We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I stayed for two nights at the Metropolitan and found it to be a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The location is great with Pacific Centre and the Skytrain right across the street. I used the fitness facility and the health club facilities and everything was in good working order and very clean. I only had two slight problems. The first was that my room service coffee ($11.42) was removed from my room while I was out for a few minutes. I called down and they sent up a new pot immediately. The other was the construction noise. I had about 2 hours at the end of the day to relax before a dinner meeting, however there was such a loud noise coming from the construction next door that I was unable to relax and developed a whopper of a headache. I mentioned it to the desk clerk and she apologized although there wasn't much she could do.
All in all, I was impressed. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the facilities were clean, the location was good and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

The staff are excellent and most helpful. Location is good especially if you need access to the skytrain or other train line. Granville Street Mall is just a short walk as is Gastown and shopping is just across the road. Yes the hotel rooms are a bit dated but they are clean, tidy and of a reasonable size. Note however that the hotel next door is undergoing significant re-building, not a problem but it can be noisy during the day. Views limited as well. Business suite more for conferences however access was 24/7 by the front desk.

Would book again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Our family just stayed at the Metropolitan for four nights. The rooms are clean, modern, spacious and well lit. The bathroom is large and has all amenities. There is a nice lap pool, weight room and exercise area. Every area of this hotel is very well maintained, very clean and bright. Every single staff person with whom we came into contact went above and beyond to answer our questions and make sure we were comfortable. The location is downtown and right near the train station and every business one would need during a stay in a big city. We had an excellent rate through Travelzoo that included free parking. Because of this, I highly recommend The Metropolitan and look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Arrived in Vancouver Saturday mid-day, for overnight before embarking on cruise Sunday afternoon. Could not get early check-in, but hotel was very gracious, receiving our luggage and responding to inquiries about the surrounding area. Hungry and tired, we thought to perhaps hang out in the hotel restaurant over a bite of lunch. Prices were outrageous, but we were prepared to indulge that. No, what turned us out on unfamiliar streets was the breath-taking SNOBBERY of the restaurant staff. The restaurant was open, but completely empty, and apparently they wanted to keep it that way! Ignored us totally, leaving us standing at the door, looking expectantly back at the staff clustered around the bar. . . It was imPRESSive! We looked at the menu, ascertained that the restaurant was INDEED "OPEN," so to speak, and finally left before our laughter overcame us. We were guessing they were 'WAY better than some middle-aged US woman with her grey hair in a bun! ! ! We wound up walking about three or four blocks out to the Vancouver Museum of Art, where a very attractive little restaurant was serving lunch - - and managed to score a little art, besides!

The next morning at checkout, we wanted to leave our luggage at the hotel while we completed the (terrific) trolley tour we had begun the afternoon before. The head bellman said they would be happy to keep it for us, but recommended that we take it on to the dock and check it in, thus missing the crowds that would develop that afternoon. GRAND advice, and we took it, leaving us free to just sail through the rest of our day in Vancouver until time to get on the boat.

Vancouver is a spectacular city, and we wished so much that we had scheduled another night or two there, so as to more fully enjoy the beauty. The trolley tour runs in two loops, and is the ideal way to hit the sights quickly. With extra time to get off and back on, we could have seen most of the city from that tour. Even so, we got a thorough introduction to the great beauty and fascinating charms of the city. A-Plus all the way.

And we entirely recommend the Metropolitan - - just not its self-important, supercilious, snobby, snooty naught of a restaurant. Of course, if they kept up that level of "service," they're probably out of business by now. Maybe a Wendy's takeover? ? ? :~)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkansasTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed here before a cruise to Hawaii and it was perfect.
Room on 14th floor had a lovely outlook, very comfy bed, lots of storage space, an elegant bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries, and was very quiet.We also had a tiny balcony that looked onto Howe Street.
Free wireless Internet in the Lobby.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast our first morning in the restaurant,and thought it was very expensive, no wonder it was so quiet!!Lukewarm coffee, bacon and eggs,no side plate for toast,service not as slick as it should have been.
Next day, we walked out of hotel ,turned left and found Mario's Coffee Shop, where he will make you "the best coffee in Vancouver" and it was!.
Across the road is a large shopping mall with a food court which is very good.
On the morning of our cruise, we took a ten minute stroll down Canada Place and were able to watch the passengers get off the Rhapsody of the Seas and some of the stores being loaded on for our cruise
An excellent hotel with a great location,lovely quiet rooms and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The staff was incredibly helpful and polite. It's also in a great downtown location - walking distance from great shops, restaurants, clubs, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jem234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed here before our cruise to Alaska. Perfect location, right opposite a mall. Very quiet, good sized room with everything we needed included free internet connection. Staff very helpful. Didn't eat there as we were out and about most days and apart from charging a huge amount for a very short overseas call I can thorougly recommend staying here (just don't phone abroad!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £119 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing