We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, great family value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Big rooms, great family value”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Good location, huge rooms (big plus with a family), free gated parking which was nice (if a bit awkward to get into), full kitchen, clean, functional. Good place to stay. Will likely come back on business trips -- especially when it's on my nickel as a business owner -- as well as future family vacations. The one downside is that there is sound leakage from adjoining guest rooms -- not terrible, but it's there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guildenstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    684
    101
    23
    11
See reviews for
744
943
116
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I feel bad that I didn't leave a review sooner, because we really did enjoy our stay!! Chalk it up to my own love of procrastination, not the hotel because it was really very good!

My only complaint about this location was how LOUD the neighbourhood was. Definitely used my earplugs. It was Halloween weekend + a football game but there were constant sirens and screaming and fights outside in the area.

We were originally in a room on the 4th floor, but after the first night we realized that one of the windows in the main area wouldn't close and that was one of the reasons we could hear EVERYTHING. This was mentioned to the front desk and they immediately offered to upgrade us to a similar room on a higher floor. The gesture was definitely appreciated and they even moved our luggage up for us while we were out touring Granville Island.

Front desk staff were great! We were dressed up in ridiculous Roughrider garb for the whole weekend and the jeering and jokes were awesome. Very helpful in recommending places to eat and arranging taxis. They seemed pleased to have the "Roughrider Cheerleaders" staying with them (not really....but I'm sure it was a bit of a draw to have a crew of watermelon slices parading around on game day).

Good location apart from the noise in the area... liquor store about 2 blocks away and lots of little restaurants as well as a grocery store. We didn't really use the kitchen as we were only there for a weekend but it was nice to have it regardless. We were able to keep a few things handy for breakfast (even with the continental downstairs we often have to deal with a food allergy and bring a few things along), keep our beverages cooled in the fridge, and had a microwave for popcorn!

The value seemed great for what you got. Would definitely be great for a longer stay with the kitchenette.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letmecount123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, ca
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2010

It was the first time we tried this hotel during the Xmas week. Great downtown location next to many eateries along Davie and walking distance to Robson and adjacent areas. Free parking and breakfast make the deal even better. The room is spacious and the full kitchen is ideal for families. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back again when we get a chance.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CKleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I have stayed at Sunset Inn twice now & plan to return. Feels like "home" now. Single female traveller. Front desk guy, Dave, is wonderful - remembers me, very helpful & kind. Very fair prices for Vancouver. It is great to have a suite with full kitchen & dining room style table & chairs. The continental breakfast is simple (cereal, toast, bagels, croissants, apples, oranges & juice, coffee, tea) but that helps. The rooms have been upgraded & decorated in "warm" colours which I like. One block away on Davie there are scads of restaurants: Thai, Indian, Greek, Sushi, plus Shoppers Drug Mart and a great fresh vegetable market which is gorgeous. The beach and its pathway is 2 blocks away. Stanley Park is quite close on that pathway if you like to walk. I use Canada Line train / Yaletown stop is 15 minute walk from Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patlnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I travel a lot and am so amazed at my luck to have found such a wonderful place to stay in Vancouver. The location is central to downtown malls and Robson shopping. Davie street is a block away and has everything you need for day to day necessities. A short walk will get you to the boat to Granville Island shopping. The hotel is well stocked with all you could need or want for work or pleasure. It has reasonable rates which includes light breakfast, 24 hour laundry, and parking which is a real plus in downtown Vancouver. The management and staff are warm friendly amazing people who address all of your needs with respect and a non-corporate attitude. For me returning to the Sunset Inn Suites will be like coming home. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a central location and a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KattieWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel. Great location right downtown, secured parking included, niceley decorated suite which was spotless with our own equipped kitchenette, continental breakfast and a newspaper in the morning, and very pleasant, efficient staff to look after us. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We will definitely stay here again, and I brought home some of their flyers to pass out to my friends so that they can stay here too. Thanks!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiray570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn. We were on the top floor in an "executive suite" which was clean and had everything we needed, and more. It was a short walk to lots of restaurants and to the ferry to Granville Island. The price was amazing and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieC_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,814 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,561 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing