We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room and falcilities but inconsistant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good location, room and falcilities but inconsistant service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. 2 adults and 3 children in a one BR suite.
The hotel has a great location, in a small, quiet and safe neighborhood, but still close to Granville Island and Davie st with lots of restaurants and other shops.
It offers good facilities to the guests, such as free parking, coins operated laundry machine and dryer, a 24 hours coffee machine at the lobby with a nominal cost of 0.5 CAD for a cap and free breakfast, which is collected by the guests from the buffet and the hotel lobby to the room.
The room is also very nice and comfortable, although a bit dated and has some wear and tear, with 2 sofa beds in the leaving room, which each opened to a double bed. It also have an equipped kitchen, with everything needed to cook in the room.
we also enjoyed a balcony at floor 6 with a nice view to the bridge.
The less satisfactory issues we experience had to do with inconsistency of the service provided.
At check inn (and later as well) we were welcomed warmly and helpfully by the front desk employees. They were very efficient and warm and assisted us in the next days of our stay to decide were to visit.
as opposed to the good service mention above, we experienced a very cold and unthoughtful service from other employees of the front desk, which didn't respond or responded in a rude manner. the cleaning of the room wasn't always to our satisfaction (and I may comment that we kept a clean and tidy room and kitchen).
on two incidents our toilet was blocked, not because of something we though in it but probably an issue with the main plumbing. We called the reception and a guy was sent immediately to resolve the problem. He used a tool to open the block and went, living a very unpleasant mess behind him.
Sometimes we felt as if the hotel has enough guests and doesn't really care.
We would recommend the hotel mainly for families with patience to the level of service provided.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    674
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
731
932
116
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a great place to stay!! A block away from amazing shopping on Davie Street, this hotel is clean and quiet. The room was spacious and included a separate kitchen and dining area. In the hallway, we could hear the children in the next room making noise, but once inside our room, not a peep! The sound insulation in this building is very effective. And the bed -- super-comfortable!! I slept so soundly, I felt just great in that bed. All in all we were very happy at the Sunset Inn -- wish we had a reason to return to Vancouver just so we could stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at Sunset Inn and Suites recently with family. The view from our 9th floor room was truly amazing. The room was very clean and comfortable (including the sofa beds). Slept like a baby... The staff were all very helpful and accommodating. Walking distance to Robson Street for shopping and dining and also to Granville Island water taxi. Loved the location! I highly recommend this hotel for visitors wanting to have a nice, quiet place to rest after fun filled days!

Room Tip: Upper rooms have partial view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinLady_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A perfect place to stay while in the West End, Vancouver. Charming rooms with a home like feel. Close to English Bay, Granville Island and Robson Street shopping. Great staff waiting to accommodate you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Awesome location near all amenities and Stanley Park. Free parking was appreciated, not easy to find but given excellent directions by friendly desk staff. Beautiful, huge room with full well-equipped kitchen. Comfy bed, very clean and well-kept. Breakfast had to be taken to room to eat, which was very clearly communicated beforehand, and was not a problem -- there is an elevator and a large kitchen and eating area in the room. We were very happy with our stay and felt we got good value here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

very helpful and friendly staff, excellent location close to all amenities and Stanley Park. Taking breakfast from lobby to our room to eat was not a problem for us, rooms have large kitchen and eating area. Free parking (although tight) was appreciated. Room was clean, well-equipped and bed was comfortable. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We absolutely loved our time in this hotel and would absolutely book in here again. I would have to guess that every room is as quiet as ours was, as this place is set on a very quiet street, but still so close to bustling downtown. We easily walked to Robson St and Pacific Center from the hotel, and there are so many great restaurants on Davie St right around the corner, as well as an excellent independent grocer just down the street in case you want to prepare your own meal. As well, we were relieved that they have covered locked parking. We highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeeKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing