We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made Vancouver even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Made Vancouver even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is the sort of one-of-a-kind places that make Trip Advisor invaluable. We had a wonderful three-night stay. They clearly make a huge effort to make your visit to Vancouver the best possible. We had an executive studio suite on the eighth floor. At first I worried about possible noise from the alley behind us, but it never woke us at night (and I’m a light sleeper). Continental breakfast was good and we enjoyed fresh fruits, breads and coffee. Everyone at the desk was nice as can be, but we have to especially thank Elvis who helped us plan our days. In particular, he alerted us to the fact that every night near sunset the crows and seagulls all take off in one direction, a phenomenon we witnessed our last evening. We enjoyed the Capilano Suspension Bridge, Whistler, Grouse Mountain, Granville Island, the River Rock and Edgewater Casinos, Sunset Beach and meals at Cactus Club, the Tea House in Stanley Park (both with English Bay views), the Bridge House at Capilano and the Granville Island Public Market. Housekeeping also kept the room spotless! Convenient location, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DoDeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    645
    95
    22
    10
See reviews for
700
884
113
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is my first time travelling to Vancouver and this hotel impressed me so much. The kitchen device is good for family stay and the staff is so nice. The only thing I may complain is the narrow pathway to the parking basement. I scratched my car one day when I found the basement is full. After that I found I can also park on the ground at the back of the hotel and no staff told me that before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUOGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Sunset is a fine option for staying in Vancouver's West End. Location is close to Stanley Park, a few blocks away from the ferry to Granville Island, and one can access city locations easily by public transportation, though if you have a car, secure parking is free. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are spacious and include kitchens. View are great from upper floor rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ger_and_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very friendly, helpful staff. Good location. We've stayed here several times and will be back. All they need to do is put some weather stripping around the room doors to eliminate the noise of slamming doors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The most enjoyable hotel with the greatest staff, the best value and perfect location in all of Vancouver. Simply put, there is no other hotel to stay at in Vancouver once you discover the Sunset Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had an Executive Suite with a bedroom, living room with pull out couch, full kitchen and dining area. Large HD TV's in bedroom and living room. We loved the suite. It was like having your own apartment in downtown Vancouver. We took advantage of the full kitchen so we didn't eat out every day. There is a supermarket approx. 5 minute walk from the building. Very quiet. No problems with noise from inside or outside the building. Staff are friendly and helpful. They can provide you with lots of information on tours, restaurants, book a taxi for the airport. Free Continental breakfast, waffles, cereal, fruit, coffee etc. Mainly residential buildings on the street. Restaurants, and other stores the next street up. Prime shopping area of downtown Vancouver (Robson Street) is about 10 - 15 minute walk. You can walk to just about any area of the downtown in a half hour. Access to the Sea Wall (walking/running/biking trail) is just a 5 minute walk. (Same5 minute walk takes you to the Aquatic Centre and ferry to Granville Island) Sky Train stations 10 - 15 minute walk. If you are looking for high end luxury this may not be the place for you. If you are an average person looking for a great place to stay this is the spot. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Clean, lovely room. No problems whatsoever.The breakfast bar includes a fresh waffle option using waffle makers and batter. Very yummy! Love that the suites have plates and cutlery, which makes eating much more pleasant than using plastic and takeout containers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing