We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better Options Elsewhere”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On balance, we were somewhat disappointed with the property that is the Renaissance Vancouver Harborside. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are pretty small. Our room looked out over the harbor and would have been very nice had the view not been partially obstructed by two very tall buildings, and we were on the 16th floor. The lobby is spacious and fairly nice, though the average visitor will likely spend little time there.

We ate two reasonable buffet breakfasts there. While the food was acceptable, it was nothing particularly out of the ordinary.

The location was also average. The hotel is not particularly "right next to" any major sites, though it is a 10-15 minute walk to Stanley Park and some very scenic waterside walking paths. The purpose of our visit was our maiden trip to Bard On The Beach, and the bus we took to get to the Shakespeare festival was around a 10 minute walk. The ferry to Granville Island -- which was very impressive -- was about a 20 minute walk.

I found the concierge and all employees I spoke with to be personable and friendly.

On balance, the Renaissance Harborside is a hotel I wish I could like more -- we just didn't find it to be comparable to the typical luxury you get for a $300 per night hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    1,223
    483
    170
    70
See reviews for
617
1,110
152
986
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is obviously older, though the lobby has definitely been redone to be more modern. We were greeted promptly and politely by all staff we encountered. The gentleman who checked me in offered me complimentary WiFi access which was nice. I'm starting to notice this at some hotels though I haven't quite figured out what you have to do to get it. The other couple I was traveling with did not get complimentary WiFi, though I shared. I had a corner room that quite large but it became very clear that the room was in dire need to renovation or redecoration. It has ugly wall paper, and funky coloured carpet. The mattresses have seen better days. It almost devoured me when I got in -- soft. The bathroom looked like it had a new granite counter top put onto the old vanity. The doors were old and had large gaps so sound travelled through. This includes the sounds from outside the old windows and from the hallway. While I have no concerns about the service the owners of this hotel really need to invest some money into bringing it on par with many other nicer hotels in Vancouver before I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecessTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsstOpsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear RecessTime,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that our staff were able to provide great service during your stay with us and will share your feedback with the team. I also appreciate the comments regarding the condition of your guest room and would like to discuss the details further so that we may address these issues. Please email me at bryan.watson@marriott.com at your convenience. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and show you the great experience that is expected when staying at a Renaissance hotel.

Warm Regards,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After staying with Marriot & Coast hotels in BC, tried here for a change....big mistake. Queues at check in, queues for breakfast & an extra $6 for a cappuccino? slow service and a grumpy bar manager that insisted that we couldn't use the empty balcony on a warm evening. Add to that rough towels, empty mini bar, 10mins to retrieve my car from the valet. Rooms nice enough but I would advise you use the Marriot opposite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsstOpsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Lee B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. I greatly appreciate the feedback, as it is this information that helps us to improve our service. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at Bryan.Watson@renaissancehotels.com so I may find out further details regarding your experience. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and to display the high level of service that is typical of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was at our annual Epicure Selections Conference at the Vancouver Convention Ctr. Staying at the Renaissance Vancouver was just a few stone throws away. Many of our Consultants, Leaders & Directors stayed at this location as well. I arrived before check in time and was able to keep my luggage secure until access to our room. Wow, one of the door men opened the cab door before I had to. That was so nice because my hands were full of many other things. The pool was lots of fun and our view of the bay was just so beautiful. At the end of our stay our invoices were slid under the door and we were all paid up. So no line ups downstairs in the lobby. Parking was secure even with posted "Do not leave anything in your car"(or something like that)

Room Tip: Either side would be great I am sure. Just a note not certain if Museums is close, I do know Vancouv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton rouge
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Overall had a good hotel experience. They charge your card as soon as you book it so you're kind of in for whatever; but I would book it again. They upgraded us to a bay view room on check in and that was very nice. Friendly staff and efficient check in. Room was commodious and nice facilities with pool and hot tub. Breakfast cost me $127 for my family of 4 but was nice food and service. close to Canada cruise ship terminal. close to Vancouver Seawall. We flew in from Louisiana so we were ready for bed about 2100 local time. unfortunately were forced to hear the conversation of guests staying in room next to us when we were ready to sleep. They were not speaking loudly so I couldn't really complain. Just wish the hotel had more insulation in the walls. If you stay here, I recommend you speak softly in your hotel room especially if speaking about anything you prefer to keep private.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in late-May for 3 nights for an international conference and found the hotel good from a "value" perspective. While it is not a 4- or 5-star property compared to its competitors (two Fairmonts and Marriott Pinnacle) close by, it is functional in terms of good food, comfortable if a bit tired rooms and a nice gym along with prime access to the trail into gorgeous Stanley Park. However, it's ability to host a convention is questioned given the dingyness of some of its space, especially below ground level and when the hotel is full and running multiple conventions, the elevators are quite slow.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salima L, Front Office Manager at The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, as your comments are very much valued and appreciated. I am glad you had the opportunity to eat in our hotel at the fabulous p2b Bistro & Bar and enjoy the beautiful seawall in Stanley Park. Our location is definitely one of our biggest assets!

Our commitment to investing in our property will continue throughout the year, including updates to the elevators. We appreciate your business, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you and solicit more feedback at your convenience. My email address is salima.ladha@renaissancehotels.com, and my direct line is 604-691-2760.

Warmest Regards,
Salima Ladha
Operations Manager, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A very good hotel in a great location. Very friendly and courteous staff. Nice restaurant in the lobby. Rooms could use a little updating, especially in the bathrooms. Rooms near the elevators are especially noisy, but away from the elevators are fairly well sound insulated. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Coal Harbor but away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,290 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront

Property: The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Address: 1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 3T3, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining Vancouver flare with opulent accommodations, exceptional service and a breathtaking view of Coal Harbour and the city, the Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront welcomes travelers to discover the vibrant atmosphere of Downtown Vancouver. Our 442 guestroom provides a well-designed harbourfront escape, with locally inspired, full-service amenities and personalized service for your stay in Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vancouver
Vancouver Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing