We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this site, and were not disappointed. Annabelle greeted us with a warm smile and great information on the area! The lobby and breakfast area are quite small, but it was fine. Our room was more than we had expected! A nice kitchen with everything we needed for a 3 night stay! A great little living area with a flat screen TV and a nice bedroom and bathroom. Very clean, except for the balcony which had pigeon "poop" all over it, and the windows which needed cleaning inside and out. Those two things were minor compared to the positives that we found. This hotel is in a great location and is an easy walk to Yaletown. We walked to Rogers Arena and to Gastown. Most everything is pretty close. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn & Suites and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive, clean place to stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the front of the hotel. The other side can be loud and not as pretty of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomomma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,479 - 1,485 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed in the Sunset Inn and Suites for 6 days in October. Very central location for downtown Vancouver just off Davie street. The rooms are clean and inviting with a little kichen/dining area. Breakfast was a treat as you can make your own fresh waffles along with cereal, coffee fruit etc and bring it up to your room. Staff were most accomodating and friendly. Also a small balcony which was a bonus though the view was not great. Overall, if your looking for a decent place to stay in Vancouver at a reaonable price, I would highly recommend the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: Get room with front facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel doesn't seem like much at first, but we had a very nice stay.

One of the things that struck me about it was that it is very compact. From the small lobby to the tiny elevator to the economy sized rooms, there is very little extra space here. That's not to say it's uncomfortable, quite the opposite actually. It's cozy and that is just fine with me.

The suite was much more modern than I expected. There are laminate floors and a nice decor. And the room was super clean.

The kitchen was more than we expected and had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hot pot, toaster and stove/oven. Real dishes in the cupboards were nice to have. Also, there is a dining table that seats 4.

The bathroom was small, but I appreciated a heating lamp and good quality toiletries (Bath and Body Works). They also provide a grooming kit with qtips and cotton balls as well as mouthwash, which I rarely see these days.

The king sized bed takes up most of the bedroom, but it was comfy. We requested a Graco Pack n Play for our son. It was in great condition.

Location is really fun, just one block down from Davie in the West End. Lots of restaurants just steps from the hotel.

The staff was very friendly. Loved talking to both the guys at the front desk.

The breakfast was okay. Breads and juice mostly. They do have a waffle station, but we didn't use it.

We would stay here again.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elvisgirl317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was so friendly, welcoming and accommodating on both occasions that we will not hesitate to stay here whenever we are in Vancouver. Elvis and the front desk were always ready to help, had great knowledge of the area and attractions and places to eat. The location looks out of the way but works well with good places to eat and drink on Davie street and still walking distance to most areas of the city. This worked for us as a couple and as a young family.

Room Tip: Rooms are consistent in standard across the building and depends if you want a view if so go for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent location to start with. In the heart of the city, a block away from the Davies street surrounded by coffee shops, restaurants, grocery stores etc. Do visit the Kin's Farm Market on the Davies street for your grocery and fresh stuff shopping. I went for my daily run from the hotel to the Stanley Park, along the sea wall that borders city's coastline wrapping around Stanley Park... enjoy the Forest Trails, English Bay, Beach Pools etc.

We (self+wife+5 yr old) stayed in an executive studio suite facing away from the Burnaby street (overlooking Davies street) with two double size beds... it was perfect size room for us. Interiors were newly done up, homely kind of feeling with a dining area, fully equipped kitchen with all necessary stuff required. Apart from the big window panes, the room also had a small balcony, which offered great views to the city skyline and mountains above the back alley.

The staff were very friendly and helpful...gave us tips, explained places on maps... we could pick up a few DVDs for my daughter from the reception and they had a decent collection for all tastes.

Beds by spring air, pillows - new and very comfortable, LCD TV, DVD Player, clock radio, iphone/ipod player all there... Internet speed was very good and uninterrupted. You can make free local calls. I could also take out free print outs from the hotel reception for my flight tickets etc. They also have different travel adapters, umbrellas in case you need one.

Newspaper was delivered well in time... housekeeping team was very good and each and everything in the room was spik and span. Toiletries in place and clean towels... They definitely deserve an applause.

Breakfast - little problematic but not a show stopper. There is no dining area due to space constraints. So, you have to carry back what you want. They have a small area where they lay out basic stuff in the morning - such as few types of breads, jams, butter, marmalade, fruits, 2-3 types of juices, tea and coffee. The best part was the waffle station... you can take the batter and make your own waffles. But if you ask me that was good enough to start the day unless you are too fussy.

Do ask for corporate discounted rates as I got a good deal after I discussed that.

All in all - highly recommended and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashimprabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I spent 8 nights here. We had great service, the rooms were spacious and clean. The beds are topnotch and incredibly comfortable. The hotel is minutes walk to most amenities. You can walk anywhere downtown in less than 45 minutes. We really liked having the separate living room and kitchen areas. The continental breakfast is adequate and the waffles were good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikefromto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I had just left a poky room in New York when we walked into Sunset Inn and Suites. What a difference. The room was roomy, had all you could need including a kitchen and the staff were exemperally (cannot spell but you get the point). The hotel is situated in a nice neighbourhood, only 5 minutes walk to shops and buses and 10 minutes walk to the sea promenade. As we had no car we walked everywhere and caught the odd bus. Prices were very reasonable and 5 minutes walk from the hotel was a restaurant, "Denny's" this was also excellent.
We spent most days in Stanley Park and walking along the promenade. The weather was a nice 24 degrees
It was a bit strange getting our breakfast and taking it back to our room but we soon got into the swing of things, and if you find this too much of an inconvenience you can cook your own within your own kitchen as everything is provided (except food obviously). Everywhere was clean and well maintained and the reception staff were outstanding. Anything you wanted to know, one of them had an answer.
They even have a laundry which unfortunately I had tyo use but all clothes were clean and dry, including a denim skirt.
I cannot think of one negative thing to say and believe me that takes some doing.
Well done Sunset Inn!!

Dianne

Room Tip: A front room possibly has better outlook, but how much time to you spend in the room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,759 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £103 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing