. Appreciated having that little balcony as it is rare to even find hotels with windows one can open nowadays. Like a lot of the businesses on the street, the hotel had its doors wide open whilst blasting the air conditioning - we figure they don't need AC that much in Van but whatever the reasoning, it seems a shameful waste of resources. Wifi connection was quite spotty. Staff were friendly and helpful, valet parking were fast to bring the car around - which one would expect given the high cost of valet parking. Easy walking distance to a vibrant waterfront, to Robson and Granville streets, and a short hop over to Stanley Park. Would stay again. Regret that we forgot our iPod as the room had a dock.

Room Tip: not sure they all have balconies but definitely ask for one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Some of the rooms on our fourth floor have little patios which are nice to relax on. Most of the homes in Vancouver do not have AC... which comes to many as a surprise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My 16 year old and I stayed overnight at the Metropolitan after getting a great price online. From check-in to check-out, we were treated to excellent service, food and environment. Comfy beds, great bathroom items, delicious room service, a lovely urban view - a definite return destination for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bigmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Great comments! Thank you so much and I am glad you got to enjoy some of Diva at the Met's sensations! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've put our clients at the Metropolitan before but had never stayed there. We found the staff to be very friendly, the room was of a good size and very well-equpped with a great bathroom and fluffy robes. The rates are quite fair for Vancouver. A large mall is just across the street from the hotel, and one can walk all over the downtown area quite easily. As others have said, the Skytrain is very close by so it makes airport travel easy and cheap. If one wants to, you can walk to the cruise terminal in maybe 10 minutes. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel Agent Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you tried out Diva at the Met too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location of this hotel is very convenient, in the middle of Downtown Vancouver. Lots of dining, shopping and sightseeing (Gas Town, China Town) within walking distance, and the Sky train station Vancouver Downtown is around the corner. From this station you can easily travel conveniently to/from Vancouver International Airport for only CAD 4 per person, which sure is a lot cheaper than using a taxi. Even better is purchasing a day ticket for +- CAD 9, which enables you to travel to all zones using busses, (Sky) trains and the Sea bus to Vancouver North. An ideal way to get to know the city and the people living in it, and more fun than the Hop On, Hop Off busses.

The hotel itself felt a bit 'old glory'-ish. The room we got was nice, having everything you need on a city trip. The bed we got was very comfortable. The decoration is a bit old fashioned, maybe stylish in the 90s, but not anymore. The bathroom was large and clean. It's mainly the technique The Met obviously neglected the last few years: The Wi-Fi is horrible, unreliable and uncomfortable because The Met uses several access points with different names on each floor. So you keep on switching between weak signals. We tested this with several devices on different floors, and kept on experiencing a very slow connection at different times on different days. E.g. Skyping was (nearly) impossible. And although you have many TV channels, most of them are analog (on a large LCD screen), which displays an unclear and fragmented picture.

The staff ranged from very helpful and friendly, to trying to ignore you as much as possible. Typical, but we didn't mind the second category too much as the weather in Vancouver was very good during our stay and Vancouver is a beautiful city to explore.

We would have given a 3.5, but Tripadvisor does not support this. Because of the super location, the reasonable price we paid for the room and some of the gems in the personnel department The Met gets a 4* rating. This time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmenemNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,662 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £114 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing