We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My partner and I just got home from BC. For the second time in a few years, we stayed at Sunset. For an all suite hotel within walking distance of everything in the city, you can't beat the value. Only a couple of blocks from the beach, Stanley park, the Granville ferries and Robson street, it's out of the "mainstream" of activity. We wouldn't call the standard suites luxurious, but for a place to crash, the beds are comfy and you have a full clean kitchen, living space and a small balcony. The staff are friendly and helpful and always willing to point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went from Montreal to New Zealand with our familly of 4 and had a stay of 3 days in Vancouver . The Sunset Inn and suites have been fantastic! You couldn't asked for better personal service; The staff were all really friendly, smilling, welling to help and it felt almost like being home as you didn't feel like a customer (Number) but almost as part as a familly. We felt safe. The rooms were spacious, clean and really close (walking distance) to everything. Balconny wasn't great but at least you did have one and it was well equiped with seats and table. For us there is no question, our next trip there we won't be surfing the internet we will be booking with them and enjoying an other great holiday. Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and it was very quiet no matter if the rooms were fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were delighted with every part of our stay at this quaint little residential hotel. The staff was excellent particularly Dave who went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasurable. We loved being in the neighborhood setting and within walking distance to so many fun things to do. Suites were perfect and clean and we would not have changed a thing about our stay :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor VIP level and it had great views down to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My family and I stayed at the Sunset Inn for one night on our trip to Whistler. Upon check-in, the staff was so friendly, helpful and professional. We stayed in a 11th floor suite that was updated, clean and comfortable. My kids stayed on the two pullout sofas and my husband and I stayed in the king separate bedroom. We were surprised to have a really nice view of Vancouver! It's set in a quiet area so noise was not an issue. One very small issue that could easily be remedied -- the main room does not have any type of blackout shades on the large sliding doors/windows that line the room.

Great location with many restaurants in walking distance as well as the ferry to Granville Island (DO NOT MISS GOING TO THIS MARKET! AMAZING!).

I would completely stay here again. As a side note, my 7 year old son left his special blanket at the hotel and they promptly found it in the room, and even mailed it to us in Whistler. Talk about great customer service - thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogamom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We chose to stay here during our 5 night visit based on the reviews that we had read on Trip Advisor. The hotel did live up to the reviews. We had an exceutive 1 bedroom suite on the 11th floor. It was very comfortable and large. The sofa bed which my 7 year old son used was very comfortable, not likesome of the sofa beds that he had used over our Canadian trip. The continental breakfast was fine. My son loved the jelly beans that you can pick up as you go in and out. The hotel is well located and even to walk to Gastown is only about 30 minutes. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The best place that we visited was the Telus World of Science, we spent about 5 hours there and my son did not want to leave. It is the best science musuem that I have come across.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank teacher42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We chose to stay here during our four days in Vancouver based on the good reviews and really enjoyed our stay. We were surprised on our arrival to be awarded a free upgrade to our room and it was beautifully appointed. The executive suite had a full kitchen, two big screen televisions, separate bedroom and bath and a tiny private balcony with an impressive view. The room was well stocked with amenities (toiletries, free newspaper, free wifi, bathrobes, ironing board and iron, etc.). I love a hotel that provides a guest guide in book form with policies and suggested eateries and theirs was well done.

The staff was super friendly and the continental breakfast was convenient if not terribly fancy. I like that we could grab what we needed and eat up in our room, rather than sit in the lobby like so many places seem to insist upon. The location was great as well and we wore ourselves out walking to many downtown points of interest.

It was nice having a place to park the car, although the garage entrance is a bit tricky to negotiate. If we're ever in Vancouver again (and we'd like to be) then we'll happily book another stay at the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: The higher floors seem to house the Executive Suites, and only some of those have HD television. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omnivore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was such a good choice for a 2 night stay in Vancouver before taking an Alaskan cruise. We had an amazing room - large suite with an exceptionally comfortable bed, full kitchen and well-furnished living-room with dining area, plus a small balcony from where we had a lovely view of False Creek. The continental breakfast (collected from the lobby to eat in our room) was basic but perfectly adequate, and we enjoyed the freedom of being able to eat in our room without the formality of a dining-room. The reception staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, and they gave us very good advice on local restaurants. The included wi-fi was a bonus as we could book tickets for Bard on the Beach from my laptop, and reception printed out the confirmation. The position was excellent - very close to the lovely walk alongside the beach, and just a few minutes from the ferry to Granville Island. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for an executive suite and felt it was definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,758 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £102 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing