We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Loved this Hotel. We stayed here the first 3 nights & last 3 nights of our holiday in a 1 bedroom standard suite then an executive studio. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and well equipped kitchen. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is fine and like the fact you collect it and take it back to your room to eat. Good location close to beach, restaurants and bars. Quiet location, the view of the back street wasn't great but the distant mountains more than made up for it!

Room Tip: Front of hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybertyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just checked out this morning after a 5 night stay. We found the staff on the front desk very helpful and provided us with great sightseeing options using public transport instead of organised tours. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing Vancouver this way and covered lots of ground during our stay. Our 1 bedroom unit on the 5th floor was spacious and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job. The only downside to our unit was the bedroom faced a back alley and because of the position of an air conditioning unit in the bedroom window, we were woken at night by noise coming from nearby restaurants etc. Sunset is a short walk from David Village which has a large number of restaurants and other facilities such as supermarkets, pharmacies etc. Between 7-10 a continental breakfast is served from a breakfast bar downstairs and then taken back to your unit to eat. Would highly recommend Sunset Inn & Suites.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and accommodation was perfect. Three of us shared a 1 bedroom suite - 2 twin beds and sofa bed. Plenty of room. Kitchen was well equipped - we cooked a 4 course dinner inspired by produce from granvile island market. Breakfast set-up is great.
Ferry to market just down the road. Walking distance to downtown, Stanley park and yaletown - otherwise bus is just on corner.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was spotless. The list of recommended dining options was really helpful and reliable, plus there was a list of food trucks and locations - totally cool!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just like what the other reviewers had mentioned, the alley way wasn't too pleasant. Just ignore it! Also, make sure you get a room facing the front...not the alley! Good thing we got rooms facing the front. Anyway...The customer service at the front desk was very friendly and the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. It's right on Davie Street so we walked to the stores and restaurants. I wish there were more variety and choices in the contintenal breakfast. Other than that, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JQuest81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were a bit worried when we first saw the alleyway at the back where we had to park our hire car and wondered if we had made the right decision, but once we had checked in (David on the desk is very nice) and saw our room, we realised it wasn't so bad after all. Our suite was lovely, roomy, decorated nicely and had everything we needed. We were on a high floor and had a pretty good view all around. Our bed was very comfortable and it was good to have the kitchen area available. We were close to Davie Street shops and restaurants and ordered some great Asian food which we brought back and ate in our suite with some wine we had just purchased from Kelowna vineyards on the way from Banff. In the morning you collect a choice of continental type breakfast goodies from the lobby and bring them back to your room to eat.
Actually a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Met by a friendly reception, nice suite, well equipped kitchen. Everything worked well. Great location and free parking too. We enjiyed the two nights, recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions during May 2012. Each visit was most enjoyable.

The rooms are spacious, beds extremely comfortable, we had a balcony which was nice too. (ask for a view over the water )Free wifi and ipod station. Breakfast was good , collect it from downstairs then take it up to your room to consume at your leisure. The area is safe and convenient one street away from a strip with lots of shops and restaurants. (the greek restaurant always had a line of people waiting outside for the next available table.)
The shipping terminal was about a 10 to 15 min walk downhill, an easy walk which we did pulling our suitcases.
Vancouver is a very clean and lovely city and the hotel is in a really nice neighbourhood and with excellent and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £79 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing