We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Vancover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Vancover”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great value hotel In a safe feeling part of town
very clean spacious rooms
wanted for very little
staff friendly and helpful
Granville Island ferry a short walk away
within easy reach of all Vancouver has to offer


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mickyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    663
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
719
922
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The rooms at the Sunset are very well appointed and comfortable. The front desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a great addition.
The maid service is the only area where I think there could be a little improvement. The time of day when our room was serviced was not very convenient and spotty at best. I am sure had we mentioned this at the front desk, though that it would have been addressed. All in all an excellent place to stay in a very convenient location in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S & B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter Ranch, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Staff was really hospitable and went out of their way to be helpful. Elvis, Arabella and Dave especially supportive. Spent two different stays with Sunset within one week. First room was a one bedroom unit on 3rd floor ..not much of a view, a few candy wrappers found behind the night stand while looking for an outlet and the room smelled a little musty ...that said it was comfortable, breakfast a nice extra ...waffles served between 8-10 AM. We returned after a short stay in Victoria and had a studio on the 7th floor facing the back of the hotel...not too scenic but the elevation was more pleasant and the skyline nice ..room comfy no candy papers and no musty smell. The hotel was kind enough to hold our bags during our short sojourn to Victoria. A short walk to Davie street and lots of interesting shops and restaurants, sort of like west Hollywood. Enjoyed our stay....would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in an executive studio suite on the top floor of the hotel. It was spacious with a great view of Vancouver's north side mountains. The beds were great, the kitchen was complete and the staff members were extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a problem with the shower fixture in the tub which was addressed immediately by one of the staff members.

While the hotel does not have a waterview, its location is wonderful on a quiet residential sidestreet but around the corner from wonderful and reasonably priced restaurants, public transportation (including a stop for the Big Bus city tour - lots of fun and recommended.) We'll come back here again if we visit Vancouver. Many kudos to the very friendly and very helpful staff members.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my second stay. The convenience of location and facilities are excellent.
Close to the retail/cafes in Davie St and close to public transport.
The suites are spacious with all of the facilities needed for a confortable stay.
My only criticism is that daily servicing could be a little more thorough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Not knowing much about Vancouver areas before we got here I replied on Tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. This is a small hotel ( I think there are 50 rooms) and situated on a quiet tree lined street that runs parallel to Davies Street (think restaurants, drug stores etc). We were in the standard 1bedroom king suite for 4 nights.

STAFF: First upon arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They all seem to enjoy working at this hotel and it shows. The staff explained the way the hotel works as to when to expect housekeeping, how to handle breakfast etc and this information was also written in the guest binder. Rooms were cleaned well and everything was in working order. Cleaning staff did a nice daily job in our room.

STORAGE: There was plenty of closet space.2 bedroom closets (one with shelves top to bottom) and one for hanging clothes, a hall closet and a small closet next to the kitchen,
The bathroom has a small vanity-however there are 2 hooks on the back of the bathroom door for a hanging toiletry bag and a shelf that holds towels which could also be used for storage. We also took advise of some other travelers and go ourselves a foldable cloth box from the dollar store and tucked all of our toiletries into the box an placed it under the sink for easy stowage.

AIR CONDITIONING: In this type suite there are small portable fans in the living room and bedroom and a wall air conditioner in the bedroom. In June we found the AC was not needed. The breezes through the window were great and by evening we ended up shutting windows/balcony door as we were cold.

Our room's living room balcony faced the street and we mostly were seeing trees and leaves. Nice for privacy. The bedroom windows were to the alleyway.While there was a small amount of sounds from the back, these quieted down by early evening. I am usually a light sleeper and slept very well.

KITCHEN: Great for cooking or reheating restaurant left overs. For breakfast they leave you a tray in your room to take down your room dishes and serve the breakfast items on them. Then you can wash them upstairs.

CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST: Breads, multigrain bagels, croissants, english muffins, fresh fruit condiments of preserves, cream cheese, butter, honey and peanut butter; (grapefruit, bananas, apples), 3 types of cereals, 2 juices, great coffee, and waffle maker with 2 types of fruit speads for the waffles. Everything fresh and very good).
Gluten free bread and one cereal gluten free are also available.

LOCATION: This was a great central location. We like to walk so we walked to many of the places we wanted to visit. we walked to Stanley Park and to the Observation Deck and Gastown and to the Ferry to go to Granville Island.

PARKING: though we did not have a car there was secure parking which accessed the hotel though a doorway.

LAUNDRY: There are 2 washers and 2 dryers available. They provide laundry detergent.. The cost is $2 for the washer and $2 for the dryer.

ELECTRONICS
Plenty of wall outlets! Wifi is wireless and also a hard wire option. Desk area and dining table great for computer work.

SHOPS: Right on Davie street within a three block walk there is wonderful produce store, bakery with great breads, drug store/sundry which has groceries, fish market and many other places to get anything you need. A post office is located within the drug store. For those who like chains there is a Starbucks and Denny's right at the corner of Davies when you leave the Sunset Suites and walk about half a block.

DVD's for rental. They have a great selection of DVD's for rental of one night (free).

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. I would love to live here...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a fantastic 2 nights at the Sunset Inn & Suites. Great suite, breakfast & check in staff. Nice location and quiet in the evenings. Parked the car in a secure gated area and was able to walk to most places in the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,484 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,385 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing