We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in West End”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

In Seattle for a conference and happy to have found this great hotel. Very friendly and competent staff, comfortable suites, convenient location...all added up to a great stay!! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CathySMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn!

Pros-
Great location- one block from Davies street with heaps of cafes/shops, two blocks from the harbour, and a couple of kms from Stanley Park
Great staff- the staff were very helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to do.
Room- was very clean and good size

Cons- this is pretty minor, didn't bother us at all really
Small parking area- if you have a big vehicle, it is a tight parking area

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for a 1 or 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen in the Vancouver downtown core and not having much luck so broadened the search to the west end residential area where I found this hotel. The description exactly fit what we were looking for and when I called directly to inquire I was impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of Anabelle who, as it turned out also assisted us at check-in.

The hotel is a conversion from an existing apartment mid-rise and now offers 50 rooms from studios to 2 bedroom suites. Our 1 bedroom suite was well designed with floor to ceiling windows in the living room area which overlooked Sunset Beach and across the water to Vanier park. The modern bathroom was large and included a double sink and Jacuzzi tub with rain shower attachment. Some furnishings were beginning to show wear (i.e. dining chair frames loose).

The hotel offers a free continental breakfast which is limited to bread goods, cereals, fruit, and waffles (make your own). Due to space limitations guests must take their selections back to their rooms. Not a hardship however.

Parking is limited here but they do have a secure basement level lot on the same floor as the elevator bank. One problem is the tight radius upon exiting the basement. Unfortunately I ended up scraping my bumper (my fault) but I was far from the first as evidenced by all the paint marks on the wall. Management should strongly consider placing a highly visible sign directly at the damaged zone to warn guests.

In the end we really enjoyed our stay and loved being in the West End residential area, close to restaurants and shops but also the water with miles of beachfront trails while still being within walking distance of the downtown core. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites are the top 5 floors. Ask for a southern exposure overlooking the Sunset Beach area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is are favorite place to stay! We travel for medical reasons a number of times a year and we love Sunset inn & suites, the rooms all have a kitchen so we can make some of our own meals.The staff are all very freindly and very helpfull, The location is great as we can walk to restaurants and stores and also the hospital just down the street. Free parking is a great bonus as most places charge between 20-30 dollars a night in the downtown area.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were more than pleased with our stay at this hotel. The staff were amazing, especially if you have kids, the beds were very comfortable and the complimentary continental breakfast was great. Great value for what you get!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janetsinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Sunset Inn and Suites is an excellent choice for a home away from home in the wonderful city of Vancouver. The suites are large 1 bedrooms with a ful kitchen, dining room and balcony. The bed was comfortable. The units were clean and bright with air to cool it off during the heat of the day. Free continental breakfast and parking add to the value. The location is perfect for walking to the beaches and sea wall, Stanely Park or Yaletown. Davie street has restaurants and self serve food stores which provide you with everything you might need. Wander downtown and experience the real Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jovan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Handy location. Easy walking distance to English Bay, Stanley Park if you have the time rent a bike and ride round the park. Excellent facilities, great bonus of breakfast being included. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jakki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#22 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £97 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing