We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal, centrally located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
LEYLAND Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An ideal, centrally located hotel.”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in total in 2 different rooms. Both were extremely well-appointed and very clean. I was particularly impressed by the Molton Brown toiletries! The staff were very helpful and responsive, providing a tea-kettle and fresh milk and additional towelling robe within minutes of the request being made.
We made very good use of the swimming pool and hot tub, often having these facilities to ourselves. Contnental breakfast was included in our room rate and was very good indeed.
When we left for a night visit to Victoria, the hotel retained our main luggage with no problem at all.
Our only quibble was with the very high car parking charges. $30 CAD a night, whch with additional taxes came to $121 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    580
    130
    33
    26
See reviews for
248
804
116
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Vancouver. The location of the hotel is not bad, right in downtown. However, couple of things I don't like about them:

- Beds are too small. We have two tiny beds in our room

- "Free" internet access is way too slow. They advise it as free, but it doesn't work most of the time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel after returning from an Alaskan cruise. I thought there may have been a problem checking in so early (before 8am) but was delighted to be greeted with helpful staff who checked me in easily, with no hassle. The room was clean and spacious, fantastic bed, big bathroom with powerful shower, tv with lots of free channels and plenty of space for my growing luggage.
The hotel has a gym, pool ( big enough for lengths), jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. There is enough equipment for a decent workout or just relax in one of the spa rooms.
The concierge was very helpful in suggesting restaurants for whatever food I was looking for and phoned ahead to make sure I had a reservation.
Best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right in the middle of Downtown - a step across the street and you're in the Pacific Centre, a couple of blocks up you're on Robson, a few blocks down your at Canada Place - perfect if you're just wandering around. It's also near a drop-off/pick up point for the city tour, very handy.
One fear I had was that construction work was going on next door - I never heard a thing and I was at the side that I expected to hear building work going on.
All in all, a great place to stay if you want to be in the heart of downtown Vancouver..!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baillie3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We ended our 10 day journey through Canada with 3 nights at the Metropolitan Hotel. The hotel was fabulous, it’s located right in the middle of Downtown Vancouver, walking distance to Robson Street, and short cab rides from places like Stanley Park, Yaletown and Granville Island. Vancouver is a unbelievably beautiful city and we look forward to going back, there’s so much we missed out on seeing. We will definitely be making a trip back to Vancouver and the Metropolitan Hotel soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurminderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The Metropolitan is always a safe bet for quiet comfort in the downtown whether for business or leisure. Lovely pool and workout area. Rooms well equipped. Beds super comfortable

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This was our last stop on our honeymoon. I booked the romance special and we got upgrade to a junior suite. Included in the price were $150 at the Diva restaurant, a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolate covered strawberries, $15 iTunes card and breakfast in bed. The room was very spacious. The service was quick (room service, front desk and valet parking). The Diva was the cherry on top.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2010

If you want to stay in the heart of Vancouver, close to sites and subway, this is the place for you. We grabbed the sky train from the airport to downtown and the hotel was steps from the station. The superior service we received will make us go back and stay for our next trip. All the staff went out of our way to make it a pleasant experience. Rooms are clean and the staff are great. We were upgraded from twins to a King. Beds and pillows made it hard to get up and out in the morning. They were great at offering restaurant advise and the exact rates of cabs to locations. Great Pool to do laps in the morning too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing